$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 14, 2014 Check-out: Nov 15, 2014

W Atlanta - Downtown

4 stars
45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Great weekend getaway

Great stay! Went for a concert at Phillips arena. Walking distance. We enjoyed out Cool corner... See full review

  • Gapeach17
  • Mar 24, 2014
Fantastic stay

I was more than happy here from the layout of the room and the design. I would stay here the next... See full review

  • Special K 2013
  • Dec 31, 2013
An oasis in downtown Atlanta
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel bills itself as an urban oasis in the heart of downtown Atlanta. The hotel is stylishly designed with a mix of light and colors that seems to take just a little of the heat out of Hot-Lanta. With vibrant restaurants serving anything from snacks to American and French cuisine to the outdoor pool with the spectacular view of downtown, this hotel has anything guests need to get stimulated and productive, and easily help them chill out. The convenient downtown location puts the entire city right outside the doorstep.
Highlights
  • BLT Steak restaurant, specializes in enticing steak and other recipes
  • Whatever/Wherever service is ready meet requests (as long as they’re legal)
  • Outdoor heated pool and sundeck with spectacular view of downtown Atlanta
  • SWEAT fitness center with state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment
  • Acura Experience – tour the city with a personal driver in a decked-out SUV
Rooms
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel offers a wider range of rooms than many other W hotels. It offers eight different styles of rooms and suites ready to soothe guests with plush carpeting and Makassar wood. All of the rooms feature the signature W bed, with down comforters and goose-down duvets. Once guests are re-invigorated, the rooms provide all of the high-tech amenities needed to get wired. Each room has a plasma TV, iPod docking station, data port and DVD/CD player. All rooms have wired and Wi-Fi Internet access. The bathrooms include the refreshing rainforest shower. Accessible rooms are available along with knock lights and TDD phones. For those traveling with a pet, order a signature W pet bed. Cribs are available upon request.
Features
Even with the W’s ability to dazzle senses, it’s the service that really makes the difference with this hotel. There’s nothing out there quite like the W’s Whatever/Wherever service. When a guest makes a request, the W Atlanta – Downtown hotel staff is ready to make it happen. Another unique feature is the Acura Experience. Guests tour the city in a decked-out SUV, with a professional driver, all for free. The business-friendly atmosphere also is exceptional. The Wired business center offers PC and Mac workstations, laptops, wired and wireless Internet access, printers, scanners and telecommunications equipment.
Transportation
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Marta Civic Center commuter rail station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Amtrak Atlanta station (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Easy access to I-75/85, area interstates
Attractions
  • Centennial Olympic Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Jimmy Carter Presidential Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Wired business center, featuring Mac and PC workstations, laptops, telecommunications equipment, printers, scanners, fax machines
  • High-speed wired and Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms
  • 8,906 square feet of meeting and event space

Hotel Map

33.7647 -84.3888
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Atlanta - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W Atlanta - Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Turner Field: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.2 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.3 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Emory University: 4.4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.2 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.3 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.2 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.8 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.2 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT by Bon Appétit's 2007 Restaurateur of the Year Laurent Tourondel is cozy French bistro meets stylish American boite, elegant meets electrifying, and haute French classicism meets urban American sensibilities.
WETBAR
Escape to Atlanta’s only all-weather rooftop pool bar. Sip after you dip around the partially-covered zero-edge pool and soak up panoramic city views with a signature cocktail.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in salon socializing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for W Atlanta - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romantic
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 15, 2013

Great hotel

I really enjoyed my stay! Perfect for couples and people looking for a romantic night with a loved one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xanos VI
Business
Athens, GA
Apr 23, 2013

Great honeymoon experience

Nice beds, friendly staff. Slightly pricey for what it was. Only bad experiences included the mandatory valet parking and the fact that only double beds or handicapped king rooms were available, despite booking in advance. Other than that, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proud Father II
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 6, 2013

Graduation Trip

We booked flight, hotel, car together so we received a better rate. Now we are spoiled and only want to stay at 'The W'. Wonderful Hotel all around. My wife and I went together, it's more for adults than kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JLT20
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
May 13, 2013

Very nice experience

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. The beds are the most comfortable beds in the world, and the staff was efficient and very friendly. Beautiful bar area, and a lovely lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fluter
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2009

It's Different, All Right!

I'm a former road warrior, in town for a business trip, this was my first stay at any W hotel (the W stands for Westin). The overall feel and ambiance is like walking into a New York City nightclub. The rooms are sleek and super contemporary--took a bit of getting used to, but once I got used to it, I just loved it. The soundproofing is excellent and I practiced my flute until midnight. The lobby has a large dramatic living room with free Wifi, cozy comfy seating, and excellent food and drink service. Upstairs is a bar with hand-crafted cocktails using fresh pressed juices and hand-chipped ice, and sometimes live music. The breakfast frittata at BLT was a rave, unexpectedly garnished with big fresh clipped herbs. Free WiFi can be had at all the food and drink places, but Internet in your room is unusually expensive, so bring your netbook. My only problem is that my shower handle fell off when I tried to take a shower, and being in a rush, I ended up with a kind of half-cold-shower-half-hot-bath bathing experience that morning. I was immediately moved to another room and I wasn't billed for my minibar food and drink, which I think was completely fair compensation for the inconvenience. The outdoor pool is beautiful but not available in the winter, the gym is better than any hotel gym I have ever seen in terms of equipment and views. I will definitely book a W hotel if possible on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet parking is unusually expensive, if on a budget figure out another alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel-aholics!!
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 22, 2009

ATL weekend fun

WOW is one word that can be used to describe my stay. Upon arrival there was a mix up with our room, and [...]made sure it was resolved. The hotel is downtown so we walked from our hotel to several places including World of Coke and the Georgia Aquarium. Great Deli across the street. The room looked like a model room that no one had stayed in before. It was awesome! The service is nothing like I have experienced in a long while. My friend and I travel to a different location once a month and the hotel was the best we have experienced in about 1 1/2 years. The W never disappoints us service wise. They also have a club there if you enjoy night life. They had a very fun & exciting pool party at the pool during our stay. THANKS [...]for going the extra mile to ensure our experience was excellent!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

They have a bar in the lobby that brings in several outsiders, and they had a pool party on Saturday. It was very crowded, but very, very fun! Deli across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Nov 1, 2009

Great Escape

The service was great. Everyone was friendly and always available to help. My car was broken into and they made sure that the police were called and that I was given the help needed to get on with my day. The staff was excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 7, 2009

Amazing Accomodations

Amazing staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, Ga
Jul 7, 2009

W in Downtown Atlanta

Amazing. It was our honeymoon night, and the room was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

None

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muscle Shoals,AL
Sep 7, 2009

Great stay

We were in town for the Chick-Fil-A kickoff game and the hotel was packed. With as many people as were there, you would think service would suffer,but it was quite the opposite.Valet was very quick, check in was a snap.The room we had was spotless, with a awesome view.I would stay definately recommend staying at the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgia Dome, Aquarium,and many other attractions less than a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top