$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

W Atlanta - Downtown

4 stars
45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
61 reviews
Great weekend getaway

Great stay! Went for a concert at Phillips arena. Walking distance. We enjoyed out Cool corner... See full review

  • Gapeach17
  • Mar 24, 2014
Fantastic stay

I was more than happy here from the layout of the room and the design. I would stay here the next... See full review

  • Special K 2013
  • Dec 31, 2013
An oasis in downtown Atlanta
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel bills itself as an urban oasis in the heart of downtown Atlanta. The hotel is stylishly designed with a mix of light and colors that seems to take just a little of the heat out of Hot-Lanta. With vibrant restaurants serving anything from snacks to American and French cuisine to the outdoor pool with the spectacular view of downtown, this hotel has anything guests need to get stimulated and productive, and easily help them chill out. The convenient downtown location puts the entire city right outside the doorstep.
Highlights
  • BLT Steak restaurant, specializes in enticing steak and other recipes
  • Whatever/Wherever service is ready meet requests (as long as they’re legal)
  • Outdoor heated pool and sundeck with spectacular view of downtown Atlanta
  • SWEAT fitness center with state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment
  • Acura Experience – tour the city with a personal driver in a decked-out SUV
Rooms
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel offers a wider range of rooms than many other W hotels. It offers eight different styles of rooms and suites ready to soothe guests with plush carpeting and Makassar wood. All of the rooms feature the signature W bed, with down comforters and goose-down duvets. Once guests are re-invigorated, the rooms provide all of the high-tech amenities needed to get wired. Each room has a plasma TV, iPod docking station, data port and DVD/CD player. All rooms have wired and Wi-Fi Internet access. The bathrooms include the refreshing rainforest shower. Accessible rooms are available along with knock lights and TDD phones. For those traveling with a pet, order a signature W pet bed. Cribs are available upon request.
Features
Even with the W’s ability to dazzle senses, it’s the service that really makes the difference with this hotel. There’s nothing out there quite like the W’s Whatever/Wherever service. When a guest makes a request, the W Atlanta – Downtown hotel staff is ready to make it happen. Another unique feature is the Acura Experience. Guests tour the city in a decked-out SUV, with a professional driver, all for free. The business-friendly atmosphere also is exceptional. The Wired business center offers PC and Mac workstations, laptops, wired and wireless Internet access, printers, scanners and telecommunications equipment.
Transportation
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Marta Civic Center commuter rail station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Amtrak Atlanta station (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Easy access to I-75/85, area interstates
Attractions
  • Centennial Olympic Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Jimmy Carter Presidential Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Wired business center, featuring Mac and PC workstations, laptops, telecommunications equipment, printers, scanners, fax machines
  • High-speed wired and Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms
  • 8,906 square feet of meeting and event space

Hotel Map

33.7647 -84.3888
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 11.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Atlanta - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W Atlanta - Downtown Rooms

Wonderful Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Turner Field: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.2 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.3 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Emory University: 4.4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.2 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.3 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.2 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.8 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for W Atlanta - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fullerton, ca
Nov 7, 2010

It's dark in here

The hotel was very clean, but the lighting was not very good at all. Could not read in the room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fullerton, ca
Nov 7, 2010

It's dark in here

The hotel was very clean, but the lighting was not very good at all. Could not read in the room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
etermonpar
Business
Pensacola, FL
Aug 2, 2010

Dark Hotel

Hotel has a great contemporary air about it, but the rooms were small and dark. Awful bathroom space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
etermonpar
Business
Pensacola, FL
Aug 2, 2010

Dark Hotel

Hotel has a great contemporary air about it, but the rooms were small and dark. Awful bathroom space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
May 16, 2010

Review of W Hotel Downtown Atlanta, GA

Arrived at the hotel on Saturday morning at around 1:00AM local time. Initially passed the hotel, thinking it was a night club. Several dozen college age kids in front of the main entry, dressed in party clothing. They were loud and many were under the influence of alcohol. The check in lobby, relatively small, was filled with the same crowd (I had to fight my way through). The front desk person who helped me check in was friendly. I was asked by one of the girls (quite flirtatious from being drunk, if any) in the elevator, if she could check out my room in the 15th floor. The room was clean and well kept. Poor sound proofing, perhaps. Could not sleep much because of the sporatic loud noise coming from the hallway (from the same party crowd). Saturday night was not as bad; but there was another party at night, and there were a lot of noise through out the night. I informed the front desk person of my experience on Saturday. He was apologetic and offered to move me to a dffierent floor. I did not want to bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
May 16, 2010

Review of W Hotel Downtown Atlanta, GA

Arrived at the hotel on Saturday morning at around 1:00AM local time. Initially passed the hotel, thinking it was a night club. Several dozen college age kids in front of the main entry, dressed in party clothing. They were loud and many were under the influence of alcohol. The check in lobby, relatively small, was filled with the same crowd (I had to fight my way through). The front desk person who helped me check in was friendly. I was asked by one of the girls (quite flirtatious from being drunk, if any) in the elevator, if she could check out my room in the 15th floor. The room was clean and well kept. Poor sound proofing, perhaps. Could not sleep much because of the sporatic loud noise coming from the hallway (from the same party crowd). Saturday night was not as bad; but there was another party at night, and there were a lot of noise through out the night. I informed the front desk person of my experience on Saturday. He was apologetic and offered to move me to a dffierent floor. I did not want to bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amie
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 19, 2010

W hotel

As I checked in late, I got an upgraded suite. It was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 24, 2010

Good Location

The hotel rooms are fairly dark. The desk chair was too low. Additionally, there are inadequatte reading lights next to the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent Rest. in hotel.

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 24, 2010

Good Location

The hotel rooms are fairly dark. The desk chair was too low. Additionally, there are inadequatte reading lights next to the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent Rest. in hotel.

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Feb 17, 2010

Great touristy location for couples

This is the fourth w we've stayed at and I have to say my least favorite only because they seemed to be understaffed. I realize the economy makes it difficult to expect housekeeping and concierge to be there most of the day but, we did splurge for the hotel because of the little extras we enjoy. Otherwise, the staff that were there were great, and the location was good for several of the tourist sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the hotel!

Back to menu Return to top