$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
View map of 644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
150 reviews
solo trip

I stayed for a couple of nights at this hotel. I love the location and style! I would recommend... See full review

  • Julie S.
  • May 6, 2015
Great for the money

Great location. Lots of things to do in walking distance. Quiet area of town. Absolutely perfect. See full review

  • Kathryn M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Highlights
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
Nearby attractions
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

1 Full Bed
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints, local art, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, individual heating and air unit, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Dining

Cafe 640
Cafe 640 is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Cafe 640 provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 150
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CamJus
Business
Herndon, VA
Oct 2, 2014

Worst night sleep

When we arrived we were greater nicely and able to check in early. Once to the room the room smelled weird and the floors were leaning at all different angles but it was an old Hotel so no big deal. Once we went to shower it didn't look very clean and you couldn't control water temp it was either burning hot or freezing cold and there was no pressure the water barely fell out of the nozzle. After the terrible shower experience we payed down and could hear everything going on around us so after an hour or two left and got dinner and attempted to come back and sleep before we left. The bed was very uncomfortable and we continued to smell weird smells. The ac was making a lot of noise while it was trying to start up it would try to start like 6 times and then run for a very short time before it quit again. We ended up leaving the hotel around 3:30am due to lack of being able to sleep. We dropped off our key (which is a regular key for a deadbolt) and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amber R.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Don't Take your Pets!

I was in a position where I had to bring my dog on my last trip. The Highland Inn id pet friendly so, I had no worries about bring my dog. We had stayed at the Highland Inn many times before and felt that our fur kid would be ok. However, when we returned to our room after New Year's Eve celebrations, we found our door unlocked. Thankfully, out little guy was fine. I went to the desk to see what happened. The desk clerk informed me that people had complained about barking, and that he decided to take my dog out for a walk. I was never called, and we even had a "do Not Disturb" sign up. He literally told me that he did not do it to be nice, that it was to get my dog to be quiet. Additionally outrageous was that he told me I was lucky he hadn't taken my dog home (I told him that luck was reversed). A guest standing by was concerned about our room being unlocked, at which point the clerk stated he had left it open. I let him ramble about how unruly my dog had been, excused myself to let my dog out, and when I came back in, I asked him why he had lefty our door unlocked. He looked like he had been caught in something, he stated that he guessed he just forgot. I called the hotel and spoke with he manager, he apologized and offered me a free night however, he never asked for any of my contact information. I will not be staying at the Highland Inn again. I find this severely disappointing because I had always enjoyed the place in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT TAKE YOUR PETS!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling thirtysomething
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2012

Aging historic hotel in great neighborhood

This place is frayed around the edges. Most guests seem to be either foreign tourists traveling on a dime, or local counterculture types. Basic amenities -- AC worked well and was less smelly than the Quality Inns of the world -- right next door to great restaurants and a fun neighborhood. Our room price seemed a little high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birmingham folks
Business
Birmingham, al
Jan 13, 2013

You get what you pay for- but it's a decent value.

We've stayed there twice and the staff is really nice. Is the hotel old? Yes. But also clean & affordable and in a non-sketchy area of Atlanta. It's feels a little bit like staying in an old dorm- which is good and bad. We will probably stay there again though because you can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sales Dude
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 6, 2013

You get what you pay for

Kind of a dump, but the price was right. Should have known. Good for a college student, but not for any business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ryc and Penny
Business
Oregon
Jul 29, 2013

Questionable maintenance.

Small rooms, free wifi, satisfactory continental breakfast, decent air conditioning, nearby grocery and resturaunts, pleasant walking area, friendly residents, aging over painted walls and doors, clean carpets, friendly staff - a mixed bag of qualities unfortunately compromised by the very loud wedding party in the central courtyard until late in the evening keeping us awake when we needed sleep for our pre-dawn flight. Smokers sit near the entrance fouling the air and the room smelt of cigarettes. To compare to European hotels does a disservice to Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Majestic diner gave decent food at a reasonable price.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucy the northeasterner
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2014

You get what you pay for! :)

This Inn is in a FABULOUS location. It's super convenient to get to everything in Virginia Highlands and Midtown etc. However, it is very rustic (to put it lightly). They staff (both cleaning and service) do what they can with the property. But it's an old place, and has been used a lot. Also, I saw a cockroach (which made me flip out) but a friend said "it's the south, it's common, don't worry". It's pretty cheap for an amazing location...so I guess if you're just going there to sleep, it gets the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trumpetboy
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 19, 2014

plumbing needs updating

Had to get to a conference downtown early one morning, and had no hot water in the shower. Person at front desk said I needed to run it for at least 10 minutes, since it was an old hotel. Continental breakfast extremely minimal (fruit, bread, coffee). Cool neighborhood with restaurants within walking distance. Try Sweet Auburn BarBQue restaurant. Convenient to busline. Not so much to rail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sweet Auburn BBQst

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz1
Business
Clarksville, TN
Jan 24, 2012

Nice for price

Quaint and comfy inn with small breakfast: bagels, whole wheat muffins, blueberry muffins, banana muffins, cream cheese, several different cereals and fresh fruit, accompanied by coffee, 2 % milk and orange juice. Nice, older and safe neighbourhood for walking, with shops, restaurants, movie theater, etc.; only about 2.6 miles from downtown Atlanta. City bus runs in front of the inn. Inn was build in the 1920 th and has exposed pipes running below ceiling (we heard no knocking in pipes), small but adequate shower with commode, vintage discolored sink in room. Hot water available within seconds. Inn has no elevator to second floor. Free parking. Very friendly staff. Entire inn is nonsmoking. Beds were satisfactory. Window air conditioners worked well. Heater in room did not warm up too well, but room came with electric radiator heaters which worked great and heated rooms well.The room had a small refrigerator and a small wall mounted TV. Due to buildings age and settling,our room doors had a one inch gap on bottom. Light shines through from hall outside. There are outside stairs to inn entry door. We did not see a handicap ramp. The inn smelled and looked clean, was quiet day and night and a really good bargain for the total of $ 49 per night for two people. We stayed two nights and had no complaints. Several times we stayed at higher priced and much newer hotels and experienced dirty rooms, unfriendly staff, broken air conditioner and even bugs. We enjoyed our stay at the Highland Inn and plan to go back in a few month. We highly recommend this inn to anyone who does not want to pay a kings ransom, but still have a decent room. And for pet owners, you can bring them with you to this inn. For those on a budget: parking downtown Atlanta can add up. Park houses charge up to $ 10 for up to two hours and $ 25 for all day.. Parking lots offer short term parking up to two hours for $ 5. Also early bird parking in by 9AM out by 6PM for $ 5. All day parking ranges from $ 3 to $ 8, depending on how close you want to park to the down town area. Curb side parking meters cost about $ 2 per hour until 10 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Atkins Park Tavern, 794 N. Highland Ave. short walk TRUVA Mediterranean Restaurant, short 7 min.drive 60 International Blvd./downtown, 2.6 mi. Atlanta Historic Center,130 West Paces Ferry Rd. about 15 min. drive. Driving times are all from inn.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattandjesse
Business
Lancaster, PA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

cute place

they have an adorable cat and it is a little nicer than a standard hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top