$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
View map of 644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, GA
Oct 22, 2010

missing the details

Use this hotel only for the location. They look good on the website, but seem to be missing some important details. No staff in the office when it was time to check in, they did show up later. They re-did the bathroom, but did not replace the toliet seat, or remove the dark and curlys out of the shower, water took 20 minutes to get hot in the shower. I got a new room in the "quiet part" of the hotel after complaining that I could hear the music from the bar below my room, only to hear every footstep and bed creak from the room above me. Linens were clean, but the bed was lumpy and there were no extra blankets in the room. Coffee in the morning, but no creamer. Don't be fooled by the good looking website, this is a place to crash, not a place to enjoy your hotel time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 12, 2010

Not for everyone

It's a fine hotel for someone who wants low price and convenience to a hip area. It feels safe and special due to its age. However it is quite old and probably hasn't been remodeled since the 50's. It is reasonably clean, but the plumbing is old and (in our rooms) in poor condition, and the bath tiles were roughly repaired. There's a 5-inch step up into the bathroom. There are a great many coats of paint on the walls and trim. There was a noisy rock band in the next building and that sound carried fully into the room. (Depends on which side your room is on.) We had two rooms, the tv didn't work in one of them. No elevator! That's not a problem for most but is if you have trouble with stairs. Air conditioning comes from window units. The tv and cable box are mounted to a high point (that's fine) but the cables leads to an extension cord that remains suspended, leaving an ugly tangle in air. They could not provide a cot for an extra person in the room. Staff was friendly and somewhat apologetic about our room. My 80-year-old mom was with us and they realized that it was not the kind of room for her. They said they'd like to give us a better room but they were fully booked at the time. Bottom line: good for those who like a certain funkiness and don't mind a lack of conveniences and a certain amount of disrepair. Probably not what your parents want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashanti009911
Business
Raleigh,north carolina
Aug 7, 2014

Glad to get home

Well,rooms were kind of small,part of the ceiling in the bathroom fell down in the tub, the closet handle fell off, a live band played under the floor under you. Maybe that's why it has a ballroom in its name. It didn't work for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get hotel closer to downtown atlanta and the bus system ends at midnight

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meeps11223122
Business
Virginia
Jan 30, 2014

good location

good location, simple room but charming style. Breakfast could use some beefing up, though. People seemed nice enough. Biggest issue, there wasn't enough plugs in the room. I know that it was built before everyone had electronics but it sucked to have to unplug the lamp in order to charge my phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FJAA
Business
Atlanta
Mar 7, 2014

Small Hideaway

This was a quick stay. Hotel kinda reminded me of a hostel. It was clean but certainly not a Ramada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny Z.
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 8, 2014

Clean Room

It was a charming little hotel. The building is very old and needs much upgrading. The hot water and cold water knobs were reversed and the front desk staff said the hot water can take up to 15 minutes to reach your room. But in terms of clean...it was immaculate. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trumpetboy
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 19, 2014

plumbing needs updating

Had to get to a conference downtown early one morning, and had no hot water in the shower. Person at front desk said I needed to run it for at least 10 minutes, since it was an old hotel. Continental breakfast extremely minimal (fruit, bread, coffee). Cool neighborhood with restaurants within walking distance. Try Sweet Auburn BarBQue restaurant. Convenient to busline. Not so much to rail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sweet Auburn BBQst

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy guest 67
Business
fort payne alabama
Mar 31, 2014

close to it all

The room was small with a small bed but big enough for me and my 7 year old. The place is old but they have done a good job making it a comfortable, charming retreat. It was definantly in the trendy area, and so close to down town and the zoo. I would recomend it, especially if you are a people wathcher like me and my little girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Nov 11, 2010

Old World Charm

This hotel reminded me of some I've stayed at in Europe. The hotel is old and a little rough around the edges if you are used to staying at modern business hotels in Atlanta but with that said, it is quite charming and clean. The neighborhood is fun --restaurants and a few shops that are worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurant options (tapas, vegetarian, etc.) just doors away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lvna0831
Business
Clemson
Nov 29, 2011

Just so so

It's not easy to find if you travel by subway and they do not provide you toothbrush .So it is not convinent for me.But the staff is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top