$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
123 reviews
Awesome hotel - not your typical experience

Fabulous place with a lot of character near downtown, where I needed to be. Great experience!I... See full review

  • Gtown Traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Highlands inn atl

Good hotel for right price in a good location. Located in close to little 5 Points. See full review

  • Will74
  • Jun 15, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birmingham folks
Birmingham, al
Jan 13, 2013

You get what you pay for- but it's a decent value.

We've stayed there twice and the staff is really nice. Is the hotel old? Yes. But also clean & affordable and in a non-sketchy area of Atlanta. It's feels a little bit like staying in an old dorm- which is good and bad. We will probably stay there again though because you can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reesay
Business
Seattle
Aug 29, 2013

Highland Inn Atlanta Georgia-Highland ave North

Bathroom-Toilet was leaning and floor was sinking on shower side. Hotel Room-room it's self had a bad trapped in smell. Hotel ballroom- Had a party on one of the nights I was there. I checked with the front desk and was told the party was going on until midnight. The party was loud and inconsiderate of those who paid to stay at the hotel. Staff and guess often smoke right at the front door (entrance to hotel) and the smoke smell rolls right into the main lobby. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Emory University is a beautiful campus in Atlanta Georgia.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, oregon
Jul 21, 2011

Nice people

I was traveling on business during a busy time of year and many of the hotels near where I was working were full. I found the Highland Inn and booked it for 8 nights. They did not have my reservation when I arrived, but were very kind and took care of me. My room was rather large and the bed comfortable - I was in the front of the building and the light that came in the windows was blinding, luckily I always travel with an eye mask. Conveniently enough it was the Hot water that work and not the Cold water in my sink, shower had both. I would describe this hotel as a cross between a European hotel and a hostel. I would recommend to a single or couple looking for an inexpensive place to stay for no more than 2 nights. On a good note, the pub next door is great! The staff was kind and helpful when they could be -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

420 Cafe next door is great!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Atlanta Wedding Guest
St. Louis, MO
Jun 14, 2012

Close to Atlanta Life, but leaves a lot to be Desired

Cool Hotel, close to resterants, stores, and a short distance from night entertainment. But the 'hotel' is not the best. No state of the art anything!!!!! Uses a real key, No hot water in the bathroom sink, and etc. Just very laid back space. I was expecting more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJAC
Business
Columbia, md
Apr 27, 2013

quick business trip

It was a good enough ton considering i was only there to sleep but the walls are paper thin and the noise from the street was a bit of an issue throughout my stay. They didn't include much soap but there is a grocery store within walking distance. Parking is cramped but i guess that's to be expected in the city. wifi worked only half the time. Hot water didn't work in the sink. The staff was very friendly though and the location is close to restaurants so you can walk. I probably would not stay in this hotel again. In the future I'll probably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mariah satter
New york
Jan 14, 2013

It's ok

I booked this hotel because it was one of the cheaper ones and it was close to downtown. The hotel is in a very pleasant neighborhood. But it's so old. It feels like I'm the 1920's. I wouldn't stay here again because its so old fashioned. But staff was really nice but the rooms are extremely small !!!! If your looking for a cheap place to stay this is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling thirtysomething
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2012

Aging historic hotel in great neighborhood

This place is frayed around the edges. Most guests seem to be either foreign tourists traveling on a dime, or local counterculture types. Basic amenities -- AC worked well and was less smelly than the Quality Inns of the world -- right next door to great restaurants and a fun neighborhood. Our room price seemed a little high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Respiratory
Bay Area, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Good Location

The room was cold. Space heater didn't heat room very well and there was a draft from the seal around the air-conditioner that maintained a cold room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucy the northeasterner
New York, NY
May 26, 2014

You get what you pay for! :)

This Inn is in a FABULOUS location. It's super convenient to get to everything in Virginia Highlands and Midtown etc. However, it is very rustic (to put it lightly). They staff (both cleaning and service) do what they can with the property. But it's an old place, and has been used a lot. Also, I saw a cockroach (which made me flip out) but a friend said "it's the south, it's common, don't worry". It's pretty cheap for an amazing location...so I guess if you're just going there to sleep, it gets the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, GA
Oct 22, 2010

missing the details

Use this hotel only for the location. They look good on the website, but seem to be missing some important details. No staff in the office when it was time to check in, they did show up later. They re-did the bathroom, but did not replace the toliet seat, or remove the dark and curlys out of the shower, water took 20 minutes to get hot in the shower. I got a new room in the "quiet part" of the hotel after complaining that I could hear the music from the bar below my room, only to hear every footstep and bed creak from the room above me. Linens were clean, but the bed was lumpy and there were no extra blankets in the room. Coffee in the morning, but no creamer. Don't be fooled by the good looking website, this is a place to crash, not a place to enjoy your hotel time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top