$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
122 reviews
Awesome hotel - not your typical experience

Fabulous place with a lot of character near downtown, where I needed to be. Great experience!I... See full review

  • Gtown Traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Highlands inn atl

Good hotel for right price in a good location. Located in close to little 5 Points. See full review

  • Will74
  • Jun 15, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denzel
New Orleans, LA
Mar 23, 2013

Very nice historical hotel!

I visited Atlanta for 2 days. I was really impressed! Yes, it is an old hotel, but you are still getting a great stay for what you are paying! You have easy access to the nightlife downtown, malls, etc. In the words of Bob Barker, I would stay here again, "If the price is right!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DJG
Nashville, TN
Mar 2, 2014

Not a three star hotel

Old and weird. The heating unit in room was very loud. Bathroom had no heat and was freezing. Hot water took forever to heat up. I had to take a lukewarm shower. No hot water until I was ready to step out of the shower. Also, the water from the sink faucet came out brown. Had to let it run a few minutes before it was clear. It was a cheap room close to a show I was going to, and it was adequate for one night. It was okay but I think calling this a 3 star hotel is a stretch. Desk staff attendants were nice. Limited free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jan 27, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The hotel is touted as boutique-style. This is an old building, and I'm not sure why it's not condemned. It doesn't seem like the carpet has ever been replaced, the A/C is a window unit, similar to one you would have in a trailer. (you cannot open the window). it is never a good sign when you have a roach trap on the floor boards. The restroom setup is horrible. The wall is right in front of you when you sit therefore you have to turn to the side to avoid hitting your head against the wall when you are ready to get up. All in all, if you are used to camping or such, it's not bad for one night. It's true that you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2011

Found bloody women's panties under bed

You get what you pay for. My room was right over a bar that blasted music until 2 am, single pane windows. Shower curtain didn't go down to the step of the shower, so water got all over the bathroom every time I showered. The office staff were nice enough, BUT... on the day I was leaving, I went to check the mattress for signs of bedbugs, and when I lifted the corner of the mattress, there was a bloody pair of women's panties tucked under the corner of the bed. I don't know how any one changing the sheets could not have found them! The worst part was, when I told the manager, he A) did not seem surprised or shocked or anything, and B) offered me a free night THE NEXT TIME I STAYED THERE. As if I would stay there again. I just never know what to think of people any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Babette's just down the road had nice atmosphere, nice staff, good food and wine.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rvb19111
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 7, 2010

The WORST experience ever

I had a late check in after traveling throughout the day and it seemed as if nothing went right from the second I had walked in. Walking down the hall and up to my room, the hall smelled like menthol. Going into my room, it was immediate that it was extremely small with a modest bed and worn out furniture. The wireless internet they advertised is available but only in the lobby and the TV did not work. Going into the bathroom, the tub was old and dirty and the water pressure was absolutely non existent. To add to the insult of a visit, there was no ironing board, iron and alarm clock in the room. This was just a nightmare from the moment I checked in. I actually checked out at 8:00 in the morning even though my meetings were not until the afternoon. I strongly suggest avoiding this place, there are too many issues to chalk up to circumstance or coincidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
layed back female
jacksonville, fl
Dec 10, 2012

old very outdated

You can walk down the halls and see in all the rooms. Anyone could break the door down. I felt extremely nervious and left early. I would NEVER stay there again. Note at the front that it's common for cars to be broken into. I heard multiple engaging in ---. The bed spreads, pictures, and micrwave was old and looked like something from "Good Will".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Benn
Charlotte NC
Oct 10, 2010

"Historic"...REALLY????

If you're looking for the ambiance of a historic Inn, this is not it. I have NO idea what makes this historic except all the Alphonse Mucha 1970's framed posters.The desk staff tried to charge a $10.00 "surcharge" for a second person in the room, even though the [...] receipt clearly showed the reservation being made for two people. When asked for a second key he responded "IF we have one." Two of three exchanges with the front desk were rude and confrontational. HAVE YOUR [...]CONFIRMATION PRINTED AND AVAILABLE.The bathroom doorknob fell off in my hand. The bathroom on a cruise ship is bigger, but this WAS the lowest priced room. Maybe the others are larger.The room door lock is BASIC at best.Dead bugs in the overhead light fixture cast a "special" light on the room.The location was convenient and the adjoining restaurant was very good (even if they shared parking and we had to circle the lot till someone left for a parking spot.)The price was the lowest in-town location and the room was clean. Spartan, but clean.These reservation were made at the last minute and on a budget. Next time I either plan ahead or stay home. If I HAD to go and this was the best I could afford...I'd go, knowing it has issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rvb19111
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 7, 2010

The WORST experience ever

I had a late check in after traveling throughout the day and it seemed as if nothing went right from the second I had walked in. Walking down the hall and up to my room, the hall smelled like menthol. Going into my room, it was immediate that it was extremely small with a modest bed and worn out furniture. The wireless internet they advertised is available but only in the lobby and the TV did not work. Going into the bathroom, the tub was old and dirty and the water pressure was absolutely non existent. To add to the insult of a visit, there was no ironing board, iron and alarm clock in the room. This was just a nightmare from the moment I checked in. I actually checked out at 8:00 in the morning even though my meetings were not until the afternoon. I strongly suggest avoiding this place, there are too many issues to chalk up to circumstance or coincidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Benn
Charlotte NC
Oct 10, 2010

"Historic"...REALLY????

If you're looking for the ambiance of a historic Inn, this is not it. I have NO idea what makes this historic except all the Alphonse Mucha 1970's framed posters.The desk staff tried to charge a $10.00 "surcharge" for a second person in the room, even though the [...] receipt clearly showed the reservation being made for two people. When asked for a second key he responded "IF we have one." Two of three exchanges with the front desk were rude and confrontational. HAVE YOUR [...]CONFIRMATION PRINTED AND AVAILABLE.The bathroom doorknob fell off in my hand. The bathroom on a cruise ship is bigger, but this WAS the lowest priced room. Maybe the others are larger.The room door lock is BASIC at best.Dead bugs in the overhead light fixture cast a "special" light on the room.The location was convenient and the adjoining restaurant was very good (even if they shared parking and we had to circle the lot till someone left for a parking spot.)The price was the lowest in-town location and the room was clean. Spartan, but clean.These reservation were made at the last minute and on a budget. Next time I either plan ahead or stay home. If I HAD to go and this was the best I could afford...I'd go, knowing it has issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neighbour Totoro
atlanta, ga
Jun 6, 2013

waste of money

felt like the inn located in the slum room looked old-fashioned... do not go there next day I booked ramada norcross hotel, which cost me just the same but much higher quality that contented me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2011

Found bloody women's panties under bed

You get what you pay for. My room was right over a bar that blasted music until 2 am, single pane windows. Shower curtain didn't go down to the step of the shower, so water got all over the bathroom every time I showered. The office staff were nice enough, BUT... on the day I was leaving, I went to check the mattress for signs of bedbugs, and when I lifted the corner of the mattress, there was a bloody pair of women's panties tucked under the corner of the bed. I don't know how any one changing the sheets could not have found them! The worst part was, when I told the manager, he A) did not seem surprised or shocked or anything, and B) offered me a free night THE NEXT TIME I STAYED THERE. As if I would stay there again. I just never know what to think of people any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Babette's just down the road had nice atmosphere, nice staff, good food and wine.

Back to menu Return to top