$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Awesome

It's in a great location with resturants and great bars close to the hotel. I will stay there again... See full review

  • Kate and Scott
  • Aug 20, 2014
Awesome hotel - not your typical experience

Fabulous place with a lot of character near downtown, where I needed to be. Great experience!I... See full review

  • Gtown Traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geodescent
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Jun 17, 2013

Best value and location

I've been here quite a few times now and it remains my favorite hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location for the price. Rooms are always great and very clean, though the hotel is not for you if you're big on amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndrewJ
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 15, 2013

An older hotel that is small but worth the price

First thing that I will say is that this is an older hotel and the rooms and beds are small. But that is information that is readily available online and those that have given the hotel bad reviews in the past seemingly didn't do their own research before booking. For the price it is an excellent value. The restaurant next door cafe 640 has great food and service. The staff at the Highland Inn was extremely friendly and helpful. I recently traveled to Atlanta for a job interview and was able to check in 30 minutes before the designated check-in time which was convenient. Also the young woman who worked the front desk was pleasant, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area and offered several places to eat at that were a short distance from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neighbour Totoro
atlanta, ga
Jun 6, 2013

waste of money

felt like the inn located in the slum room looked old-fashioned... do not go there next day I booked ramada norcross hotel, which cost me just the same but much higher quality that contented me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cocaine Heart
Columbia, South Carolina
Jun 3, 2013

Cute

I think this hotel is a great deal split between two people or more. It's a really old hotel, very quaint, with a super friendly staff. Nothing more than what you need, good breakfast muffins and coffee. Free parking is great, but if you have a large SUV it is going to be a really tight fit in the parking lot. I love the walking distance to Little Five Points and all the great shops and venues. Variety Playhouse about a 8 minute walk, not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on main/well traveled roads

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not a Cheesehead
Milwaukee,WI
May 15, 2013

Good Value in a Budget Hotel

A good location, very good price and a neighborhood with restaurants within walking. The only problem we had was a too soft mattress and when I mentioned it to the manager, he offered to move us, but we were leaving. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manuel's Tavern, excellent steak!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fusco
Fortaleza, Ceara. Brazil
May 14, 2013

Fair price, excellent location, Helpful Staff

If you are not fancy, this is a good place to stay. Well located, besides a very good bar/restaurant and at a walkable sitance of a more busy area. The staff is very helpful. The only negative aspect goes to the Toilet of the room. Too small and no windowns. But nothing that I could not live with. As I say, excellent place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wine bar/restaurant beside/attached to the hotel. The food is excellent and prepared with care and distinction. Every little thing had its own "magical" touch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJAC
Business
Columbia, md
Apr 27, 2013

quick business trip

It was a good enough ton considering i was only there to sleep but the walls are paper thin and the noise from the street was a bit of an issue throughout my stay. They didn't include much soap but there is a grocery store within walking distance. Parking is cramped but i guess that's to be expected in the city. wifi worked only half the time. Hot water didn't work in the sink. The staff was very friendly though and the location is close to restaurants so you can walk. I probably would not stay in this hotel again. In the future I'll probably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becca921980
Winona, Minnesota
Mar 25, 2013

Quaint and quiet

The hotel is a very quaint, historic building located in a quiet neighborhood convenient to many places within Atlanta. The rooms are set up much like those of a bed and breakfast and are very quiet and clean, the perfect size for a couple traveling light; however, if you had a lot of luggage or wanted a big room, this is not the place for you. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is that the drain of our sink was clogged, and there was a ring of nastiness around the sink that had obviously been there since before we checked in. It was definitely worth what we paid, though, and we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denzel
New Orleans, LA
Mar 23, 2013

Very nice historical hotel!

I visited Atlanta for 2 days. I was really impressed! Yes, it is an old hotel, but you are still getting a great stay for what you are paying! You have easy access to the nightlife downtown, malls, etc. In the words of Bob Barker, I would stay here again, "If the price is right!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lozzachops
Savannah, GA
Mar 4, 2013

Clanking pipes

The hotel is in a great location, the continental breakfast was good. Checkout time of midday was great. On the very cold weekend we stayed our basement queen 'suite' (upgraded on arrival) was toasty warm, however the heating pipe clanked for about 10 minutes every 2 hours though the night. The reception offered for us change rooms, but as the hotel was busy they only had the single room available, so we remained in the queen. However, I feel like I got a good nights sleep anyhow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely antiques shop about 3 doors down. The basement is huge, and not predictable from the size of the main shop floor!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search