$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
adorable

It was exactly what I was looking for. Authenticity and a great location. It made me feel like I... See full review

  • authentic
  • Nov 28, 2014
Great location!

It doesn't get any better than this for the price. Hotel is located a few blocks from the Little... See full review

  • Progheadd
  • Nov 19, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 129
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neighbour Totoro
Business
atlanta, ga
Jun 6, 2013

waste of money

felt like the inn located in the slum room looked old-fashioned... do not go there next day I booked ramada norcross hotel, which cost me just the same but much higher quality that contented me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DJG
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 2, 2014

Not a three star hotel

Old and weird. The heating unit in room was very loud. Bathroom had no heat and was freezing. Hot water took forever to heat up. I had to take a lukewarm shower. No hot water until I was ready to step out of the shower. Also, the water from the sink faucet came out brown. Had to let it run a few minutes before it was clear. It was a cheap room close to a show I was going to, and it was adequate for one night. It was okay but I think calling this a 3 star hotel is a stretch. Desk staff attendants were nice. Limited free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2011

Found bloody women's panties under bed

You get what you pay for. My room was right over a bar that blasted music until 2 am, single pane windows. Shower curtain didn't go down to the step of the shower, so water got all over the bathroom every time I showered. The office staff were nice enough, BUT... on the day I was leaving, I went to check the mattress for signs of bedbugs, and when I lifted the corner of the mattress, there was a bloody pair of women's panties tucked under the corner of the bed. I don't know how any one changing the sheets could not have found them! The worst part was, when I told the manager, he A) did not seem surprised or shocked or anything, and B) offered me a free night THE NEXT TIME I STAYED THERE. As if I would stay there again. I just never know what to think of people any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Babette's just down the road had nice atmosphere, nice staff, good food and wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Atlanta Wedding Guest
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 14, 2012

Close to Atlanta Life, but leaves a lot to be Desired

Cool Hotel, close to resterants, stores, and a short distance from night entertainment. But the 'hotel' is not the best. No state of the art anything!!!!! Uses a real key, No hot water in the bathroom sink, and etc. Just very laid back space. I was expecting more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Respiratory
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Good Location

The room was cold. Space heater didn't heat room very well and there was a draft from the seal around the air-conditioner that maintained a cold room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashanti009911
Business
Raleigh,north carolina
Aug 7, 2014

Glad to get home

Well,rooms were kind of small,part of the ceiling in the bathroom fell down in the tub, the closet handle fell off, a live band played under the floor under you. Maybe that's why it has a ballroom in its name. It didn't work for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get hotel closer to downtown atlanta and the bus system ends at midnight

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard100001
Business
Buffalo, NY
Feb 18, 2012

Decent stay

I found the Highland Inn to be a very good value - good price, nice room, fun old building. The room was small, but had plenty of space for me. There was a fair amount of noise in the neighborhood, but I left the a/c fan on all night and wasn't bothered by anything. I would happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janph
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Feb 20, 2013

Highland Inn

The Inn was a good value in a very convenient location. The shower leaked continuously and had to purchase my own soap after asking for an extra one for the shower. Would only stay again if a similar situation occurs. Good coffee shop walking distance - was visiting family and the convenience was primary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fusco
Business
Fortaleza, Ceara. Brazil
May 14, 2013

Fair price, excellent location, Helpful Staff

If you are not fancy, this is a good place to stay. Well located, besides a very good bar/restaurant and at a walkable sitance of a more busy area. The staff is very helpful. The only negative aspect goes to the Toilet of the room. Too small and no windowns. But nothing that I could not live with. As I say, excellent place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wine bar/restaurant beside/attached to the hotel. The food is excellent and prepared with care and distinction. Every little thing had its own "magical" touch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny Z.
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 8, 2014

Clean Room

It was a charming little hotel. The building is very old and needs much upgrading. The hot water and cold water knobs were reversed and the front desk staff said the hot water can take up to 15 minutes to reach your room. But in terms of clean...it was immaculate. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top