The Highland Inn ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$63
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016
3.6 /5
Overall score
82%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard
  • Size: 301 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.

Rooms

Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.

Highlights

  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining

Nearby attractions

  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Dining

Cafe 640
Cafe 640 is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Cafe 640 provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Recommendations for you

Hilton Atlanta

★★★★
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$99
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$160
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$118
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$113
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$81
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$119

Amenities

Featured

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly

Dining

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant

Services

  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Service dogs allowed
  • Accessible parking

Reviews

3.6 /5 Overall score

82% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.1/5
  • Comfort: 3.4/5
  • Location: 4.3/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Our stay at the Highland

Would recommend Tue, Dec 22, 2015
My fiance and I met at the Highland for SantaCon in ATL. The hotel was very close to our meet up spot. The outside of the hotel looked super nice. The staff was amazing! We were upgraded and put on the floor we preferred. The room was clean and convenient to get to. The hotel was obviously an older place with exposed pipes in the room and older hotel type furniture. However, we found it quaint and with character. The art work in the hotel gave it personality and I loved being so close to everything! We've stayed in other hotels in Atlanta but none with such a historic feel to it. The price was right, the staff was great, and our event was super special. We are planning another trip to L5P after the new year and the Highland Inn will be our first choice!

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Charming and quaint hotel.

Would recommend Tue, Dec 15, 2015
I stayed at this hotel to be close to all the hot spots In Virginia highlands. Everything was easily accessible. The staff was great and it the hotel was very clean. It was quite and relaxing. Very charming.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location, great price.

Would recommend Tue, Dec 8, 2015
I have stayed here before. Love the place. Mattress a little soft, but still, I'll be back.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Ok

Would recommend Fri, Nov 27, 2015
This hotel is very vintage which is ok The only problem is maybe they need to stain the bathtubs because they look a bit cruddy and the window Ac/ heating unit is very loud when your trying to sleep

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

No elevator, location is good

Would recommend Fri, Nov 20, 2015
The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood. Charming old hotel, but is well maintained and clean. Free parking is a big plus. Everything seems fine, our TV was not working on our check-in, we were upgraded to a large king room after 2 transfers (2 rooms with TV not working). One only thing we didn't like about this hotel is the lack of elevator. We have heavy luggages and my husband has to bring them up to 3rd floor then down again on check out. But will definitely recommend this hotel.

| Manila Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderfully funky hotel in great location

Would recommend Sun, Nov 15, 2015
The staff at this hotel is young and very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit aged, with exposed pipes, but the paint is all fresh, the carpet and bedding clean, and plumbing functional. The hot water is a bit erratic, but it works. The television is large, if that's important to you. The bed is comfy. The breakfast adequate. There's a good coffee shop right up the street, and an excellent BBQ joint next door, or a vegan restaurant if that's more your style. Walking distance to Little 5 Points, and the Jimmy Carter Center, as well as good access to MARTA stops.

| N/A Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Just above average for lack of wifi

Would recommend Sun, Nov 15, 2015
The hotel would have met expectations but for lack of telephone service in its Room 342 and generally poor internet or WIFI service in the hotel.

| Westbury Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great time in a great neighborhood!

Would recommend Thu, Oct 1, 2015
We booked The Highland Inn for four nights, so we could attend the PGA Fed-Ex Cup golf tournament, but due to rainy weather, we only went to golf at East Lake two days. We didn't mind a bit, however, because our hotel was in such a great neighborhood. We left the car parked (free!) at the hotel and walked to nearby attractions, shops, and restaurants, such as The Carter Center, Ponce City Market, Java Jive, Manuel's, and Paris on Ponce. Cafe 640 and Sweet Auburn BBQ flank the hotel, and the food is delicious at both. The Highland Hotel is described in some reviews as quirky, and it is, but in an European way. The vintage furnishings, old movie posters, live potted plants, marble-top tables, and brass key tags reminded me of my first trip to Paris in the late 60's. If you require a heated pool, full gym, slick check-in counters, and plastic key cards, don't book here, but if you're looking for cozy nostalgia, friendly desk managers, and easy access to one of Atlanta's most happening areas, book NOW!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fox Theater Play

Would recommend Wed, Sep 30, 2015
What a great value in a cozy, laid back area. Very friendly staff as well as the locals. And the value if the room was unbeatable!! I would stay there every visit to Atlanta! Keep up the great vibes!!

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Quaint hotel. Fantastic location.

Would recommend Tue, Sep 22, 2015
The highland Inn is a lovely, quaint hotel in the of the highlands. It is walking distance to the very eclectic Little Five Points. The breakfast, however, had much to be desired since there wasn't any hot foods. No big deal it felt like home.

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Carter Center 0.2 mi
Jimmy Carter Library and Museum 0.4 mi
Variety Playhouse 0.6 mi
Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site 1.6 mi
Piedmont Park 1.7 mi
Atlanta Botanical Garden 1.8 mi
The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse 1.9 mi
Fox Theatre 1.9 mi
Margaret Mitchell House and Museum 1.9 mi
Michael C. Carlos Museum 2 mi
Fernbank Science Center 2.1 mi
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra 2.2 mi
High Museum of Art 2.2 mi
Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field 2.3 mi
Grant Park 2.4 mi
Emory University 2.5 mi
Georgia Aquarium 2.5 mi
Centennial Olympic Park 2.5 mi
Philips Arena 2.8 mi
Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum 2.8 mi
Zoo Atlanta 2.8 mi
Georgia Dome 2.9 mi
Turner Field 3.3 mi
Forbes Arena 4 mi
Swan House 5.1 mi
Atlanta History Center 5.2 mi
Georgia Governor's Mansion 5.7 mi
Chastain Park Amphitheater 7.1 mi
The Woodruff Arts Center 7.7 mi
Gwinnett Center 21.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$63
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016