$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
101 reviews
Great Stay

Stayed here during the Days of the Dead convention in February. The location was fantastic, close... See full review

  • UnconventionConventionist
  • Feb 21, 2014
Great

Small but comfy. Only stayed one night but the staff was very helpful. See full review

  • Ginger365
  • Feb 2, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
24 out of 101
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jan 27, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The hotel is touted as boutique-style. This is an old building, and I'm not sure why it's not condemned. It doesn't seem like the carpet has ever been replaced, the A/C is a window unit, similar to one you would have in a trailer. (you cannot open the window). it is never a good sign when you have a roach trap on the floor boards. The restroom setup is horrible. The wall is right in front of you when you sit therefore you have to turn to the side to avoid hitting your head against the wall when you are ready to get up. All in all, if you are used to camping or such, it's not bad for one night. It's true that you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
rvb19111
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 7, 2010

The WORST experience ever

I had a late check in after traveling throughout the day and it seemed as if nothing went right from the second I had walked in. Walking down the hall and up to my room, the hall smelled like menthol. Going into my room, it was immediate that it was extremely small with a modest bed and worn out furniture. The wireless internet they advertised is available but only in the lobby and the TV did not work. Going into the bathroom, the tub was old and dirty and the water pressure was absolutely non existent. To add to the insult of a visit, there was no ironing board, iron and alarm clock in the room. This was just a nightmare from the moment I checked in. I actually checked out at 8:00 in the morning even though my meetings were not until the afternoon. I strongly suggest avoiding this place, there are too many issues to chalk up to circumstance or coincidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
Reesay
Business
Seattle
Aug 29, 2013

Highland Inn Atlanta Georgia-Highland ave North

Bathroom-Toilet was leaning and floor was sinking on shower side. Hotel Room-room it's self had a bad trapped in smell. Hotel ballroom- Had a party on one of the nights I was there. I checked with the front desk and was told the party was going on until midnight. The party was loud and inconsiderate of those who paid to stay at the hotel. Staff and guess often smoke right at the front door (entrance to hotel) and the smoke smell rolls right into the main lobby. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Emory University is a beautiful campus in Atlanta Georgia.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
JJAC
Business
Columbia, md
Apr 27, 2013

quick business trip

It was a good enough ton considering i was only there to sleep but the walls are paper thin and the noise from the street was a bit of an issue throughout my stay. They didn't include much soap but there is a grocery store within walking distance. Parking is cramped but i guess that's to be expected in the city. wifi worked only half the time. Hot water didn't work in the sink. The staff was very friendly though and the location is close to restaurants so you can walk. I probably would not stay in this hotel again. In the future I'll probably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Athens, GA
Oct 22, 2010

missing the details

Use this hotel only for the location. They look good on the website, but seem to be missing some important details. No staff in the office when it was time to check in, they did show up later. They re-did the bathroom, but did not replace the toliet seat, or remove the dark and curlys out of the shower, water took 20 minutes to get hot in the shower. I got a new room in the "quiet part" of the hotel after complaining that I could hear the music from the bar below my room, only to hear every footstep and bed creak from the room above me. Linens were clean, but the bed was lumpy and there were no extra blankets in the room. Coffee in the morning, but no creamer. Don't be fooled by the good looking website, this is a place to crash, not a place to enjoy your hotel time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
portland, oregon
Jul 21, 2011

Nice people

I was traveling on business during a busy time of year and many of the hotels near where I was working were full. I found the Highland Inn and booked it for 8 nights. They did not have my reservation when I arrived, but were very kind and took care of me. My room was rather large and the bed comfortable - I was in the front of the building and the light that came in the windows was blinding, luckily I always travel with an eye mask. Conveniently enough it was the Hot water that work and not the Cold water in my sink, shower had both. I would describe this hotel as a cross between a European hotel and a hostel. I would recommend to a single or couple looking for an inexpensive place to stay for no more than 2 nights. On a good note, the pub next door is great! The staff was kind and helpful when they could be -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

420 Cafe next door is great!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
Putain22
Business
Vail, CO
Jul 10, 2013

Budget Hotel - Great Location

This Hotel is a bit rough around the edges but for the price you pay, its one of the best deals in town.. Free parking is also a great benefit - esp being in the heart of the city.... If you are on a budget and dont mind dated and a bit of a rundown place, this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
kkkkkk
Business
US
Nov 1, 2013

Ok but should be cleaner

The overall experience is ok, but it will be much better if they could make room cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
tandemi
Business
Texas, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect for business

Aside from the staff, this hotel was excellent. The rooms are small and quaint, yet very comfortable. There are a plethora of restaurants and bars (tapas bar less than a block away) in the area as well as Rite-Aid and a supermarket - all within walking distance. Loved the atmosphere and the style, and a great value for the price. If the staff were a little more polite and not trying so hard to be "trendy" and "alt" then it would be the absolute perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within a mile, including direct interstate access to I-75 and I-85 with VERY LITTLE traffic.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
RPDan
Business
Lakebay, WA
Jul 25, 2013

Just fine

A quirky historic hotel. Maybe a little outdated but the room was clean and quiet and comfortable and the price was perfect. The continental breakfast was nothing special - cereal and muffins and fruit. It's near some good restaurants and coffee shops and close to town, so a nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jimmy Carter Center is just a few minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top