$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
123 reviews
Awesome hotel - not your typical experience

Fabulous place with a lot of character near downtown, where I needed to be. Great experience!I... See full review

  • Gtown Traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Highlands inn atl

Good hotel for right price in a good location. Located in close to little 5 Points. See full review

  • Will74
  • Jun 15, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrysDee
Chattanoog,TN
Apr 11, 2012

Perfect location!

My daughter and I stayed here for the night while visiting friends and local places. The location was perfect for us!! We walked to dinner and shopping nearby!! The Inn is small and older....it could use some updating,but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I will stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 parents
Tampa FL
Oct 25, 2013

great inner city Atlanta stay for the $

Old European style unique place, with a good cafe beside it ... fun lighted patio for evening... parking included in stay....must appreciate vintage....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fusco
Fortaleza, Ceara. Brazil
May 14, 2013

Fair price, excellent location, Helpful Staff

If you are not fancy, this is a good place to stay. Well located, besides a very good bar/restaurant and at a walkable sitance of a more busy area. The staff is very helpful. The only negative aspect goes to the Toilet of the room. Too small and no windowns. But nothing that I could not live with. As I say, excellent place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wine bar/restaurant beside/attached to the hotel. The food is excellent and prepared with care and distinction. Every little thing had its own "magical" touch.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AVL Dad
Asheville NC
Oct 14, 2013

Simple Overnight

The Highland is located near my Son and his family so it is a very convenient and and is a great value. One needs to understand the small quirky things about an older, european style hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy guest 67
fort payne alabama
Mar 31, 2014

close to it all

The room was small with a small bed but big enough for me and my 7 year old. The place is old but they have done a good job making it a comfortable, charming retreat. It was definantly in the trendy area, and so close to down town and the zoo. I would recomend it, especially if you are a people wathcher like me and my little girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sally K
Atlanta GA
Sep 20, 2012

Good stay in a good area...

Charming, simple, easy-going accomodations. It's old timey which may not be for everyone but we really enjoyed our stay. Easy walks to find a lot to do and good eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Treat yourself to a beer at Manuel's Tavern just down the street. They offer simple bar food and the good feel of a longstanding neighborhood bar. Enjoy!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen the Librettist
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 28, 2013

Low cost, convenient location

A bargain compared to high-priced hotels in Atlanta. Convenient to sight-seeing attractions, clean and safe. But you get what you pay for. The room was clean but basic: double bed, TV with no extras. But free wi-fi. Virtually no amenities for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Pecan Restaurant in College Park, en route to the airport. Fabulous food, good value, superlative service.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Nov 11, 2010

Old World Charm

This hotel reminded me of some I've stayed at in Europe. The hotel is old and a little rough around the edges if you are used to staying at modern business hotels in Atlanta but with that said, it is quite charming and clean. The neighborhood is fun --restaurants and a few shops that are worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurant options (tapas, vegetarian, etc.) just doors away.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle Teacher
Business
Knoxville, TN
Nov 3, 2012

So unique! Not the standard hotel.

I LOVED staying at The Highland! Staff was so welcoming and helpful! I loved the atmosphere. Only thing is, if you are going in the winter, prepare yourself because the room has an old school radiator and a space heater. It was a little chilly at first but by the time I settled in it was comfortable and I had a great night. Will def visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Inman Park Marta station is only a couple minutes drive. Easy access to downtown.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Late Night in Atlanta
Columbia, SC
Sep 23, 2012

Great Value

I was coming to Atlanta for a concert I knew would get out late. I didn't want to drive back that night but also didn't want to spend a $100+ for a room I'd only be occupying for 6 hours to sleep. For less than 60 bucks a night i was quite nervous, however, when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was polite and friendly. The rooms were basic but comfy. There were no frills, but everything was more than satisfactory. If you need an affordable place to stay and don't require lavish style and decor, this is the place. The location isn't remarkable, but its not bad. Dollar for dollar, this is the best place in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top