$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
View map of 644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Atlanta Wedding Guest
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 14, 2012

Close to Atlanta Life, but leaves a lot to be Desired

Cool Hotel, close to resterants, stores, and a short distance from night entertainment. But the 'hotel' is not the best. No state of the art anything!!!!! Uses a real key, No hot water in the bathroom sink, and etc. Just very laid back space. I was expecting more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Respiratory
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Good Location

The room was cold. Space heater didn't heat room very well and there was a draft from the seal around the air-conditioner that maintained a cold room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birmingham folks
Business
Birmingham, al
Jan 13, 2013

You get what you pay for- but it's a decent value.

We've stayed there twice and the staff is really nice. Is the hotel old? Yes. But also clean & affordable and in a non-sketchy area of Atlanta. It's feels a little bit like staying in an old dorm- which is good and bad. We will probably stay there again though because you can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mariah satter
Business
New york
Jan 14, 2013

It's ok

I booked this hotel because it was one of the cheaper ones and it was close to downtown. The hotel is in a very pleasant neighborhood. But it's so old. It feels like I'm the 1920's. I wouldn't stay here again because its so old fashioned. But staff was really nice but the rooms are extremely small !!!! If your looking for a cheap place to stay this is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sales Dude
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 6, 2013

You get what you pay for

Kind of a dump, but the price was right. Should have known. Good for a college student, but not for any business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJAC
Business
Columbia, md
Apr 27, 2013

quick business trip

It was a good enough ton considering i was only there to sleep but the walls are paper thin and the noise from the street was a bit of an issue throughout my stay. They didn't include much soap but there is a grocery store within walking distance. Parking is cramped but i guess that's to be expected in the city. wifi worked only half the time. Hot water didn't work in the sink. The staff was very friendly though and the location is close to restaurants so you can walk. I probably would not stay in this hotel again. In the future I'll probably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ryc and Penny
Business
Oregon
Jul 29, 2013

Questionable maintenance.

Small rooms, free wifi, satisfactory continental breakfast, decent air conditioning, nearby grocery and resturaunts, pleasant walking area, friendly residents, aging over painted walls and doors, clean carpets, friendly staff - a mixed bag of qualities unfortunately compromised by the very loud wedding party in the central courtyard until late in the evening keeping us awake when we needed sleep for our pre-dawn flight. Smokers sit near the entrance fouling the air and the room smelt of cigarettes. To compare to European hotels does a disservice to Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Majestic diner gave decent food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reesay
Business
Seattle
Aug 29, 2013

Highland Inn Atlanta Georgia-Highland ave North

Bathroom-Toilet was leaning and floor was sinking on shower side. Hotel Room-room it's self had a bad trapped in smell. Hotel ballroom- Had a party on one of the nights I was there. I checked with the front desk and was told the party was going on until midnight. The party was loud and inconsiderate of those who paid to stay at the hotel. Staff and guess often smoke right at the front door (entrance to hotel) and the smoke smell rolls right into the main lobby. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Emory University is a beautiful campus in Atlanta Georgia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucy the northeasterner
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2014

You get what you pay for! :)

This Inn is in a FABULOUS location. It's super convenient to get to everything in Virginia Highlands and Midtown etc. However, it is very rustic (to put it lightly). They staff (both cleaning and service) do what they can with the property. But it's an old place, and has been used a lot. Also, I saw a cockroach (which made me flip out) but a friend said "it's the south, it's common, don't worry". It's pretty cheap for an amazing location...so I guess if you're just going there to sleep, it gets the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, oregon
Jul 21, 2011

Nice people

I was traveling on business during a busy time of year and many of the hotels near where I was working were full. I found the Highland Inn and booked it for 8 nights. They did not have my reservation when I arrived, but were very kind and took care of me. My room was rather large and the bed comfortable - I was in the front of the building and the light that came in the windows was blinding, luckily I always travel with an eye mask. Conveniently enough it was the Hot water that work and not the Cold water in my sink, shower had both. I would describe this hotel as a cross between a European hotel and a hostel. I would recommend to a single or couple looking for an inexpensive place to stay for no more than 2 nights. On a good note, the pub next door is great! The staff was kind and helpful when they could be -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

420 Cafe next door is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top