$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location!

It doesn't get any better than this for the price. Hotel is located a few blocks from the Little... See full review

  • Progheadd
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

It's in a great location with resturants and great bars close to the hotel. I will stay there again... See full review

  • Kate and Scott
  • Aug 20, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 122
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laxmipriya
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2014

Loved it!

Parking is very limited, so once you get a spot you don't want to move till you leave. This is just a few blocks away from the Atlanta Hare Krishna Temple, walking distance. There is a Publix across the street, very convenient. Staff helpful, giving directions and printing maps, recommending places to go. This looks like a European hostel. Cute place. Breakfast is free and nice. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlanta Hare Krishna temple has programs all the time worth checking out, including a free vegetarian feast every Sunday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy guest 67
Business
fort payne alabama
Mar 31, 2014

close to it all

The room was small with a small bed but big enough for me and my 7 year old. The place is old but they have done a good job making it a comfortable, charming retreat. It was definantly in the trendy area, and so close to down town and the zoo. I would recomend it, especially if you are a people wathcher like me and my little girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FJAA
Business
Atlanta
Mar 7, 2014

Small Hideaway

This was a quick stay. Hotel kinda reminded me of a hostel. It was clean but certainly not a Ramada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 parents
Business
Tampa FL
Oct 25, 2013

great inner city Atlanta stay for the $

Old European style unique place, with a good cafe beside it ... fun lighted patio for evening... parking included in stay....must appreciate vintage....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AVL Dad
Business
Asheville NC
Oct 14, 2013

Simple Overnight

The Highland is located near my Son and his family so it is a very convenient and and is a great value. One needs to understand the small quirky things about an older, european style hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandepants
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 1, 2012

Would definitely rent a room here again!

I decided to stay in the area last minute and needed a cheap room. The Highland Inn is cozy and clean and I didn't have any gripes about the place. Granted I was out most of the night, only coming in to sleep and left at 5am to catch a flight. I stayed on a Thursday night and there were no loud noises to disturb me (thought the window a/c did its job of blocking out the street sounds). The staff was pleasant, the room and hotel was clean. I stayed in a corner room (336) and would recommend it. Though there is a smoking porch down the hall and you can smell the smoke in the hall, I did not smell it in my room. I also didn't use the shower so I can't attest to the plumbing :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You MUST visit La Fonda Latina down the street or even Fellini's Pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrysDee
Business
Chattanoog,TN
Apr 11, 2012

Perfect location!

My daughter and I stayed here for the night while visiting friends and local places. The location was perfect for us!! We walked to dinner and shopping nearby!! The Inn is small and older....it could use some updating,but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I will stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homies
Business
Alabama, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Pretty Good Hotel

Staff were pretty friendly, very helpful. Horrible housekeepers, Extremely comfortable bed. Overall very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you want in a safe nightlife is over here!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Nov 11, 2010

Old World Charm

This hotel reminded me of some I've stayed at in Europe. The hotel is old and a little rough around the edges if you are used to staying at modern business hotels in Atlanta but with that said, it is quite charming and clean. The neighborhood is fun --restaurants and a few shops that are worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurant options (tapas, vegetarian, etc.) just doors away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 12, 2010

Not for everyone

It's a fine hotel for someone who wants low price and convenience to a hip area. It feels safe and special due to its age. However it is quite old and probably hasn't been remodeled since the 50's. It is reasonably clean, but the plumbing is old and (in our rooms) in poor condition, and the bath tiles were roughly repaired. There's a 5-inch step up into the bathroom. There are a great many coats of paint on the walls and trim. There was a noisy rock band in the next building and that sound carried fully into the room. (Depends on which side your room is on.) We had two rooms, the tv didn't work in one of them. No elevator! That's not a problem for most but is if you have trouble with stairs. Air conditioning comes from window units. The tv and cable box are mounted to a high point (that's fine) but the cables leads to an extension cord that remains suspended, leaving an ugly tangle in air. They could not provide a cot for an extra person in the room. Staff was friendly and somewhat apologetic about our room. My 80-year-old mom was with us and they realized that it was not the kind of room for her. They said they'd like to give us a better room but they were fully booked at the time. Bottom line: good for those who like a certain funkiness and don't mind a lack of conveniences and a certain amount of disrepair. Probably not what your parents want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top