$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
adorable

It was exactly what I was looking for. Authenticity and a great location. It made me feel like I... See full review

  • authentic
  • Nov 28, 2014
Great location!

It doesn't get any better than this for the price. Hotel is located a few blocks from the Little... See full review

  • Progheadd
  • Nov 19, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 125
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamofpearls
Business
Florence, AL
Dec 8, 2014

Great Price, Great Location

We had a great experience. Loved the Inn, and will definitely stay again. I didn't think the shower got hot enough, but when my wife used it, she let it run bit longer, and the water got hot enough for her. I chalked it up to being an old building. Disappointed that I didn't see a ghost, as some reviews said it was supposed to be haunted. But I didn't deduct any stars for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Manuels Bar and Grill. Majestic Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
archy44
Business
mexico city
Dec 6, 2014

Great price

This place has a great location - within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and cafes. Free parking and a low price are extra perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CamJus
Business
Herndon, VA
Oct 2, 2014

Worst night sleep

When we arrived we were greater nicely and able to check in early. Once to the room the room smelled weird and the floors were leaning at all different angles but it was an old Hotel so no big deal. Once we went to shower it didn't look very clean and you couldn't control water temp it was either burning hot or freezing cold and there was no pressure the water barely fell out of the nozzle. After the terrible shower experience we payed down and could hear everything going on around us so after an hour or two left and got dinner and attempted to come back and sleep before we left. The bed was very uncomfortable and we continued to smell weird smells. The ac was making a lot of noise while it was trying to start up it would try to start like 6 times and then run for a very short time before it quit again. We ended up leaving the hotel around 3:30am due to lack of being able to sleep. We dropped off our key (which is a regular key for a deadbolt) and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate and Scott
Business
Orlando, Florida
Aug 20, 2014

Awesome

It's in a great location with resturants and great bars close to the hotel. I will stay there again when I'm in Atlanta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassie hiuse
Business
Tn
Jul 1, 2014

Great

Thanks i liked the hotel i will book there again in future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Grad909
Business
Atlanta
Jun 30, 2014

Perfect spot for the location

Wanting to be in the highlands and able to walk was perfect. Only hotel nearby bars and restaurants in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I AM NOT MARYBETH
Business
Cartersville, GA
May 27, 2014

Great value

Older hotel with no frills. Perfect for the one night stay. We were overnighting before a next-day Braves matinee. Would stay again for the price...but the conditions are average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Urban Outfitters on Ponce

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjstalvey
Business
Leesburg Ga
May 26, 2014

Cute place

I love the location & price! The motel had that New Orleans feel to it. Bring your own pillows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bbq at Sweet Auburn next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucy the northeasterner
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2014

You get what you pay for! :)

This Inn is in a FABULOUS location. It's super convenient to get to everything in Virginia Highlands and Midtown etc. However, it is very rustic (to put it lightly). They staff (both cleaning and service) do what they can with the property. But it's an old place, and has been used a lot. Also, I saw a cockroach (which made me flip out) but a friend said "it's the south, it's common, don't worry". It's pretty cheap for an amazing location...so I guess if you're just going there to sleep, it gets the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suttree
Business
Auburn, AL
Apr 27, 2014

Great Find

This isn't a hotel for you if you like predictable fancy chain hotels. But if you're looking for a place with some character that will still give you a comfortable stay, check this place out. It has a great location, walking distance from lots of stores, bars, coffee shops, etc. It's an old building, but it's clean and the staff are friendly. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top