$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
123 reviews
Awesome hotel - not your typical experience

Fabulous place with a lot of character near downtown, where I needed to be. Great experience!I... See full review

  • Gtown Traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Highlands inn atl

Good hotel for right price in a good location. Located in close to little 5 Points. See full review

  • Will74
  • Jun 15, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 20, 2007

Beautiful Hotel, Exceptional Staff!

The Highland Inn bills itself as a boutique style hotel. It is vintage in it's amenities which gives the whole place a warm, friendly feeling, kind of like you are staying with your great Aunt Avis. The staff could not have been friendlier! I was only in town for one night, but they were sure to give us directions to my event and the best places in the neighborhood to eat and shop. I will stay there again, for sure, and I have already recomended this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Five Points, Atlanta is a short walk with lots of venues to catch some music and great little cafes to eat.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2007

Great Boutique Hotel

The Highland Inn is in an old building located near a great neighborhood (little 5 Points) for dining, music and nightlife. The staff was very nice, and had lots of information on things to see and do. I particularly appreciated the parlor in which they keep area maps, flyers and brochures of things to do in that part of Atlanta. The room was clean and comfortable. Though not very large, it was adequate. The window air conditioner kept it nice and cool despite the heat of the day. I liked that we had a closet with a door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door is very nice, featuring wines and chef-created dishes. Just a few blocks away, there are many more fine eateries and pubs.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quizmolt
St. Louis Mo
Oct 27, 2013

Awesome old charm

The staff was super friendly and they were always cleaning huge bonus. Definitely not a chain hotel which we loved real keys for the rooms winding hallways uneven floors made it amazing to explore. Walking distance to bars and restaurants we even caught an improv show in the ballroom downstairs. Great neighborhood tons to do central to everything downtown but nice and quiet. We hope to make it back sometime soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Mid 20s to early 30s crowd at every bar check out the righteous room cheap drinks great food with tons of vegetarian options

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sound Traveler Duo
Business
Cape Canaveral, FL
Oct 20, 2012

Charm, comfort, and economy in a perfect location

We found our experience to be exactly what we were looking for. We didn't want the sterile, cookie-cutter motel/hotel that charges for every step you take. We were within the Atlanta beltway and had everything we needed when we got "home" to our hotel. And the price fit the budget very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in both Manuels and 5-points.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stylist Chris
Atlanta GA
May 26, 2014

Excellent Place for Single Adult

This hotel is dated but charming. If you are are looking for a posh spacious room....This one is not for you. If you are looking for a CLEAN place to sleep that is quiet and well ran....thus one is for you. The rooms are small but perfect for a single person. The showers are very small but still work just fine. The staff was AMAZING! Very friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use UBER to get around!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaches31410
Savannah, GA
Mar 29, 2012

Great stay at The Highland Inn

Had wonderful 3-night stay. Spotlessly clean, comfortable, safe, quiet room at a very economical rate. Free parking, free self-serve breakfast. In downtown Atlanta, convenient to just about anything you want to see. Friendly, helpful staff. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay there on future trips to Atlanta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T.A.M
Orlando, FL
Feb 11, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for!!!!

Comfy and beautifully quaint hotel, incredible location in downtown Atlanta in safe area with crisp clean sheets & pillows, crisp clean towels. We are definitely returning again very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Papi's Cuban Restaurant THE best Cuban food in all of Atlanta!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geodescent
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Jun 17, 2013

Best value and location

I've been here quite a few times now and it remains my favorite hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location for the price. Rooms are always great and very clean, though the hotel is not for you if you're big on amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindz
Other, Geogia
Mar 4, 2012

My Fav Spot!

The location is perfect, perfect, perfect! The rooms are spacious and the other visitors as well as the staff make it feel like a secondary home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 20, 2007

Beautiful Hotel, Exceptional Staff!

The Highland Inn bills itself as a boutique style hotel. It is vintage in it's amenities which gives the whole place a warm, friendly feeling, kind of like you are staying with your great Aunt Avis. The staff could not have been friendlier! I was only in town for one night, but they were sure to give us directions to my event and the best places in the neighborhood to eat and shop. I will stay there again, for sure, and I have already recomended this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Five Points, Atlanta is a short walk with lots of venues to catch some music and great little cafes to eat.

Back to menu Return to top