$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
adorable

It was exactly what I was looking for. Authenticity and a great location. It made me feel like I... See full review

  • authentic
  • Nov 28, 2014
Great location!

It doesn't get any better than this for the price. Hotel is located a few blocks from the Little... See full review

  • Progheadd
  • Nov 19, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Carter Center: 0.2 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.8 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.4 mi
  • Emory University: 2.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 2.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 2.9 mi
  • Turner Field: 3.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.1 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.2 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.1 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.7 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 21.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sound Traveler Duo
Business
Cape Canaveral, FL
Oct 20, 2012

Charm, comfort, and economy in a perfect location

We found our experience to be exactly what we were looking for. We didn't want the sterile, cookie-cutter motel/hotel that charges for every step you take. We were within the Atlanta beltway and had everything we needed when we got "home" to our hotel. And the price fit the budget very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in both Manuels and 5-points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 9, 2014

Visiting old friends by myself

This hotel is a very good value. Not a whole lot of amenities, but its very close to a lot of prime locations in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a close by movie theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamofpearls
Business
Florence, AL
Dec 8, 2014

Great Price, Great Location

We had a great experience. Loved the Inn, and will definitely stay again. I didn't think the shower got hot enough, but when my wife used it, she let it run bit longer, and the water got hot enough for her. I chalked it up to being an old building. Disappointed that I didn't see a ghost, as some reviews said it was supposed to be haunted. But I didn't deduct any stars for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Manuels Bar and Grill. Majestic Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
archy44
Business
mexico city
Dec 6, 2014

Great price

This place has a great location - within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and cafes. Free parking and a low price are extra perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adricornell
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dec 4, 2014

Affordable and convenient...but look out if you're allergic to cats!

I booked this hotel because of the cost and proximity to Midtown, and the fact that breakfast, wifi and parking were all included sealed the deal. Breakfast is super basic (boiled eggs, bagels), the wifi worked fine, and parking was ok, although the lot was pretty full. There was a tiny gecko in my sink, which freaked me out, but the hotel staff removed it. The only reason I would not stay there again is because they allow a cat to reign free, and I'm allergic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I didn't eat there, but there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that looked pretty popular and had good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Youth Pastor JD
Business
Kimberling City, MO
Nov 30, 2014

Affordable and Surprisingly Comfortable

I was in Atlanta solo for a conference. It was located downtown but all the hotels downtown are outrageously priced. This was right in my budget and only about a 10 minute drive to my destination. The amenities are nothing to brag about, but that is made up for by the helpful staff, the proximity to downtown, and the surprising level of comfort for a small room. My needs were met. Can you ask for anything else?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead for parking, as most downtown parking near the Georgia Dome is at least $10

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
authentic
Business
Albuquerque
Nov 28, 2014

adorable

It was exactly what I was looking for. Authenticity and a great location. It made me feel like I was staying at a family home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Geez
Business
Colchester, UK
Nov 27, 2014

Nice place

I spent one night there. The building was old but in a nice part of town. Good jogging area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some pubs with real ale are located nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Progheadd
Business
Birmingham, AL
Nov 19, 2014

Great location!

It doesn't get any better than this for the price. Hotel is located a few blocks from the Little Five Points area. There are also many trendy bars a few blocks on the opposite direction. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ST3 Aight
Business
Virginia
Nov 14, 2014

Perfect location for Carter Center and archives.

Wifi was very poor/sometimes didn't exist. Staff was nice, room was clean. Lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Perfect location for visitors to Carter Center and Library/archives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Carter Presidential Library

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shelf Doctor
Business
Tennessee
Oct 21, 2014

location, charm, location

Small rooms, minimally appointed (no in room coffee, fridge,...) but you can't beat the location, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top