$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Georgian Terrace Hotel

4 stars
659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
568 reviews
Very Nice Staff, Room, and Service

It was really a great hotel. All the staff I had contact with were very friendly and helpful. The... See full review

  • Emory Patient
  • Aug 15, 2014
Love it

Perfect location to walk around Midtown where it's a lot of eateries, boutiques, and shop nearby... See full review

  • TravelDiva2004
  • Aug 9, 2014
Southern classic hotel near Atlanta’s top attractions

Celebrating 100 years, be part of the history. The Georgian Terrace Hotel has been Atlanta's place to be for a century. This hotel hosted the world premiere of Gone with the Wind in 1939 – it doesn't get any more classic than that. Presidents and movie stars have stayed at this Atlanta landmark over the years. Antique-style furniture in all of the rooms adds to the classic appeal. The hotel is on Atlanta's busy Peachtree Street and just a short walk, drive or subway ride from some of the city's top attractions.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art business conference center and board rooms
  • Award-winning restaurant and bar
  • Rooftop pool with view of midtown Atlanta
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet connection in all rooms

 

Rooms
The Georgian Terrace Hotel’s rooms certainly live up to their reputation. Classic antique-style furniture adds a touch of class to a variety of rooms and suites. But the hotel keeps up with the times and provides all the modern conveniences necessary. Every room comes with a Wi-Fi connection and flat-screen HDTV. The pillow-top mattresses and cotton or silk bedding guarantee a pleasant night’s sleep. Climate control and windows that can be opened add to the comfort.
Features
The Georgian Terrace Hotel’s floor -to-ceiling windows, crystal chandeliers and white marble columns harkens back to yesteryear. The ballroom has hosted everything from lavish weddings to concerts by Bruce Springsteen and Billy Joel. The Livingston Restaurant and Mims Coffee Shop give guests a place to get something to eat or drink almost any time of day. A penthouse-level fitness center includes state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment.
Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Walking distance from Marta subway station
  • Easy access to I-20, I-75-85

 

Attractions
  • Fox Theatre across the street
  • CNN Center (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Underground Atlanta (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia World Congress Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • World-class conference center hosts up to 250 people
  • Hospitality suites for smaller functions
  • Full-service business center provides printing, copying and fax services
  • Ergonomic seating
  • Secure, on-site parking
  • On-site audio/visual technician
Policies and fees
  • The property offers valet- and self-parking options for a daily fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7725 -84.3844
Area served
Atlanta, GA
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport
Area description
Many guests choose to spend their days in Midtown, enjoying nice weather at Piedmont Park, exploring museums, attending theater productions and concerts, or savoring cuisine at one of the areas many restaurants. See Exploring Midtown for more information on Midtown area activities. Downtown Atlanta offers something for everyone; history buffs enjoy the wide variety of world-class history centers and museums throughout the area; cultural coinsurers attend a variety of concerts and theatrical performances; families visit zoos and amusement parks; and sports fans choose from baseball, football, basketball and hockey in the Sports Capital of the World. See Exploring Atlanta for more information on Atlanta area activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Georgian Terrace Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Georgian Terrace Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with one queen bed (755 sq ft). Room includes complimentary high-speed internet access. Telephone with voicemail. Cable/satellite TV with pay/per/view movies. Complimentary weekday newspaper. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer, iron/ironing board.
Luxury Double
Oversized Luxury Double room with 2 Queen beds (570 sq ft). Room includes complimentary high-speed internet access. Telephone with voicemail. Cable/satellite TV with pay/per/view movies. Complimentary weekday newspaper. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator, double sink, garbage disposal, electrice range/oven, microwave. Walk-in closet with washer/dryer
Two Bedroom/Two Bath
Two bedroom/Two Bath (1,290 sq ft), with one queen bed in each bedroom. Separate living room with dining area. Kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee maker and washer/dryer area. Complimentary high-speed internet access, two dual-line phones with voicemail a system, remote-control cable television in master bedroom, hairdryer, and iron/board.
Petite Standard
Standard room with one double bed (160 sq ft). Free high-speed internet access, dual-line phone with data port, remote-control cable television, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board and voicemail system.
Two Bedroom/One Bath
Two Bedroom/One Bath (970 sq ft), with one queen bed in each bedroom. Separate living room with dining area. Kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee maker and washer/dryer area. Complimentary high-speed internet access, two dual-line phones with voicemail a system, remote-control cable television in master bedroom, hairdryer, and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fox Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.5 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.5 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.7 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Turner Field: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.7 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 3.9 mi
  • Emory University: 3.9 mi
  • Swan House: 4.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 4.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.1 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 6.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.3 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 22.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The conference center is Atlanta's newest and most prestigious conference center, located on the ground level of The Georgian Terrace Hotel. The conference center and each meeting room combines an elegant, state-of-the-art meeting environment with a complete meeting package of food and services for your convenience.

Dining

Cafe MIMS
Midtown Atlanta's Fresh New Cafe Make Cafe Mims your regular morning coffee stop. Come back for lunch on the terrace or for a bite to go for a picnic in Piedmont Park. Fresh, simple and portable with an emphasis on local foods that, in short, is Cafe Mims. Enjoy freshly brewed teas and coffee drinks, house-made pastries, and light, tasty gourmet items served morning, noon and night and late night, say after a show at The Fox.
Livingston Restaurant + Bar
Midtown Atlanta's Favorite Restaurant. With its fresh, innovative American cooking and it sleek modern dcor, Livingston Restaurant and Bar couldn't be more contemporary, yet its soul is fed by the same classic architecture and early 20th-century glamour that makes the Georgian Terrace a Midtown icon. Livingston Restaurant and Bar is the place where Atlantans come to be social, to eat and drink and celebrate. The executive chef, Gary Mennie offers up the liveliest local flavors in Georgia. Theatre plans? Reserve a table on the terrace and enjoy dinner and drinks in the glow of the Fox Theatre marquee before and after a show.
Proof and Provision
Underneath one of Atlanta's most historic landmarks lies a new kind of watering hole. Bold flavor combinations, masterfully created cocktails and sophisticated, industrial-style decor sets Proof and Provision apart from the rest. The low ceiling,exposed brick walls and concrete floors create an intimate ambiance built upon social gathering, conversation and drink-making. Executive Chef Zeb Stevenson believes in no-nonsense delivery, thus classic flavour combinations and delivers sophisticated, yet approachable snack fare. The carefully constructed menu includes small signature acquisition, unusual finds and local producers. The restaurant gives its own spin to American favorites like deviled eggs, hot pretzels, grilled cheese and pigs in a blanket without stealing its traditional glory. Skilled mixologists deliver high quality drinks that stray away from the mainstream. From barrel-aged crafted cocktails to artisan-style beers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (568)

Ratings and reviews for The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
568 out of 568
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kendmin
Business
Detroit
Jun 14, 2012

Very nice hotel - room charges and front desk issues

I was in Atlanta to preach at a local church on Sunday June 10. I arrived on Saturday. The location was just fine. Check in was fine, though clerk's demeanor was a little cold and aloof - not sure why. The room was very small and tight (Room 501). Very clean, however. TV was in the small bedroom with a separate sitting and work section. A little awkward - could not sit and watch TV. I sat at the foot of the bed and it actually lifted up off the frame, nearly causing me to slide to the floor. A microwave would be nice. My bill had a bar tab of $20. I ate at a local eatery with a pastor friend on Saturday, getting in late. When I brought it to the attention of the clerk on duty I was subjected to an investigation - I got the "look" and questions. I stood there while the clerk retrieved and actually flipped through bar receipts. A little insulting. When no resolution was forthcoming, another inquiry generated a response that the charge had been removed. No apology for this inconvenience was offered. My repeated inquiry about how such a thing could happen was ignored. I sensed I was the suspect. I make clear $20 was not my issue - insignificant. It was the fact a hotel of that status could make such a mistake and mishandle the situation. I was finally told someone pressed the wrong button. A little frustrated, I walked away without asking for or getting a revised bill. I'm st ill waiting for the $75 credit card cover charge to be removed. Cafe Mims was nice. The business center was also very useful. Staff members were generally very friendly and helpful. I don't understand the front desk. Overall, I'm not sure I will stay at this hotel in the future. Would I recommend it for others? I think I would, as I would not expect what happened to me to happen to others. Stay away from small tight rooms. KH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the photographer
Business
Annapolis, Maryland
Oct 4, 2012

Needs an update

A nice looking hotel from the lobby, outside, and in the restaurant, but the room was shabby: peeling, dated wallpaper; dirty carpet; older bathroom with cheap and overused appliances. Otherwise the location was okay, a little distant from most amenities but close to the subway; lots of panhandlers at all hours which was not my experience in other parts of town. It was not unbearable (I can put up with a lot), but next time I'll stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boundfor70
bethesda, maryland
Oct 8, 2012

good location

The location is very good. Near the station and fox theater. However, hotel room wall is very thin and loud voice can be here until midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cp1977
Atlanta
Dec 13, 2012

It was ok....

Nice hotel. Great location. Staff could have been more welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deviateur
Business
Tulsa
Oct 22, 2013

Location is all you get

Georgian Terrace is across the street from the Fox Theater and near quite a number of restaurants. That's good because the hotel restaurant and bar are extremely unremarkable and there are no activities or entertainment in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The North Avenue MARTA station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeeMan
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 24, 2013

Good business trip

Entrance and main lobby look great because it was a historical building. I thought the rooms and carpeting on the floors really needed updating. Location is ok, not much around the area. It is convenient to down town Atlanta though. I found the location to be a little noisy. I stayed on the 12th floor and could hear people talking below like it was outside my window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

very friendly

The staff was very good, our first room had a very small bed they upgrated us into a suit with a king size bed but it was very unconforble, the suite had its own mechanical room (very noisey) it also had very old fashion bathroom & tub and the hot water would run out. so over all I would not go back because I did not sleep very well but the location is very good and the staff very qualified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from Baraonda veri nice Italian Retaurant

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hershey, PA
Aug 27, 2009

Nice alternative to chain hotels!

Lovely place, I would stay there again. Under construction when we were there and we did not know. Rooms were small and beds were small. Bathrooms needed updating. Food very good, staff was exceptionally nice and caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nampa Idaho
Jan 28, 2011

Not So Good

The biggest problem was I didn't stay at the Georgian Terrace because they had overbooked. They put me in a Hotel by Emory University which was a significant distance away from the conference I was attending. It made transprotation more expensive, time consuming and ackward. The hotel I stayed at was fine just not located where I had intended so I could make full use of my time in Atlanta. I would have booked elsewhere even at higher cost so I could have been close to the conference location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The MARTA transportation system works well at a low cost if you are located near the train stop

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Jan 29, 2011

ok, double booked

arrived and checked into a room that had somebody's stuff in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurant 1.5 mi walk to convention center

Back to menu Return to top

Change search