$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

The Georgian Terrace Hotel

4 stars
659 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
874 reviews
Amazing

Even though it is a bit pricey, the overall quality was amazing. The only con is that the location... See full review

  • KSig53
  • Jul 3, 2014
extended stay accommodated

The service at this hotel is outstanding. When we checked in, our room wasn't quite ready, but very... See full review

  • Extracare
  • Jun 26, 2014
Southern classic hotel near Atlanta’s top attractions

Celebrating 100 years, be part of the history. The Georgian Terrace Hotel has been Atlanta's place to be for a century. This hotel hosted the world premiere of Gone with the Wind in 1939 – it doesn't get any more classic than that. Presidents and movie stars have stayed at this Atlanta landmark over the years. Antique-style furniture in all of the rooms adds to the classic appeal. The hotel is on Atlanta's busy Peachtree Street and just a short walk, drive or subway ride from some of the city's top attractions.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art business conference center and board rooms
  • Award-winning restaurant and bar
  • Rooftop pool with view of midtown Atlanta
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet connection in all rooms

 

Rooms
The Georgian Terrace Hotel’s rooms certainly live up to their reputation. Classic antique-style furniture adds a touch of class to a variety of rooms and suites. But the hotel keeps up with the times and provides all the modern conveniences necessary. Every room comes with a Wi-Fi connection and flat-screen HDTV. The pillow-top mattresses and cotton or silk bedding guarantee a pleasant night’s sleep. Climate control and windows that can be opened add to the comfort.
Features
The Georgian Terrace Hotel’s floor -to-ceiling windows, crystal chandeliers and white marble columns harkens back to yesteryear. The ballroom has hosted everything from lavish weddings to concerts by Bruce Springsteen and Billy Joel. The Livingston Restaurant and Mims Coffee Shop give guests a place to get something to eat or drink almost any time of day. A penthouse-level fitness center includes state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment.
Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Walking distance from Marta subway station
  • Easy access to I-20, I-75-85

 

Attractions
  • Fox Theatre across the street
  • CNN Center (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Underground Atlanta (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia World Congress Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • World-class conference center hosts up to 250 people
  • Hospitality suites for smaller functions
  • Full-service business center provides printing, copying and fax services
  • Ergonomic seating
  • Secure, on-site parking
  • On-site audio/visual technician
Policies and fees
  • The property offers valet- and self-parking options for a daily fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Georgian Terrace Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with one queen bed (755 sq ft). Room includes complimentary high-speed internet access. Telephone with voicemail. Cable/satellite TV with pay/per/view movies. Complimentary weekday newspaper. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer, iron/ironing board.
Luxury Double
Oversized Luxury Double room with 2 Queen beds (570 sq ft). Room includes complimentary high-speed internet access. Telephone with voicemail. Cable/satellite TV with pay/per/view movies. Complimentary weekday newspaper. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator, double sink, garbage disposal, electrice range/oven, microwave. Walk-in closet with washer/dryer
Two Bedroom/Two Bath
Two bedroom/Two Bath (1,290 sq ft), with one queen bed in each bedroom. Separate living room with dining area. Kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee maker and washer/dryer area. Complimentary high-speed internet access, two dual-line phones with voicemail a system, remote-control cable television in master bedroom, hairdryer, and iron/board.
Petite Standard
Standard room with one double bed (160 sq ft). Free high-speed internet access, dual-line phone with data port, remote-control cable television, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board and voicemail system.
Two Bedroom/One Bath
Two Bedroom/One Bath (970 sq ft), with one queen bed in each bedroom. Separate living room with dining area. Kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffee maker and washer/dryer area. Complimentary high-speed internet access, two dual-line phones with voicemail a system, remote-control cable television in master bedroom, hairdryer, and iron/board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Georgian Terrace Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7725 -84.3844
Area served
Atlanta, GA
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport
Area description
Many guests choose to spend their days in Midtown, enjoying nice weather at Piedmont Park, exploring museums, attending theater productions and concerts, or savoring cuisine at one of the areas many restaurants. See Exploring Midtown for more information on Midtown area activities. Downtown Atlanta offers something for everyone; history buffs enjoy the wide variety of world-class history centers and museums throughout the area; cultural coinsurers attend a variety of concerts and theatrical performances; families visit zoos and amusement parks; and sports fans choose from baseball, football, basketball and hockey in the Sports Capital of the World. See Exploring Atlanta for more information on Atlanta area activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Fox Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.5 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.5 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.2 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.7 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.3 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Turner Field: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.7 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 3.9 mi
  • Emory University: 3.9 mi
  • Swan House: 4.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 4.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.1 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 6.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.3 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 22.7 mi

Dining

Cafe MIMS
Midtown Atlanta's Fresh New Cafe Make Cafe Mims your regular morning coffee stop. Come back for lunch on the terrace or for a bite to go for a picnic in Piedmont Park. Fresh, simple and portable with an emphasis on local foods that, in short, is Cafe Mims. Enjoy freshly brewed teas and coffee drinks, house-made pastries, and light, tasty gourmet items served morning, noon and night and late night, say after a show at The Fox.
Livingston Restaurant + Bar
Midtown Atlanta's Favorite Restaurant. With its fresh, innovative American cooking and it sleek modern dcor, Livingston Restaurant and Bar couldn't be more contemporary, yet its soul is fed by the same classic architecture and early 20th-century glamour that makes the Georgian Terrace a Midtown icon. Livingston Restaurant and Bar is the place where Atlantans come to be social, to eat and drink and celebrate. The executive chef, Gary Mennie offers up the liveliest local flavors in Georgia. Theatre plans? Reserve a table on the terrace and enjoy dinner and drinks in the glow of the Fox Theatre marquee before and after a show.
Proof and Provision
Underneath one of Atlanta's most historic landmarks lies a new kind of watering hole. Bold flavor combinations, masterfully created cocktails and sophisticated, industrial-style decor sets Proof and Provision apart from the rest. The low ceiling,exposed brick walls and concrete floors create an intimate ambiance built upon social gathering, conversation and drink-making. Executive Chef Zeb Stevenson believes in no-nonsense delivery, thus classic flavour combinations and delivers sophisticated, yet approachable snack fare. The carefully constructed menu includes small signature acquisition, unusual finds and local producers. The restaurant gives its own spin to American favorites like deviled eggs, hot pretzels, grilled cheese and pigs in a blanket without stealing its traditional glory. Skilled mixologists deliver high quality drinks that stray away from the mainstream. From barrel-aged crafted cocktails to artisan-style beers.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The conference center is Atlanta's newest and most prestigious conference center, located on the ground level of The Georgian Terrace Hotel. The conference center and each meeting room combines an elegant, state-of-the-art meeting environment with a complete meeting package of food and services for your convenience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (874)

Ratings and reviews for The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
874 out of 874
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DrBrain
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 2, 2009

Fabulous!

I had a full suite with a fridge and microwave. When I opted not to go to the business dinners, I was able to kick back in my room and take care of my own meal easily. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The only downside is that it is 2 blocks from a service agency for the homeless and I walked by a number of homeless people on my way to my meetings. Everyone was very pleasant, but I did feel a little uncomfortable. If I had been driving, this would not have been an issue, because the area immediately surrounding the hotel is fine, but I chose to walk a mile to my meetings. Overall, I thought this was an extremely elegant and comfortable hotel with great amenities. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T K Harris
Roswell, GA
Feb 21, 2010

Wonderful stay

When we got there to check in it was really busy. When it was our turn we were told they didn't have any more luxury rooms with 2 queen beds and I was a little anxious until they said they were upgrading us to a 2 bedroom suite! It was beautiful and the beds were so comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Classic elegance mixed with Southern comfort

Wonderful receptionist, wait staff and concierge, valet were extremely helpful.....room was perfect...couldn't ask for better. Oh yeah location was the best it could be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Gladys Knight's Chicken and Waffles.... a culinary extravaganza!

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 22, 2010

Love It

I`m really big fan of old style cars and now going to look for old style hotels. Its one of the kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timmyjoe
Renton, Washington
Nov 13, 2012

Weekend in Atlanta

I took a trip to Atlanta, as I have never been there before, and took a friend with me. With all of the history of the area, I had to see what the ATL was all about, and wanted to take a "recon" and "R & R" trip there. I was blown away at the first sight of the hotel - it is a fantastic place! It was clean and well maintained for a building that was built 100 years ago, with the marble floors and staircases. The employees all went out of their way to accomodate me and my friend, and strongly suggested the upgrade to the deluxe room. I am always leery of "suggestive selling", but needless to say, it was the best suggestion I could have gotten! The room, which was on the 11th floor, was first rate, and the view out to the city was breathtaking! Being across from the Fox Theatre, and the history involved in both buildings, was what made it that much more memorable for both of us! I will not hesitate to return to Atlanta and stay there again, and will highly recommend it to anyone that I know that is thinking about a trip to Atlanta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just to do it, you need to go to Gladys Knight's for breakfast! Great food, an even better staff, and lots of pics and gold albums on the walls! Order the Midnight Train (Chicken & waffles) - best chicken I have had in quite a while, and the waffle is light and fluffy, done just right!

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prepaid ron
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Great Stay

Great Hotel with charachter. Was upgraded on arrival, great friendly staff. Very clean and nice room. Best place I have stayed in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockland, ME
Feb 17, 2008

Great location

My husband and I arrived at The Georgian Terrace much later than we had anticipated. When I called to let the hotel staff know, they were very gracious. Upon checking in, I inquired if the hotel could upgrade us since we'd had a very tiring and long day. We were upgraded from a standard room to a suite with a living room, kitchen, bedroom, and washer and dryer. A bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries awaited us. It was very nicely decorated and the views from the 16th floor were fabulous! Whenever we had a question, it was always answered and usually the hotel staff stopped what they were doing and took us to that particular location. We enjoyed the bar on the mezannine level. The Key Lime Martini there was superb. Check-in, check-out, and the valet service was quick and the hotel staff were very friendly. The Georgian Terrace is right across the street from the Fox Theatre, excellent restaurants, and easy access to all of the interstates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baronda, a great Italian; Pleasant Peasant, best French Onion Soup; Sun Dial in the Westin, 360 degree view; great Steahouses--Chops, Bones, or New York Prime; Landmark Diner, open 24 hours; Dining Room at Ritz Carlton; Bacchanalia; Oceanaire, chain 10 blocks away;Buckhead--Roy's Hawaiian Grill; Atlanta Fish Market; Bluepointe.

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gusvi
San Juan, PR
Jul 26, 2009

Great Stay, Great Surprise!

Excellent service. Stayed for 3 nights on a two bedroom suite, and I cannot recommend it enough. Atlanta was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple of great restaurants nearby.

Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

Great location

The hotel was beautiful. The lobby was spectacular. Everything was very clean. We were upgraded to a suite, complete with walk in closet with a washer and dryer. The location, across from the Fox Theater and close to the Aquarium and downtown, is very convenient. The only drawback is the exorbitant cost of room service. Luckily there are quite a few restaurants in walking distance. You do have to watch out for panhandlers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Girlfrienddd
Toms River, NJ
Aug 5, 2009

A better deal from Orbitz mistake!

This hotel is a little bit pricey, but if you have the money go for it. First of all, Orbitz didn't send the hotel our information which was scary at first but the hotel staff went into action and called them. They would up upgrading our room to a huge suite for "being so patient." It was incredible. All of the staff are very friendly and accomodating. The pool is on the roof and it is AMAZING. Definitely go for a swim. The Fitness center is also right below that and it's very nice. Livingston is the attached restaurant. It is very nice and classy. But for me it was too classy and too expensive. We stayed four nights and I wish we could've stayed longer. We bought the CityPass that gets you into the Coca-Cola Factory, Aquarium, CNN, and a few other things. Definitely worth it if you HAVE THE TIME. I cannot stress that enough. We didn't get to see two out of the seven attractions. They aren't within walking distance. Get a cab, or better yet just drive to them and save your money. We also went to two really delicious and fun restaurants. The Flying Buscuit and The Vortex. The Flying Buscuit has awesome organic breafast lunch and dinner; it is a must eat place. It's about a 15 minute walk and about 9 blocks. The Vortex is a cool tattooed, biker bar that welcomes everyone, except children. You must be 18+. Smoking is permitted. The food is delicious and it proves for a fun, different experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Flying Buscuit is my favorite place we ate at. They offer delicious and organic food. Fluffy buiscuts, fried green tomatoes, wheat french toast. It's definitely worth the trip. The atmosphere is nice, the seating is a little cramped though. Start out on Peachtree St. and go up to 10th St. (7 blocks) and make a right. Two blocks up on Piedmont St. on your left on the corner is The Flying Buscuit.

Back to menu Return to top