$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The Ellis on Peachtree

4 stars
176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Short holiday weekend

Great location!! Right above Peachtree MARTA station (toward Ellis St/the library). We took the the... See full review

  • Newly retirees
  • Oct 16, 2014
Urban chic stay

Very pleasant, enjoyed the walk ability of this location to eateries, Centennial Park and other... See full review

  • Karen loves her kids
  • Aug 25, 2014
Upscale accommodations, a women-only floor and executive amenities
Guests looking for luxury touches find them in spades at The Ellis on Peachtree, an Atlanta institution. The 127-room property is boutique in feel, with modern décor and personalized service. The Ellis on Peachtree is on the National Register of Historic Places, but rooms brim with up-to-date details like limestone floors and walls, espresso bamboo paneling, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and iPod docking stations. A prime address near major downtown spots and a restaurant specializing in sustainable fare build the appeal.

Highlights
  • Terrace Restaurant overlooking Peachtree Street offers sustainable fare
  • Women-only floor with secured entry and upgraded amenities, including comfy slippers
  • Valet and laundry service  
  • Free nightly wine tastings

Rooms

The Ellis on Peachtree has 127 total rooms and suites oozing with urban flavor. Espresso bamboo panels contrast with sleek beds topped in stark white linens and foam or feather pillows, while bathrooms promote luxury with limestone floors and rainfall shower heads. Each room boasts of an iPod docking station, work station and honor bar. Natural lighting provides a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel welcomes dogs weighing no more than 35 pounds with a free doggie gift bag.

Features
Every meal feels like a special occasion at the Terrace Restaurant, where The Ellis on Peachtree guests dine on sustainable fare and savor the views of Peachtree Street below.  The recipes favor traditional Southern fare, made with natural and organic ingredients, while the restaurant supports local farmers and fishermen. The Ellis on Peachtree also hosts a free wine tasting every evening.  

Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Peachtree Center Marta commuter rail station (6 mi/9.6 km)

Attractions
  • Coca-Cola Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • CNN Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Margaret Mitchell Home (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Atlanta Ballet (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with flexible space for up to 75 guests
  • Catering
  • Business center  
Policies and fees
The City of Atlanta is undertaking a Streetcar Project. Due to this, there are road closures in place that may affect access to the hotel. Please follow the directions below during this time.

Directions from Hartsfield Jackson International Airport to the Ellis Hotel (10 miles)

By Car

  • Merge onto I-85 N. Take the Andrew Young Intl.
  • Blvd./GA-10 E exit.
  • Take exit 248C toward Freedom Pkwy/Carter Center.
  • Turn left to take the ramp toward International
  • Blvd/World Congress Center. Ramp becomes Fort St. NE.
  • Turn slight left onto Andrew Young International Blvd. NE.
  • Turn left on Courtland St
  • Turn right on Auburn Ave
  • Turn right on Peachtree St
  • You will see signs for road closure and signs "Ellis Hotel Drop Off/Pick Up Valet Only"
  • The blocked off area is accessible to hotel guests (appropriate signage displayed)

By MARTA train

  • The station is inside the terminal building of Hartsfield Jackson Airport - approximately a 20 minute travel time with 8 stops on the train.
  • If INTERNATIONAL TERMINAL take FREE Shuttle to Domestic Terminal first.
  • Take either line (North Springs or Doraville) Northbound to the Peachtree Center Exit.
  • The Ellis is the Peachtree Center stop.
  • When exiting the MARTA at Peachtree Center, follow signs to Ellis St. which leads right to The Ellis Hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ellis on Peachtree also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Ellis on Peachtree Rooms

King
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Queen
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.1 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • Emory University: 4.6 mi
  • Swan House: 5.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 8.2 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.5 mi

Dining

The Terrace on Peachtree
A contemporary organic and sustainable restaurant that serves breakfast,lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for The Ellis on Peachtree

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Apr 6, 2010

Too Small for Comfort

Cons: Arrived at hotel only to find that all streets around hotel were under construction. Then we check in and go to our rooms to find a nice letter fro. The hotel manager to let us know that the building ac unit is not working. Didn't supply fans or anything. Room was always over 80 degrees. Also, hotel food was awful. Pros: very elegant design, nice modern fixtures overall clean facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try hotel food. Go to hard rock cafe. They have take out service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Florida
Apr 5, 2011

[...]clients Beware!!!

The hotel is beautiful and this was our 2nd time staying there for a long weekend. But.... this time we booked thru [...]. Let me tell you that they flat told me when I complained that I did not get the room that I booked and paid for that it is "subject to availability when you book thru a 3rd party". [...]If the staff at the Ellis, particularly a clerk named [...], had been nice about it I would just say the hotel is nice enough so just book directly. But he was sassy and offered no options. Then the last morning we woke up to a water leak thru the ceiling and an hour later he had not gone to the room overhead to investigate. He was"waiting for maintainence to arrive to work". It was my last trip there!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Russ globetrotter
Business
North Alabama
Aug 13, 2013

Lots of surprises! None of them good

Pretty bad considering the price we paid to stay here. Construction all around and literally on the front step. No free parking, either $25 + tip for valet or $36 overnight parking lot 3 blocks away. Plus I asked about parking at check in and it was not explained to me very well. I was told I could park for $6 overnight, but that price was only good if I woke up and moved my car before 6am. 6:01 and I would be paying $36. We came to ATL and stayed downtown so we could go out and have a good time. The combination of late drinking, and having to get up at 5:30 to move my car meant I was very tired, I woke up at 11:30 and called the front desk to ask if I could check out at 12:30-1:00 instead of the 12 policy they had set. I explained that we had had a late night and I had slept in. All I needed was an extra 30min to an hour so I didn't have to pack in a rush while hungover. I was very rudely told that, no, there would be no exceptions, and that they would be glad to charge my CC $75 in the event that I could not be out of my room before noon. On a lesser note: there was no concierge and the front desk clerk said he was it. His recommendation of a seafood joint was TERRIBLE! Nice hotel, terrible employees, policies, parking, and the construction has a big enough negative impact on the stay that they should warn you about it. Free valet parking during the construction wouldn't be out of line, instead you have to find parking where you can, check in, then drive a 7 block circle detour to find outrageously expensive parking way too far from the hotel. I give this 2 stars, and for the price.... Go stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, New York
Apr 18, 2010

The staff was top notch, but.....

This had to be the "coziest" hotel I've ever stayed in. The lobby, hallways, rooms, and fitness center all felt claustrophobic. Our room didn't even have a closet. Instead, we had a 2 ft. wide armoire to hang our clothes in & a tv stand that had 3 small drawers for the remainder of our belongings. There wasn't a place to store luggage out of the way and anything we bought ended up piled on the windowsill or the desk, leaving the room feeling cramped & cluttered;not the restful place you want to return to after a long day. The Ellis is central to many restaurants, the MARTA, and about a 15 to 20 min. walk to Centennial Park (which is beautiful), CNN and the GA Dome. The neighborhood around the Ellis is fine during the day, but gets very loud at night. Between deafening sirens and music blaring from the cars below on Peachtree, falling asleep was a challenge. Not to mention the very loud A/C unit which was located in the ceiling, directly above the head of the bed. Given the number of hotels in the area, I would definately choose another next time. However, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how impressed we were with the entire staff. There was always someone available to give directions, make suggestions, hail a cab and even share a joke. They were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unlike most large cities that have a drugstore/pharmacy on every block, we didn't see a single one. There were several souvenir shops around that also sold items such as aspirin, water, etc...but be prepared to pay. I would recommend packing with this in mind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiFr
Business
Ottawa Canada
Jan 9, 2014

Good Boutique Hotel

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very small. Pricey valet parking ($25 per night) obligatory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 6, 2010

Decent Hotel

The hotel and room modern aesthetic was nicely done. Although the room is slightly smaller than I'm used to, it was acceptable. Street noise can be heard at times in the room. Shower is a bit too cramped for me. Toilet paper is cheap - single ply and rough. You would think that they would use better quality. The room does not have a mini ref. Make sure you check the mini bar as ours wasn't fully stocked when we checked in. Otherwise, you may get charged for it. The hotel also charges your credit card with $50/day for incidental charges and would later reverse it upon check out. I've travelled a lot but haven't come across this policy at any hotels I've stayed. I don't necessarily agree with this policy. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Access to the MARTA is convenient (right across the street) - so transfers between airport/hotel is a breeze. Didn't find any great restaurants around the area close to the hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Food Bee
Business
North Georgia Mountains
Jul 4, 2009

A departure from the routine hotel chain

Having read about the recent renovation of this 1913 building, I wanted to give it a try and found a very good online rate. My companion arrived first and was a bit exasperated because he felt he was coddling the employees. As he said, it should be the other way around. I called the reservations clerk from my car and asked for early arrival since we were coming in from different cities and getting to the hotel about noon. I asked for a high floor, but she told me bluntly that would not be possible with early check-in. As a result, our room was right across from the elevator. It was also very small. The king bed took up much floor space, but since we only were in town for one night it was acceptable. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were luxurious. The furniture was just average and isn't as nice as the photos depict. It's curious that the decor attempts to be contemporary in this nice old building. We seemed to be among only a handful of people staying here, so why we didn't receive a room upgrade is perplexing. Their dining room is on the second floor and there is a balcony with seating, somewhat reminiscent of New Orleans. However, when we walked out there at 9AM for breakfast, none of the tables had a bit of shade. We were forced back inside to listen to the chill/electronica music. We did dine in the neighborhood at Social and French American Brasserie. They are both within walking distance. I hightly recommend Social on W. Peachtree Pl for a nice lunch and good wine list. The Ritz-Carlton is across the street and we ventured over to their bar to get a glimpse of the recent renovation. It made us thankful we were staying at The Ellis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Feb 13, 2010

'OK

I visited the Ellis Hotel for a Valentine getaway. My husband and I were shocked at how small the rooms were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was nice and romantic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tietonee
Business
Tennessee
May 2, 2010

Not bad

Room was smaller than what I expected... Also I booked a king bed and got put in a queen. When i asked why this happended I was told they will be glad to refund my money but would not give me a dicount for the inconvience. I also had to pay $21 a night for parking which I thought was insane... I would not stay here again less it was just an amazing deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a great outdoor mall that was super fun...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta Ga
Nov 29, 2010

Great location. Best Breakfast in Atl. H

We enjoyed our stay, great location, everything within two blocks, Hard Rock, CNN, GA Dome, Westin, Gold Gym which they provide a free pass, small elegant rooms and friendly staff and free wine to wind down in evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top