$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Ellis on Peachtree

4 stars
View map of 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
Great Stay

Clean and friendly staff. Good location. Happy hour specials. See full review

  • some
  • Mar 4, 2015
Beautiful hotel in great location

Lovely hotel, kind and welcoming staff, fabulous location (literally right on top of the train, 20... See full review

  • Ilana S.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Guests looking for luxury touches find them in spades at The Ellis on Peachtree, an Atlanta institution. The 127-room property is boutique in feel, with modern décor and personalized service. The Ellis on Peachtree is on the National Register of Historic Places, but rooms brim with up-to-date details like limestone floors and walls, espresso bamboo paneling, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and iPod docking stations. A prime address near major downtown spots and a restaurant specializing in sustainable fare build the appeal.

Rooms

The Ellis on Peachtree has 127 total rooms and suites oozing with urban flavor. Espresso bamboo panels contrast with sleek beds topped in stark white linens and foam or feather pillows, while bathrooms promote luxury with limestone floors and rainfall shower heads. Each room boasts of an iPod docking station, work station and honor bar. Natural lighting provides a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel welcomes dogs weighing no more than 35 pounds with a free doggie gift bag.

Property features
Every meal feels like a special occasion at the Terrace Restaurant, where The Ellis on Peachtree guests dine on sustainable fare and savor the views of Peachtree Street below.  The recipes favor traditional Southern fare, made with natural and organic ingredients, while the restaurant supports local farmers and fishermen. The Ellis on Peachtree also hosts a free wine tasting every evening.  

Highlights
  • Terrace Restaurant overlooking Peachtree Street offers sustainable fare
  • Women-only floor with secured entry and upgraded amenities, including comfy slippers
  • Valet and laundry service  
  • Free nightly wine tastings

Nearby attractions
  • Coca-Cola Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • CNN Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Margaret Mitchell Home (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Atlanta Ballet (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with flexible space for up to 75 guests
  • Catering
  • Business center  
Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Peachtree Center Marta commuter rail station (6 mi/9.6 km)

Policies
The City of Atlanta is undertaking a Streetcar Project. Due to this, there are road closures in place that may affect access to the hotel. Please follow the directions below during this time.

Directions from Hartsfield Jackson International Airport to the Ellis Hotel (10 miles)

By Car

  • Merge onto I-85 N. Take the Andrew Young Intl.
  • Blvd./GA-10 E exit.
  • Take exit 248C toward Freedom Pkwy/Carter Center.
  • Turn left to take the ramp toward International
  • Blvd/World Congress Center. Ramp becomes Fort St. NE.
  • Turn slight left onto Andrew Young International Blvd. NE.
  • Turn left on Courtland St
  • Turn right on Auburn Ave
  • Turn right on Peachtree St
  • You will see signs for road closure and signs "Ellis Hotel Drop Off/Pick Up Valet Only"
  • The blocked off area is accessible to hotel guests (appropriate signage displayed)

By MARTA train

  • The station is inside the terminal building of Hartsfield Jackson Airport - approximately a 20 minute travel time with 8 stops on the train.
  • If INTERNATIONAL TERMINAL take FREE Shuttle to Domestic Terminal first.
  • Take either line (North Springs or Doraville) Northbound to the Peachtree Center Exit.
  • The Ellis is the Peachtree Center stop.
  • When exiting the MARTA at Peachtree Center, follow signs to Ellis St. which leads right to The Ellis Hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ellis on Peachtree also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Ellis on Peachtree Rooms

King
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Queen
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.1 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • Emory University: 4.6 mi
  • Swan House: 5.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 8.2 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.5 mi

Dining

The Terrace on Peachtree
A contemporary organic and sustainable restaurant that serves breakfast,lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Ellis on Peachtree

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Apr 6, 2010

Too Small for Comfort

Cons: Arrived at hotel only to find that all streets around hotel were under construction. Then we check in and go to our rooms to find a nice letter fro. The hotel manager to let us know that the building ac unit is not working. Didn't supply fans or anything. Room was always over 80 degrees. Also, hotel food was awful. Pros: very elegant design, nice modern fixtures overall clean facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try hotel food. Go to hard rock cafe. They have take out service.

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Florida
Apr 5, 2011

[...]clients Beware!!!

The hotel is beautiful and this was our 2nd time staying there for a long weekend. But.... this time we booked thru [...]. Let me tell you that they flat told me when I complained that I did not get the room that I booked and paid for that it is "subject to availability when you book thru a 3rd party". [...]If the staff at the Ellis, particularly a clerk named [...], had been nice about it I would just say the hotel is nice enough so just book directly. But he was sassy and offered no options. Then the last morning we woke up to a water leak thru the ceiling and an hour later he had not gone to the room overhead to investigate. He was"waiting for maintainence to arrive to work". It was my last trip there!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Russ globetrotter
Business
North Alabama
Aug 13, 2013

Lots of surprises! None of them good

Pretty bad considering the price we paid to stay here. Construction all around and literally on the front step. No free parking, either $25 + tip for valet or $36 overnight parking lot 3 blocks away. Plus I asked about parking at check in and it was not explained to me very well. I was told I could park for $6 overnight, but that price was only good if I woke up and moved my car before 6am. 6:01 and I would be paying $36. We came to ATL and stayed downtown so we could go out and have a good time. The combination of late drinking, and having to get up at 5:30 to move my car meant I was very tired, I woke up at 11:30 and called the front desk to ask if I could check out at 12:30-1:00 instead of the 12 policy they had set. I explained that we had had a late night and I had slept in. All I needed was an extra 30min to an hour so I didn't have to pack in a rush while hungover. I was very rudely told that, no, there would be no exceptions, and that they would be glad to charge my CC $75 in the event that I could not be out of my room before noon. On a lesser note: there was no concierge and the front desk clerk said he was it. His recommendation of a seafood joint was TERRIBLE! Nice hotel, terrible employees, policies, parking, and the construction has a big enough negative impact on the stay that they should warn you about it. Free valet parking during the construction wouldn't be out of line, instead you have to find parking where you can, check in, then drive a 7 block circle detour to find outrageously expensive parking way too far from the hotel. I give this 2 stars, and for the price.... Go stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, New York
Apr 18, 2010

The staff was top notch, but.....

This had to be the "coziest" hotel I've ever stayed in. The lobby, hallways, rooms, and fitness center all felt claustrophobic. Our room didn't even have a closet. Instead, we had a 2 ft. wide armoire to hang our clothes in & a tv stand that had 3 small drawers for the remainder of our belongings. There wasn't a place to store luggage out of the way and anything we bought ended up piled on the windowsill or the desk, leaving the room feeling cramped & cluttered;not the restful place you want to return to after a long day. The Ellis is central to many restaurants, the MARTA, and about a 15 to 20 min. walk to Centennial Park (which is beautiful), CNN and the GA Dome. The neighborhood around the Ellis is fine during the day, but gets very loud at night. Between deafening sirens and music blaring from the cars below on Peachtree, falling asleep was a challenge. Not to mention the very loud A/C unit which was located in the ceiling, directly above the head of the bed. Given the number of hotels in the area, I would definately choose another next time. However, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how impressed we were with the entire staff. There was always someone available to give directions, make suggestions, hail a cab and even share a joke. They were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unlike most large cities that have a drugstore/pharmacy on every block, we didn't see a single one. There were several souvenir shops around that also sold items such as aspirin, water, etc...but be prepared to pay. I would recommend packing with this in mind.

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiFr
Business
Ottawa Canada
Jan 9, 2014

Good Boutique Hotel

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very small. Pricey valet parking ($25 per night) obligatory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Feb 13, 2010

'OK

I visited the Ellis Hotel for a Valentine getaway. My husband and I were shocked at how small the rooms were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was nice and romantic

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tietonee
Business
Tennessee
May 2, 2010

Not bad

Room was smaller than what I expected... Also I booked a king bed and got put in a queen. When i asked why this happended I was told they will be glad to refund my money but would not give me a dicount for the inconvience. I also had to pay $21 a night for parking which I thought was insane... I would not stay here again less it was just an amazing deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a great outdoor mall that was super fun...

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta Ga
Nov 29, 2010

Great location. Best Breakfast in Atl. H

We enjoyed our stay, great location, everything within two blocks, Hard Rock, CNN, GA Dome, Westin, Gold Gym which they provide a free pass, small elegant rooms and friendly staff and free wine to wind down in evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To everything

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wheaton,IL
Nov 1, 2010

All that Glitters is not gold,mbe bronz

So this hotel is not far from everything tourist related. So you can walk here to the CNN building, Coca Cola building and Centennial Park. We walked in and the first thing we notice is how small the place was. Our room was equally tiny. When coming in the front desk was pleasant, they told us where to go for drinks etc. but we did have issues such as the ice machine not working on the 14th floor. After several calls they ended up bringing us ice, the second time we went to another floor and got it ourselves. Another issue is robes, I put on the reservations that a couple will be staying and only one frayed robe was available. Do not think about taking a nice bath, there are only showers available for the rooms. For the price we paid I expected more but I got the bare minimum. I would recommend this if you got a good discount!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not Pay outrageous prices for the hotel to park your car. Look around the areas for parking for much less and not a far distance. Do not forget that the hotel does a free wine tasting in the evening!

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chattanooga, tn
Jul 6, 2011

A very quaint stay

Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a surprise that there is not a parking garage an so there was the extra cost of parking in garages that charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top