$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

The Ellis on Peachtree

4 stars
176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
148 reviews
Beautiful hotel in great location

Lovely hotel, kind and welcoming staff, fabulous location (literally right on top of the train, 20... See full review

  • Ilana S.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Short holiday weekend

Great location!! Right above Peachtree MARTA station (toward Ellis St/the library). We took the the... See full review

  • Newly retirees
  • Oct 16, 2014
Upscale accommodations, a women-only floor and executive amenities
Guests looking for luxury touches find them in spades at The Ellis on Peachtree, an Atlanta institution. The 127-room property is boutique in feel, with modern décor and personalized service. The Ellis on Peachtree is on the National Register of Historic Places, but rooms brim with up-to-date details like limestone floors and walls, espresso bamboo paneling, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and iPod docking stations. A prime address near major downtown spots and a restaurant specializing in sustainable fare build the appeal.

Highlights
  • Terrace Restaurant overlooking Peachtree Street offers sustainable fare
  • Women-only floor with secured entry and upgraded amenities, including comfy slippers
  • Valet and laundry service  
  • Free nightly wine tastings

Rooms

The Ellis on Peachtree has 127 total rooms and suites oozing with urban flavor. Espresso bamboo panels contrast with sleek beds topped in stark white linens and foam or feather pillows, while bathrooms promote luxury with limestone floors and rainfall shower heads. Each room boasts of an iPod docking station, work station and honor bar. Natural lighting provides a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel welcomes dogs weighing no more than 35 pounds with a free doggie gift bag.

Features
Every meal feels like a special occasion at the Terrace Restaurant, where The Ellis on Peachtree guests dine on sustainable fare and savor the views of Peachtree Street below.  The recipes favor traditional Southern fare, made with natural and organic ingredients, while the restaurant supports local farmers and fishermen. The Ellis on Peachtree also hosts a free wine tasting every evening.  

Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Peachtree Center Marta commuter rail station (6 mi/9.6 km)

Attractions
  • Coca-Cola Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • CNN Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Margaret Mitchell Home (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Atlanta Ballet (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with flexible space for up to 75 guests
  • Catering
  • Business center  
Policies and fees
The City of Atlanta is undertaking a Streetcar Project. Due to this, there are road closures in place that may affect access to the hotel. Please follow the directions below during this time.

Directions from Hartsfield Jackson International Airport to the Ellis Hotel (10 miles)

By Car

  • Merge onto I-85 N. Take the Andrew Young Intl.
  • Blvd./GA-10 E exit.
  • Take exit 248C toward Freedom Pkwy/Carter Center.
  • Turn left to take the ramp toward International
  • Blvd/World Congress Center. Ramp becomes Fort St. NE.
  • Turn slight left onto Andrew Young International Blvd. NE.
  • Turn left on Courtland St
  • Turn right on Auburn Ave
  • Turn right on Peachtree St
  • You will see signs for road closure and signs "Ellis Hotel Drop Off/Pick Up Valet Only"
  • The blocked off area is accessible to hotel guests (appropriate signage displayed)

By MARTA train

  • The station is inside the terminal building of Hartsfield Jackson Airport - approximately a 20 minute travel time with 8 stops on the train.
  • If INTERNATIONAL TERMINAL take FREE Shuttle to Domestic Terminal first.
  • Take either line (North Springs or Doraville) Northbound to the Peachtree Center Exit.
  • The Ellis is the Peachtree Center stop.
  • When exiting the MARTA at Peachtree Center, follow signs to Ellis St. which leads right to The Ellis Hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ellis on Peachtree also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Ellis on Peachtree Rooms

King
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Queen
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.1 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • Emory University: 4.6 mi
  • Swan House: 5.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 8.2 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.5 mi

Dining

The Terrace on Peachtree
A contemporary organic and sustainable restaurant that serves breakfast,lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for The Ellis on Peachtree

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim the Traveling Student
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Nov 26, 2013

Great Weekend Stay

Very friendly hotel and valet staff. Parking downtown is hard to find and may not be very safe overnight so valet parking for $25/night is not too shabby. Hotel looks newly renovated and has a modern feel. Rooms are a bit small, but hotel is historic and located on a corner downtown so expected. Good location - about a fifteen minute drive to the airport, ten minutes from midtown and a twenty minute drive to Decatur. Beds are very comfortable. Nice view of downtown. Had trouble working the thermostat, but probably could have asked staff for help. Overall, very good hotel stay. Got a good deal of almost half off per night with hotel sale!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many churches nearby so if wanting to go to mass or service on Sunday, don't need to take car - less than a ten minute walk to many nearby churches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CetM
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Dec 17, 2013

I'll Book Again

Had an issue with my reservation not showing up. After looking at my confirmation email, the first employee booked me using my guaranteed rate. When there was still an issue, a different employee got the necessary information from me and took care of it the next morning at no inconvenience to me. This was done by both employees with the utmost patience and courtesy. Room service staff was pleasant, and the restaurant's medium-rare steak was excellent. When ordering, I asked for some [real] butter on the side. They called back to ask whether I wanted it unopened or melted to make sure I got what I wanted. The location can't be beat. It's less than a two minute walk from a MARTA station and there's plenty to do nearby. Though it's in a historic building, it has modern conveniences, so you get the best of both. Room service was fine and even though the employee present at check out was handling something on the phone, he made sure to ask how I had enjoyed my stay. My guest works in the Atlanta service industry and was impressed. Overall it was a great stay. I enjoyed it so much that I booked it again for my next stay, even though there were cheaper hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Breeze card. The MARTA station is extremely close and can get to you to a number of attractions in short order. There are enough attractions within walking distance that you could go your entire stay staying at the Ellis without needing a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soon to be Rph
Business
Valdosta, Ga
Feb 9, 2014

Good overnight stay

It was a lovely hotel. We were there off an overnight trip. The amenities were nice. The only thing that sucked was the valet. We left our car on the side of the street and he took over thirty minutes to pull it up 5 feet. The valet guy wax always on his phone and never seemed to be eager to get the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handsome Jack
Business
Birmingham, AL
Mar 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

Very nice hotel. The room was small but well equipped. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Echotech
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Mar 31, 2014

Great weekend in the city

The check-in process is fantastic. Could not be a better location for a weekend in the city. The only thing I could recommend is more parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cyndig528
Business
Murrells Inlet, SC
May 31, 2014

Perfect

Never been to Atlanta. The hotel was in the perfect downtown location, close to the Passport office. They let us keep our car in valet for the day, even after we checked out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill23
Business
Sant cruz ca
Jun 8, 2014

Downtown gem

Staff could be slightly more attentive but pretty perfect in every other way. Love the curling and flat irons in the room! Just do the valet parking; tried to save money by using a nearby garage and they tried to charge $32 even though we arrived at 2am and left before noon. Apparently their day starts at 6am so we got charged for 2 days...hotel valet is $25!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

See parking note in rebire

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VisitorB
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 9, 2014

Good place to sleep

The linens were nice and the bathroom was clean. A/C works very well and the drapes make the room perfectly dark for sleeping. Parking is troubling in any big city and this is no exception. You can pay for one of the three valet spots outside the hotel ($25) or park in the garage for about the same price as valet with tip (~$32 overnight) . The coffee maker filled one mug completely and left the other halfway, but it wasn't a big concern. The staff was professional, kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Find one of the Ambassadors riding bicycles around the park areas for help. One came up to us and gave us VERY helpful information about getting around safely. A true bonus for the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Apr 24, 2010

good value for single travelers

In town for a conference, chose the Ellis because it was a better deal than the Hyatt Regency. The hotel is very trendy. Very modern styling in rooms and restaurant/bar. The rooms were a bit small, but still a good value. The afternoon (free) wine tasting was a very nice touch. I got charged two prices for the same kind of beer at the bar on different nights. Also, I was charged $1 for a toothbrush at the front desk. As a result, I felt a little "nickel-and-dimed" for a boutique hotel. All in all, I may not stay there again because of the small rooms, but that is only because I'll likely be traveling with family next time. The street noise was a little annoying, but I'm not sure other hotels would be better. Good value for single travelers looking for hip accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 16, 2010

great bargain for location & super staff

We went to Atlanta for our grandson's graduation. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were able to walk to the graduation as well as through Olympic park.We cannot say enough for the friendly, supportive staff. We certainly would recommend the hotel and will once again stay there when we return to Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to the Georgia Dome but not only good excercise, but did not have to fight the heavy traffic headed to the graduation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top