The Ellis on Peachtree

4 stars
176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Short holiday weekend

Great location!! Right above Peachtree MARTA station (toward Ellis St/the library). We took the the... See full review

  • Newly retirees
  • Oct 16, 2014
Urban chic stay

Very pleasant, enjoyed the walk ability of this location to eateries, Centennial Park and other... See full review

  • Karen loves her kids
  • Aug 25, 2014
Upscale accommodations, a women-only floor and executive amenities
Guests looking for luxury touches find them in spades at The Ellis on Peachtree, an Atlanta institution. The 127-room property is boutique in feel, with modern d├ęcor and personalized service. The Ellis on Peachtree is on the National Register of Historic Places, but rooms brim with up-to-date details like limestone floors and walls, espresso bamboo paneling, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and iPod docking stations. A prime address near major downtown spots and a restaurant specializing in sustainable fare build the appeal.

Highlights
  • Terrace Restaurant overlooking Peachtree Street offers sustainable fare
  • Women-only floor with secured entry and upgraded amenities, including comfy slippers
  • Valet and laundry service  
  • Free nightly wine tastings

Rooms

The Ellis on Peachtree has 127 total rooms and suites oozing with urban flavor. Espresso bamboo panels contrast with sleek beds topped in stark white linens and foam or feather pillows, while bathrooms promote luxury with limestone floors and rainfall shower heads. Each room boasts of an iPod docking station, work station and honor bar. Natural lighting provides a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel welcomes dogs weighing no more than 35 pounds with a free doggie gift bag.

Features
Every meal feels like a special occasion at the Terrace Restaurant, where The Ellis on Peachtree guests dine on sustainable fare and savor the views of Peachtree Street below.  The recipes favor traditional Southern fare, made with natural and organic ingredients, while the restaurant supports local farmers and fishermen. The Ellis on Peachtree also hosts a free wine tasting every evening.  

Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Peachtree Center Marta commuter rail station (6 mi/9.6 km)

Attractions
  • Coca-Cola Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • CNN Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Margaret Mitchell Home (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Atlanta Ballet (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with flexible space for up to 75 guests
  • Catering
  • Business center  
Policies and fees
The City of Atlanta is undertaking a Streetcar Project. Due to this, there are road closures in place that may affect access to the hotel. Please follow the directions below during this time.

Directions from Hartsfield Jackson International Airport to the Ellis Hotel (10 miles)

By Car

  • Merge onto I-85 N. Take the Andrew Young Intl.
  • Blvd./GA-10 E exit.
  • Take exit 248C toward Freedom Pkwy/Carter Center.
  • Turn left to take the ramp toward International
  • Blvd/World Congress Center. Ramp becomes Fort St. NE.
  • Turn slight left onto Andrew Young International Blvd. NE.
  • Turn left on Courtland St
  • Turn right on Auburn Ave
  • Turn right on Peachtree St
  • You will see signs for road closure and signs "Ellis Hotel Drop Off/Pick Up Valet Only"
  • The blocked off area is accessible to hotel guests (appropriate signage displayed)

By MARTA train

  • The station is inside the terminal building of Hartsfield Jackson Airport - approximately a 20 minute travel time with 8 stops on the train.
  • If INTERNATIONAL TERMINAL take FREE Shuttle to Domestic Terminal first.
  • Take either line (North Springs or Doraville) Northbound to the Peachtree Center Exit.
  • The Ellis is the Peachtree Center stop.
  • When exiting the MARTA at Peachtree Center, follow signs to Ellis St. which leads right to The Ellis Hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Ellis on Peachtree Rooms

King
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Queen
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.7582 -84.3876
Area served
Our hotel is within walking distance to most of the downtown attractions.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield Jackson International Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.1 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • Emory University: 4.6 mi
  • Swan House: 5.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 8.2 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.5 mi

Dining

The Terrace on Peachtree
A contemporary organic and sustainable restaurant that serves breakfast,lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for The Ellis on Peachtree

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 17, 2010

Wonderful stay

Such friendly staff, immaculate rooms. Super-convenient location for MARTA (less than 30 minutes to the airport). The bar is good too, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 16, 2010

great bargain for location & super staff

We went to Atlanta for our grandson's graduation. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were able to walk to the graduation as well as through Olympic park.We cannot say enough for the friendly, supportive staff. We certainly would recommend the hotel and will once again stay there when we return to Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to the Georgia Dome but not only good excercise, but did not have to fight the heavy traffic headed to the graduation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 6, 2010

Decent Hotel

The hotel and room modern aesthetic was nicely done. Although the room is slightly smaller than I'm used to, it was acceptable. Street noise can be heard at times in the room. Shower is a bit too cramped for me. Toilet paper is cheap - single ply and rough. You would think that they would use better quality. The room does not have a mini ref. Make sure you check the mini bar as ours wasn't fully stocked when we checked in. Otherwise, you may get charged for it. The hotel also charges your credit card with $50/day for incidental charges and would later reverse it upon check out. I've travelled a lot but haven't come across this policy at any hotels I've stayed. I don't necessarily agree with this policy. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Access to the MARTA is convenient (right across the street) - so transfers between airport/hotel is a breeze. Didn't find any great restaurants around the area close to the hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tietonee
Business
Tennessee
May 2, 2010

Not bad

Room was smaller than what I expected... Also I booked a king bed and got put in a queen. When i asked why this happended I was told they will be glad to refund my money but would not give me a dicount for the inconvience. I also had to pay $21 a night for parking which I thought was insane... I would not stay here again less it was just an amazing deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a great outdoor mall that was super fun...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geekjenn
Business
Austin, Texas
May 2, 2010

Great Location, Nice / Clean Rooms

This hotel was in an excellent location. It's in walking distance to the Tabernacle and lots of restaurants. The staff was very helpful with directions and other requests. The room was very nice and clean. However the traffic noise made it a little tough to fall asleep. Overall a really nice place to stay in the middle of downtown Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the Tabernacle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Apr 24, 2010

good value for single travelers

In town for a conference, chose the Ellis because it was a better deal than the Hyatt Regency. The hotel is very trendy. Very modern styling in rooms and restaurant/bar. The rooms were a bit small, but still a good value. The afternoon (free) wine tasting was a very nice touch. I got charged two prices for the same kind of beer at the bar on different nights. Also, I was charged $1 for a toothbrush at the front desk. As a result, I felt a little "nickel-and-dimed" for a boutique hotel. All in all, I may not stay there again because of the small rooms, but that is only because I'll likely be traveling with family next time. The street noise was a little annoying, but I'm not sure other hotels would be better. Good value for single travelers looking for hip accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Apr 21, 2010

Comfiest Bed Ever!

Went to Atlanta to visit friends. Wanted to stay in a boutique hotel. Room was cozy. The best part was the bed. So comfortable it was hard to get up and get going. And great water pressure in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Penfield, New York
Apr 18, 2010

The staff was top notch, but.....

This had to be the "coziest" hotel I've ever stayed in. The lobby, hallways, rooms, and fitness center all felt claustrophobic. Our room didn't even have a closet. Instead, we had a 2 ft. wide armoire to hang our clothes in & a tv stand that had 3 small drawers for the remainder of our belongings. There wasn't a place to store luggage out of the way and anything we bought ended up piled on the windowsill or the desk, leaving the room feeling cramped & cluttered;not the restful place you want to return to after a long day. The Ellis is central to many restaurants, the MARTA, and about a 15 to 20 min. walk to Centennial Park (which is beautiful), CNN and the GA Dome. The neighborhood around the Ellis is fine during the day, but gets very loud at night. Between deafening sirens and music blaring from the cars below on Peachtree, falling asleep was a challenge. Not to mention the very loud A/C unit which was located in the ceiling, directly above the head of the bed. Given the number of hotels in the area, I would definately choose another next time. However, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how impressed we were with the entire staff. There was always someone available to give directions, make suggestions, hail a cab and even share a joke. They were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unlike most large cities that have a drugstore/pharmacy on every block, we didn't see a single one. There were several souvenir shops around that also sold items such as aspirin, water, etc...but be prepared to pay. I would recommend packing with this in mind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Apr 6, 2010

Too Small for Comfort

Cons: Arrived at hotel only to find that all streets around hotel were under construction. Then we check in and go to our rooms to find a nice letter fro. The hotel manager to let us know that the building ac unit is not working. Didn't supply fans or anything. Room was always over 80 degrees. Also, hotel food was awful. Pros: very elegant design, nice modern fixtures overall clean facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try hotel food. Go to hard rock cafe. They have take out service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, oh
Mar 23, 2010

Great experience

Good hotel overall, I went to a conference for 4 days and I had no problems at the hotel. I did not try their food so I can't comment on that. Rooms are clean decoration is trendy, it has free Internet access and the loction if the hotel is great.the only ba comment I have is that I would have liked my room temp colder and they where not able to help me with that, but it wasntt that bad the room temp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top