$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Ellis on Peachtree

4 stars
176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Nice hotel

Nice hotel. Great location in downtown ATL. Right by bar and restaurant and also the metro See full review

  • Amaury A
  • Jul 29, 2014
Awesome Birthday

The hotel was wonderful and so was Nicole and the valet driver. Thank you from the Smiths See full review

  • Monique Smith
  • Jul 21, 2014
Upscale accommodations, a women-only floor and executive amenities
Guests looking for luxury touches find them in spades at The Ellis on Peachtree, an Atlanta institution. The 127-room property is boutique in feel, with modern décor and personalized service. The Ellis on Peachtree is on the National Register of Historic Places, but rooms brim with up-to-date details like limestone floors and walls, espresso bamboo paneling, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and iPod docking stations. A prime address near major downtown spots and a restaurant specializing in sustainable fare build the appeal.

Highlights
  • Terrace Restaurant overlooking Peachtree Street offers sustainable fare
  • Women-only floor with secured entry and upgraded amenities, including comfy slippers
  • Valet and laundry service  
  • Free nightly wine tastings

Rooms

The Ellis on Peachtree has 127 total rooms and suites oozing with urban flavor. Espresso bamboo panels contrast with sleek beds topped in stark white linens and foam or feather pillows, while bathrooms promote luxury with limestone floors and rainfall shower heads. Each room boasts of an iPod docking station, work station and honor bar. Natural lighting provides a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel welcomes dogs weighing no more than 35 pounds with a free doggie gift bag.

Features
Every meal feels like a special occasion at the Terrace Restaurant, where The Ellis on Peachtree guests dine on sustainable fare and savor the views of Peachtree Street below.  The recipes favor traditional Southern fare, made with natural and organic ingredients, while the restaurant supports local farmers and fishermen. The Ellis on Peachtree also hosts a free wine tasting every evening.  

Transportation
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Peachtree Center Marta commuter rail station (6 mi/9.6 km)

Attractions
  • Coca-Cola Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • CNN Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Margaret Mitchell Home (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Atlanta Ballet (2 mi/3.2 km)

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with flexible space for up to 75 guests
  • Catering
  • Business center  
Policies and fees
The City of Atlanta is undertaking a Streetcar Project. Due to this, there are road closures in place that may affect access to the hotel. Please follow the directions below during this time.

Directions from Hartsfield Jackson International Airport to the Ellis Hotel (10 miles)

By Car

  • Merge onto I-85 N. Take the Andrew Young Intl.
  • Blvd./GA-10 E exit.
  • Take exit 248C toward Freedom Pkwy/Carter Center.
  • Turn left to take the ramp toward International
  • Blvd/World Congress Center. Ramp becomes Fort St. NE.
  • Turn slight left onto Andrew Young International Blvd. NE.
  • Turn left on Courtland St
  • Turn right on Auburn Ave
  • Turn right on Peachtree St
  • You will see signs for road closure and signs "Ellis Hotel Drop Off/Pick Up Valet Only"
  • The blocked off area is accessible to hotel guests (appropriate signage displayed)

By MARTA train

  • The station is inside the terminal building of Hartsfield Jackson Airport - approximately a 20 minute travel time with 8 stops on the train.
  • If INTERNATIONAL TERMINAL take FREE Shuttle to Domestic Terminal first.
  • Take either line (North Springs or Doraville) Northbound to the Peachtree Center Exit.
  • The Ellis is the Peachtree Center stop.
  • When exiting the MARTA at Peachtree Center, follow signs to Ellis St. which leads right to The Ellis Hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7582 -84.3876
Area served
Our hotel is within walking distance to most of the downtown attractions.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield Jackson International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ellis on Peachtree also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Ellis on Peachtree Rooms

King
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Queen
Guestrooms at The Ellis on Peachtree feature beds with pillowtop mattresses; pillow menus offer guests a choice of feather, foam, hypoallergenic, and Tempurpedic pillows. Our rooms offer a warm and inviting contemporary decor. The 32-inch LCD TVs come with pay movies and premium cable channels. Wired Internet access and daily newspapers are complimentary. Clock radios include MP3 docking stations. Guestrooms also provide coffeemakers, hair dryers, and bathrobes. Bathrooms have showers only; complimentary toiletries are furnished by Molton Brown. All rooms are nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.5 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.6 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.8 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 0.9 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 1 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 1 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.6 mi
  • Turner Field: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.9 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 1.9 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 2.1 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.3 mi
  • Emory University: 4.6 mi
  • Swan House: 5.7 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.8 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.7 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 8.2 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.5 mi

Dining

The Terrace on Peachtree
A contemporary organic and sustainable restaurant that serves breakfast,lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for The Ellis on Peachtree

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jun 17, 2010

a great oasis in the heart of ATL

Great staff the most friendly and hospitable I've ever experienced at a hotel. Wine tasting every night was superb with full glasses of the beverage. Restaurant on site served a tasty and fresh lunch. Excellent location convenient to all of the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant across the street on Peachtree St. at the Ritz Carlton.

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asheville's Golden Girls
Asheville, NC
Jun 9, 2010

Great find!

Beautifully appointed room, very friendly staff, very nice restaurant... Could not have been better! The staff was very attentive to our needs and requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta shopper and diner
Albany, Georgia
Jun 7, 2010

Great location

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and found the staff to be professional, the rooms to be very comfortable, and the location to be wonderful. I read reviews that criticized the room sizes, the street noise and unfriendly staff. I worried about whether to book the room or not. We were very pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are smaller, but very nice and it did not seem to make any difference. We slept like logs and never heard any traffic. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen
Not Provided
May 17, 2010

The room was small and dark, looking

The room was small and dark, looking on to a narrow laneway. It was well furnished but there was nowhere to sit and watch TV except the bed... The hotel air-conditioning system works in two modes - chill only or heat only. On the day I arrived, mid-May, it was unseasonably cold. Since the hotel air-con was already switched to chill-only mode my room was freezing (66 degrees on the dial but possibly colder) and could not be warmed up for the duration of my stay. It left me with a headcold for over a week. The food was excellent, but disorganised - individual menus were missing and room service was hit and miss. Staff were, mostly, very friendly and service was generally excellent. Don't risk this hotel in Spring and Fall... Unseasonably hot weather or unseasonably cold weather will result in a very uncomfortable stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 17, 2010

Wonderful stay

Such friendly staff, immaculate rooms. Super-convenient location for MARTA (less than 30 minutes to the airport). The bar is good too, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
May 16, 2010

great bargain for location & super staff

We went to Atlanta for our grandson's graduation. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were able to walk to the graduation as well as through Olympic park.We cannot say enough for the friendly, supportive staff. We certainly would recommend the hotel and will once again stay there when we return to Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to the Georgia Dome but not only good excercise, but did not have to fight the heavy traffic headed to the graduation.

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
May 6, 2010

Decent Hotel

The hotel and room modern aesthetic was nicely done. Although the room is slightly smaller than I'm used to, it was acceptable. Street noise can be heard at times in the room. Shower is a bit too cramped for me. Toilet paper is cheap - single ply and rough. You would think that they would use better quality. The room does not have a mini ref. Make sure you check the mini bar as ours wasn't fully stocked when we checked in. Otherwise, you may get charged for it. The hotel also charges your credit card with $50/day for incidental charges and would later reverse it upon check out. I've travelled a lot but haven't come across this policy at any hotels I've stayed. I don't necessarily agree with this policy. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Access to the MARTA is convenient (right across the street) - so transfers between airport/hotel is a breeze. Didn't find any great restaurants around the area close to the hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tietonee
Tennessee
May 2, 2010

Not bad

Room was smaller than what I expected... Also I booked a king bed and got put in a queen. When i asked why this happended I was told they will be glad to refund my money but would not give me a dicount for the inconvience. I also had to pay $21 a night for parking which I thought was insane... I would not stay here again less it was just an amazing deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a great outdoor mall that was super fun...

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geekjenn
Austin, Texas
May 2, 2010

Great Location, Nice / Clean Rooms

This hotel was in an excellent location. It's in walking distance to the Tabernacle and lots of restaurants. The staff was very helpful with directions and other requests. The room was very nice and clean. However the traffic noise made it a little tough to fall asleep. Overall a really nice place to stay in the middle of downtown Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the Tabernacle

Review of The Ellis on Peachtree

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sc
Apr 24, 2010

good value for single travelers

In town for a conference, chose the Ellis because it was a better deal than the Hyatt Regency. The hotel is very trendy. Very modern styling in rooms and restaurant/bar. The rooms were a bit small, but still a good value. The afternoon (free) wine tasting was a very nice touch. I got charged two prices for the same kind of beer at the bar on different nights. Also, I was charged $1 for a toothbrush at the front desk. As a result, I felt a little "nickel-and-dimed" for a boutique hotel. All in all, I may not stay there again because of the small rooms, but that is only because I'll likely be traveling with family next time. The street noise was a little annoying, but I'm not sure other hotels would be better. Good value for single travelers looking for hip accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search