Melia Atlanta

4 stars
590 West Peachtree Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
363 reviews
Excellent city friendly spot for first-time visitor

Located minutes from most attractions....beautiful view See full review

  • Porchia
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great business trip

Had a very good experience and recommend this hotel to others with business interests in the heart... See full review

  • Gary 2014
  • Jun 13, 2014
Luxury rooms and panoramic views in the heart of Atlanta

A gorgeous hotel located on the edge of midtown and downtown, Melia puts the very best of Atlanta at your fingertips. The first U.S. hotel from the Spanish-based Melia chain offers stunning views of Atlanta's skyline and sleek, comfortable accommodations. Here, business visitors and families savor the Melia Atlanta Grille, seasonal pool, and sports bar before reclining at night in their choice of luxury accommodations. College sports fans can take in a Yellow Jackets game at nearby Georgia Tech. The nearby MARTA rail is an easy way for guests to explore Atlanta's attractions, including the High Museum of Art, Hammonds House Galleries, Georgia Aquarium and Georgia Dome.

Reasons to stay
  • Excellent location between midtown and downtown.
  • Steps away from Georgia Tech
  • 31,000 square feet of business meeting space
Melia Atlanta rooms

Melia Atlanta offers five tiers of rooms: Standard, Deluxe, Level, Skyline, Executive and Sono. Warmly decorated with generous space, rooms offer variations of double and king beds, pools and balconies respectively. Fitted with climate control and home-style amenities, each room comes with satellite, cable, web-TV and Wi-Fi (fees may apply).

Things to do nearby
  • Bank of America Plaza (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Georgia World Congress Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Central Park Recreation Center and Phillips Arena (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • High Museum of Art (2.5 mi/4 km
  • Turner Field (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Melia Atlanta Rooms

Concierge floor - Double
The Level Room treat your self at The Level, located on the two top floors of the hotel, these rooms have an exclusive access through a keyed elevator. The benefits of the The Level includes a private entree to the Club Lounge where a personal concierge service is available. Private Lounge featuring evening open bar and hors d'oeuvres plus express check-in and check-out and complimentary continental breakfast.
Concierge floor - King
The Level Room treat your self at The Level, located on the two top floors of the hotel, these rooms have an exclusive access through a keyed elevator. The benefits of the The Level includes a private entree to the Club Lounge where a personal concierge service is available. Private Lounge featuring evening open bar and hors d'oeuvres plus express check-in and check-out and complimentary continental breakfast.
Executive Junior Suite
The Play Room. Enjoy your private pool in the heart of Sono. This room is the best kept secret of this hotel. Enjoy like a rock star your experience in Atlanta. This extra large rooms feature one king bed and plenty of indoor and outdoor space. The level rooms package all the benefits of The Level, including among others Flat screen TV's, private concierge, evening open bar and hors d'oeuvres plus express check-in and check-out and complimentary continental breakfast.
Premium Room - King or Double
The Room. Eficiency and elegance with amenities for the Business and leisure traveler. Our hotel rooms at Melia Atlanta boast a comfortable ambiance featuring one King Bed or Double Bed. Accommodations offer new pillow-top mattresses, down comforter bedding and plenty space for work or just relax.
Clasic Room
The Petite Room. Wrap yourself in the welcoming warmth of our confortable and bright rooms featuring one full size bed and plenty of working space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Atlanta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7704 -84.3876
Area served
Midtown Atlanta
Nearby airports
ATL 12-miles
Area description
Conveniently located Atlanta hotel near top attractions, such as the Fox Theatre, Georgia Aquarium, World of Coca Cola, and the High Museum of Art. Near Georgia Tech
This modern high-rise near the central business district is a block from a MARTA station, a half-mile from Georgia Tech and the CNN Center, and a mile from Centennial Olympic Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Fox Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.7 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.2 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.3 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.7 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Philips Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 1.2 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.3 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.3 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Carter Center: 1.9 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.1 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 2.3 mi
  • Turner Field: 2.4 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.7 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.1 mi
  • Emory University: 4.2 mi
  • Swan House: 4.8 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 4.9 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.2 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 6.8 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.4 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 22.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
21 meeting rooms
31,000 sq ft of total meeting space
Largest meeting room is Georgia Ballroom with maximum meeting space of 6,120 sq ft and maximum seating capacity of 700
Maximum of 16 breakout meeting room(s)

Dining

The Sports Bar
Casual Sports Bar Themed restaurant in downtown Atlanta serves up traditional American for lunch and Dinner. Food Menu features tradiitonal american cuisine with a oppurtunity to view your favorite sports and events.
Lobby Bar
Discover a quaint Atlanta restaurant coffee bar proudly brewing Starbucks Coffee and serving fresh pastries for guest to enjoy for breakfast and lunch.
The grille at 590
Casual restaurant in downtown Atlanta serves up traditional American dishes for breakfast and lunch. Dinner features sophisticated cuisine with a southern flair and an extensive wine list for a truly upscale dining experience.
Ashley's
Cool and contemporary downtown Atlanta restaurant serving hand-crafted cocktails in an inviting setting with a midweek happy hour and lively jazz performances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (363)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Atlanta

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 363
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slim Goody
Atlanta, Georgia
Dec 13, 2013

Not like Photos

I visited a friend staying here back in August and was very surprised at the look of the room. It look outdated from the bed to the tv. Nothing like the photographs. I don't know if they were renovating the rooms, but the only thing nice was the view. The only thing that was updated was the sink area and the very small bathroom, which had a lack of towels, and they were thin and cheap looking. The room didn't have a mini fridge or microwave.The parking deck is located a block from the hotel and has a sky walk to the actual hotel. The hallways look old and worn. The lobby area looked nice, but synthetic, as if trying too hard to look posh. Wasn't impressed. I would not stay here on my own accord.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincy Girl
Brooklyn, New York
Jul 3, 2013

One Night was great

This hotel was very comfortable and affordable. The staff was welcoming and satisfied all my requests, even when I asked for a bowl of popcorn for my 4 year old. Dinner was wonderful too and I am usually very skeptical of hotel food. When I return to Atlanta, I would certainly spend more than one night at Melia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DeVone
Atlanta, GA
Jun 24, 2013

Unpleasantly Surprised

Let me start by saying that I am a consistent Melia Brand customer. I was first introduced to the Melia hotel chain when I stayed at the “ME” hotel in Cancun, and I was simply AMAZED!!! They set such a high standard with service, cleanliness, and overall customer service. Since then, every property that I have lodged with after that stay was definitely along those same lines of excellence. That is until my most recent stay at the Melia Atlanta location. Given my previous experience with Melia brands, I didn’t mind paying the above average cost to lodge at the Atlanta location, considering what I thought I was getting. Let me now say these four words however; DO NOT STAY HERE. First off, anyone who knows Atlanta, knows that the standard cost of Valet parking in downtown Atlanta is between $20-$25/night. This fee usually is accompanied by a competent staff, quick and adequate service, and an overall pleasant experience. The Melia however charges $30/night, and the service is below average. The workers clearly have only been doing valet for a short period of time seeing as how they do not understand the concept of directing traffic and moving vehicles expeditiously. They are also sometimes adequately staffed and quick, and other times they were understaffed (during peek times no less) and horrible. I will however state, that although the inconsistency was certainly an irritant, they were very sociable and helpful with regard to information. Now we move on to the rooms. First of all, this location was formally the Renaissance Hotel. When walking to our room, we noticed that the insignias that said Melia on each room were simply stickers covering up the signature “R” from the Renaissance (VERY TACKY). Then when we entered the room, to our surprise the room was extremely outdated and unclean. This included but was not restricted to headboards that were smaller than the beds themselves, dingy wall paper, bad molded tile in the bathroom, dead insects on the walls, stains in the sheets on the bed, a permanent stain in the toilet bowl and seat, what resembled a big towel used as a shower curtain (which was also dirty), and last but not least, a gosh darn TUBE TELEVISION. Now these amenities would not have been a big deal if this hotel was not stated as a 4 Star location, however that truth along with the fact that they have owned this hotel for over two years, and have not made any reservations to any rooms other than the VIP rooms was all very upsetting to me. To make matters worse, there were cobb-webs on the balcony window everywhere denoting how the house keeping staff does not truly clean rooms thoroughly, the carpet in both the rooms and hallways were extremely dirty, the telephone had more static than my sweatpants that I dried yesterday without a fabric softener sheet, and most upsetting of all was the housekeeping staff, who entered our room twice without knocking because they “Thought we were gone for the day”!!! So in conclusion, this hotel is not the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but it is definitely not a 4-Star by any means. Though they were negligent in many ways, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and I did speak with HR about my issues, and they were very understanding, but unable to do much. I can honestly say that until some SERIOUS changes are made here, I will be recommending to all of my friends and associates to never lodge here unless there is some crazy good deal going on. And even then, no one should come in with high expectations to this particular location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M D M
Melia Atlanta
May 30, 2013

Family

The staff here is amazing. Very friendly, and accommodating. Will stay here next time I'm in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
obraun250r
Atlanta
Feb 25, 2013

Atlanta Supercross at the GA-Dome

My son and I drive to Atlanta every year to attend the annual AMA Supercross race at the Dome. The Melia is with in walking distance of the Dome, in fact from our window we could see it. It is right next to an i75 ramp so it is a breeze to get in and out. If you are not into walking the MARTA is only a block away and will take you right to the Dome as well. The breakfast was delicious and priced at $12.50 I believe a great value. They had a great variety of foods from healthy and light to heavy and fattening so you're the master of you destiny. The traffice is quite audible at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gerogia Dome, Phillips Arena, GA-Aquarium, World of Coca Cola.

Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trackways in motion
Tampa
Dec 19, 2012

Staff is great,

The service was great. Did not like the linens, no bed comforter. Bathrooms outdated.Hotel outlets very nice and service oustanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Pappadeux restaurant

Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Braves
Lorain, Ohio
Oct 2, 2012

Great Hotel and Location, Employees Could Be Better

When I arrived, I parked my car at the valet area and no employee came. I had to walk to the valet parking room and they asked if I wanted valet. One of them was texting and the other was talking to the "texter". Obviosusly I asked for self-service parking. When I reached my car, another car was left there blocking the exit... The other car was waiting for valet. The "texter" was supposed to move the car. I had to call him because he was too occupied with his text conversation and didn't noticed the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is awesome!

Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WMurphy
Greenwood, IN
Sep 26, 2012

Avoid at all costs!

Pictures shown on the website must be from 10 years ago. Parking rules were stupid and over-complicated and self park was in a place I would not feel secure leaving my vehicle. Lobby was dark, REALLY dark, I am guessing now it was to hide the filth and disrepair of the place. A couple of drunks stumbled in to the lobby and were causing a fuss and none of the staff hanging around did a thing! After taking forever to check us in, we finally got to our first room. First thing I noticed was no cot and no fridge in the room (I had called FOUR times during the two weeks prior to our trip to confirm we would have both), plus a TV that looked like a 1980's garage sale leftover. Garbage overflowing the cans, bathroom filthy and moldy, room hot and humid. Turned on the a/c and the room started to stink of mold and something burning. Closer look at the a/c unit showed it was covered with mold and mildew! I'm not talking a little mold, I'm talking more mold than metal was visible. Moldy spots on the walls and carpet. Down to the desk to complain, sent back with keys to a second room. Moved all our stuff to find a repeat of the first, with additional mold on the a/c unit, hair on the bed (eww!) but no garbage in the cans (an improvement!). Sent my husband down this time, he then toured FOUR MORE ROOMS, on three different floors, with the assistant manager. Each one was just as gross, dirty, disgusting, out-dated, filthy, moldy (on the walls, ceiling, bathroom shower, a/c units (yes, mold on all of them!, and nasty as the last. Ripped carpeting in several of the hallways was patched with duct tape! Dim lighting in the halls, heck, the whole hotel was as dark as a dungeon, again, most likely to hide the filth and disrepair of the place. After sitting in room the room for an hour, while waiting for my husband and the assistant manager to unsuccessfully find a clean room, my daughter and I were wheezing and coughing from the over-powering mold stench. We finally gave up and thankfully left. Avoid this place, even if you have to sleep in your car.....it would be cleaner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kasey G
Columbia, South Carolina
Aug 30, 2012

Not what I wanted.

I was given a room on the 22nd floor. Although it had a nice view, it was very uncomfortable throughout the night because it was so humid and we had pretty constricted sinuses the next day. I was told by the reservation person that the hotel was within a block or two of the site we wanted to visit which wasn't the truth. The staff was nice but we were given conflicting directions on how to get to the Atlanta Aquarium. We ended up paying for Marta transportation cards (that we did not know how to use). We got back to the hotel by cab. I would have rated the experience higher had it not been for the inconvenience of getting to the Atlanta aquarian and if the first reservation I made the Omni CNN hotel had not somehow not been reserved for me prior to this one. It was much closer to the Atlanta Aquarium. But for some reason, this site got some glitch and when I called the following day, I was told there were no more rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Melia Atlanta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr.Sun
Miami,FL
May 25, 2012

internet is bad

the internet is very very slowly! and the hotel have not free parking. and the breakfest have no vegetabe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top