Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

2 stars
1050 Ultimate Drive, Athens, GA 30606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
15 reviews
Excellent affordable stay

This is my second time staying here. It is a fantastic hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful,... See full review

  • Bruce man...batwayne...
  • Jun 10, 2013
Ok, but could be better

We spent the night at MicroTel in Athens, GA. It was ok, could have been better. The smoking room... See full review

  • reverett
  • Jul 28, 2012
Welcome to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens, an Athens hotel near the University of Georgia. Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens hotel is ideally located within five miles of area attractions and businesses like the University of Georgia, Medical Center of Central Georgia, the State Botanical Garden of Georgia, the Navy Supply Corps School and the Georgia Museum of Art. This Athens, GA hotel is conveniently located just minutes from Oconee Forest Park and the Sandy Creek Nature Center. Athens Ben Epps Airport is only five miles away. Visitors will enjoy several golf courses and tennis courts located in the area. The hotel is also near a variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges. This Athens, GA hotel features amenities such as a free continental breakfast, free weekday newspaper, free WIFI and free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S. For your needs away from home we also feature a guest laundry. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center, access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. We are a pet friendly facility with a $25 fee. Contact the property directly to book a pet friendly guestroom.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

33.9445 -83.4416
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Stegeman Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Sanford Stadium: 3.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Overall score

2.5 / 5
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Florida
May 11, 2009

Not Staying There Again

The rooms have a cheap pressboard desk area and a closet which is a pressboard box attached to the wall. The rooms had a very damp feel to them so I could not wait to get out of there! We stayed there for our sons graduation and we could NOT find rooms in any other hotels. I was embarassed to tell my parents (they stayed there also) how much I paid for the rooms. If we had not paid for the room in advance we would have gone somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
townmayo11
Bainbridge, GA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Horrible experience!!

I booked two non-smoking rooms and received smoking rooms! I am allergic to smoke. I had to throw away my suitcase. I had to wash everything I took regardless if it was worn or not. My room had no blow dryer. The blow dryer in the other room caught on fire when we plugged it in. Really nice stay, don't you think!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
queeny87
columbus,ga
Apr 22, 2013

Never Again

Staff unorganized....room was still dirty.. Bed was made but the trash was still in there and there was coffee all over the table in the room. Hair in the sheets... Oh YEAHTHE HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE AN ELEVATOR. Then the breakfast was awful.. The juice was watered down. Just nasty!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Western North Carolina
Feb 4, 2010

Microtel Inn of Athens

While I choose this hotel due to cost to visit my grand daughter, I was appalled at the disrepair in the room we stayed in. Broken mirror, broken desk area, broken door that someone has tried to fix, holes in the bathroom wall and a leak in the shower under the tub that has severely weakened the floor! Nasty on top of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
Ed R
Akron, Ohio
May 13, 2013

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!! NEED A RATING LOWER THAN 1 STAR!!!

To start with, my request for a disabled access room was ignored. The desk clerk (I believe the GM) was rude and seemed put out that my parents needed to be on the first floor. He said he would "see what he could do" and asked for a few hours. When we returned to the hotel, there was still no room on the ground floor. He also said a refund was not possible, because you "had my money". When I said I would call you, he sighed disgustedly and and found what he called a room. The room had NO SMOKE DETECTOR/FIRE ALARM. Bare wires where it should have been sticking through the ceiling. The water to the toilet was turned off. No towels. Oh, and an industrial fan in the room due to the wet carpet. He said it was because it was recently shampooed, but the stains on the rug said otherwise. The next morning he said he had a better room, but this one was had one bed, not the two that I PAID FOR IN ADVANCE!! He did offer a roll away bed, but at 11:30 that evening, it had still not been put in the room. When we asked about it, we received the same irritated attitude from him, as if we were inconveniencing him. The only saving grace was that we did not book a longer stay! I would NEVER NEVER EVER recommend this DUMP to ANYONE!!! By the way, how do I get a refund for the difference in the room rates?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Douglasville, GA
May 1, 2011

Worst Microtel ever

The first clue is "If you have to ask for the sheets to be changed because they are dirty" there is a problem... Smelly, dirty room...worst Microtel I've seen.... Def not a 2 star hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

2
roxynova
West Chester, PA
May 2, 2013

Subpar

Upon arriving after 3pm (check-in time), we were told the room was not ready. Then they somehow came up with a room, but it was not that great (smelled dingy, had a random lazyboy chair in it). Dogs barking two doors down and hallway door propped open all day (not safe). Front desk staff didn't seem to care. Stains on sheets, and breakfast was nothing to be desired (unless you like whole milk on your cereal). Wouldn't go back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Beaumont, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Good Price

We were there for a Wedding. The Hotel was very close by and worked for all the guests who came from out of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

3
Mountain Man Curt
North Carolina
Oct 9, 2009

Nice overnighter

Our stay was nice and we would stay again next time we are in Athens, GA. The room was clean, although it was obvious it had received some wear and could use some freshening up with paint. The amenities of the room and hotel were more than adequate for our needs. The morning coffee was great and fresh. There was a nice variety of items in the continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A variety of dining and some shopping options were a short drive away on the same main road the hotel was located on.

Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Athens

Reviewer score

3
Want Whatibook
Hazlehurst,GA
Sep 1, 2009

Good value for a weekend stay.

Good room for the price, clean. Lots of dining options in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining choices along Atlanta Highway,

Back to menu Return to top