$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Athens

2 stars
2465 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Best Value in Athens

This was first time here. I got to say it was more than I expected. Nice clean room, flat screen... See full review

  • Wreddboy
  • Jul 2, 2014
Good value for a nigh stay

Good value for a night's stay, or two. Not a family vacation place. Usually check in late and head... See full review

  • ManiGA
  • Apr 2, 2014
Book an exciting family trip to this Howard Johnson Inn Athens near the University of Georgia, the rare double-barreled Civil War cannon at City Hall, the State Botanical Garden of Georgia, kayak rides across Lake Chapman at Sandy Creek Park, and many local restaurants. Just eight minutes from this lodging stands The Tree That Owns Itself, a white oak with legal ownership of itself. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, stay up to date with a complimentary newspaper, and plan the excitement of the day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax in the swimming pool after a fun-filled day, and enjoy complimentary car and large-vehicle parking. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

33.9478 -83.4178
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Stegeman Coliseum: 2.3 mi
  • Sanford Stadium: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama dawg
Business
Athens Ga
Sep 22, 2014

Good for the price

I was pleased with the hotel for the price. The first thing I noticed was the new smell. I believe there have been some recent updates. Along with the room updates they should have updated the appliances as well. Everything in the room was old- TV, microwave , refrigerator. Otherwise nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Visitor
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 6, 2014

Older hotel with updated rooms

Good hotel for the price. Plenty of room, clean. Free breakfast was average. Had a pool but did not check, I was using this as primarily a place to sleep and did not concern myself with amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wreddboy
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 2, 2014

Best Value in Athens

This was first time here. I got to say it was more than I expected. Nice clean room, flat screen tv, wi-if, and at a great price. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right in the center of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RogerBear
Business
Baltimore
May 4, 2014

Pleasant, but not for wifi

This is a pleasant court-type hotel with three buildings of large comfortable rooms set around an open-air pool. The location is not bad: five minutes from downtown Athens by car, but all commercial strip development, not somewhere you would want to walk around. My main concern was with the wifi, which was erratic at best. I chose the hotel because of it, but I ended up having to do some important work dodging from foot to foot in the corner of a parking lot at night, just to establish a usable connection. UNTIL THIS IS IMPROVED, THEY HAVE NO RIGHT TO ADVERTISE FREE WIFI ! Desk staff were a bit surly, and the breakfast was no more than adequate, but you can't expect better at this price. Indeed. other than the wifi, I would say this was a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ManiGA
Business
Athens, GA
Apr 2, 2014

Good value for a nigh stay

Good value for a night's stay, or two. Not a family vacation place. Usually check in late and head out next morning, and it serves my purpose. Selection of TV channels, a better quality TV, and a better breakfast could help though, and should be included at this price in a town like Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keith greg
Business
Jupiter, FL
Mar 22, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

After reading the reviews on this hotel i was not expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised. The room was completely overhauled and very nice. We had a smoke free room and there was no odor of smoke in it. The breakfast was ok, it just needs some fresh fruit. Otherwise we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Onenight1
Business
Georgia
Oct 22, 2013

What's that smell?

The non-smoking room had a weird odor that lingered the entire time. The furniture was in terrible shape. The sheets looked gross and had stains on them. Afraid to sit on them, much less sleep in them. The door had problems closing and locking. The police were there in the morning (~7:00 am) dealing with a presumed trespasser. Only good thing was that there was running water. Otherwise I would have rather slept outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GO DAWGS2013
Business
Georgia
Sep 23, 2013

Fitted my need

Old Hotel-needs updating but suited my needs for 1 nite..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theexterminator
Business
Maryland
Aug 3, 2013

Worst Experience Ever

On Arrival, TV didn't work but was fixed promplty. Then for 2 days the internet did not work, never was fixed. I could have dealt with both easily, but on last morning before checkout, found in the bathroom the biggest roach I have ever seen. It was the size of my thumb. Killed it and decided to get out. While going through our luggage and shaking out all clothes to avoid taking any unwanted guests with us, I lifted a bag and found another roach hiding under, the same huge size. I showed the maid, who was not surprised. Mgr, did NOT want to give refund, and accused me of being one of "those types" of people who use services and then don't want to pay for them. When I told him I would post pics on the internet with my complaint he said I was threatening him. He would not give a refund since I booked thru a travel site. I called travel site, and they called him and he agreed to the refund. THANK YOU travel site that starts with O and ends with Z! I don't usually stay in expensive hotels. I am fine with the lower end ones as long as they are clean. But THIS, was just gross!. I have no idea how many other "roommates" we were sharing our room with. I just hope that none of them "hopped a ride" in my luggage. DO NOT STAY HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMTATL
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 8, 2013

Clean, pleasant, gets the job done

The room was clean, pleasant smelling, and comfortable. Hallway smelled like smoke, but the non-smoking room did not. Bed was a bit hard, but not awful. Employees were pleasant and helpful. It's nothing special, but it's a solid deal for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top