$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

3 stars
513 West Broad Street,Po Box 1686, Athens, GA 30601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
perfect Athens location

Pros: 1. Location was perfect, we walked to everything our entire time there. 2. Best free... See full review

  • nashville resident
  • Sep 8, 2014
pretty good

so i went here to visit uga with my family and everythig was perfect but the location is confusing... See full review

  • large shoe
  • Jul 27, 2013
Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans. When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We are also near several area businesses, as well as schools like UGA and the new UGA Medical School. Besides being near the University of Georgia, our hotel's guests also find themselves close to the vibrant downtown area, so it's easy to enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment for which Athens is justifiably famous. While in the area, set aside an afternoon to explore the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia or to tour the Taylor-Grady House. At the end of the day, attend a spectacular show at The Classic Center. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you'll be pleased to know we're near the Georgia Square Mall. Before beginning their day in Athens, our hotel's guests can "Stay Smart" and visit the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, which we serve every morning. We also provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and we have an outdoor pool and Fitness Center on-site. Book today to take advantage of great deals and rates!

Hotel Map

33.9564 -83.3814
Nearby airports
Ben Epps Airport, (AHN), 5.00, MI, SE; Hartsfield-Jackson, (ATL), 75.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gadog
georgia
Aug 2, 2011

great stay

great place to stay. easy in and out. good breakfast. convenient to everything. will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 23, 2007

Athens stay

The Holiday Inn Excpress was perfect for access to the University and downtown activities. It was a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 10, 2007

Good value

The room was large, clean, and well-maintained. Location is great, just at the edge of downtown. Didn't try any of the amenities (pool, dining, etc) because we were there to enjoy downtown which is right outside your door. Dining, shoppping, bars, live music... Have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 40 Watt Club is right around the corner...go rock!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tightworld
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect choice

I can't think a better place. It is clean, Staff is amazingly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Etru40
Atlanta, GA
Oct 16, 2011

Excellent price-value.

The hotel is excellent. Located in downtown. Good rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Jul 6, 2010

Business Travel

I have stayed in many hotels in the United States and abroad. The employees from the front desk to house keepers, maintenance was excellent. We were treated as family and royalty. I would like to personal thank ([...]) who was totally friendly and a professional person during our check-in and during his shift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweetheart Travelers
North Carolina
Mar 21, 2012

Holiday Inn Express - Athens

Great stay for our son's wedding - excellent location, lovely room, and probably the best hotel breakfast we have ever enjoyed! The only adjustment we would suggest would be larger beds -- or a room option for a King + a Full which would have helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
large shoe
brunswick
Jul 27, 2013

pretty good

so i went here to visit uga with my family and everythig was perfect but the location is confusing because theres another holiday inn on the same road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nashville resident
Nashville, TN
Sep 8, 2014

perfect Athens location

Pros: 1. Location was perfect, we walked to everything our entire time there. 2. Best free breakfast i have ever had (Omelettes, Sausage, Biscuits and gravy). 3. Had the SEC channel Cons 1. Our room had a tiny bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown from hotel. Do NOT drive. Athens parking is a nightmare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 11, 2007

my stay

The hotel was very clean and well kept. We enjoyed our stay with the only exception being the construction that was being done was a little aggravating. But I would stay there again on my next trip to Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to georgia campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search