$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

3 stars
513 West Broad Street,Po Box 1686, Athens, GA 30601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
40 reviews
perfect Athens location

Pros: 1. Location was perfect, we walked to everything our entire time there. 2. Best free... See full review

  • nashville resident
  • Sep 8, 2014
pretty good

so i went here to visit uga with my family and everythig was perfect but the location is confusing... See full review

  • large shoe
  • Jul 27, 2013
Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans. When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We are also near several area businesses, as well as schools like UGA and the new UGA Medical School. Besides being near the University of Georgia, our hotel's guests also find themselves close to the vibrant downtown area, so it's easy to enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment for which Athens is justifiably famous. While in the area, set aside an afternoon to explore the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia or to tour the Taylor-Grady House. At the end of the day, attend a spectacular show at The Classic Center. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you'll be pleased to know we're near the Georgia Square Mall. Before beginning their day in Athens, our hotel's guests can "Stay Smart" and visit the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, which we serve every morning. We also provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and we have an outdoor pool and Fitness Center on-site. Book today to take advantage of great deals and rates!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Racer7792
Business
Rock Hill, SC
Sep 21, 2014

Good Value, close to UGA

Nice hotel, great breakfast with many hot items to choose from. A little bit of a walk from main downtown/university area, but good location for the price. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busy business lady
Business
GA
Sep 21, 2014

Great for a nights stay

I was exhausted after traveling from my last city. The room and location was nice. However I asked for front desk to call me cab and they did. The cab never showed up After waiting 20minutes. Not hotels fault but I decided to order delivery. Front desk staff helped me place my order. I appreciate that. The next morning I had a terrible headache and asked front desk if they had any aleve. She stated we only have what is in the medicine cabinet. Which was not completely full only had two items. So I had to drive to nearest store to get aleve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Studio53
Business
Near Savannah, Ga
Sep 18, 2014

Not so wonderful

This hotel has one of the weakest internet services possible, so if you have work to do or communication needed, it is NOT the place to stay. The front desk staff were very inattentive to guest needs; we observed gross insensitivity to an elderly couple who needed directions to I85 and the young lady was impatient and not helpful. We were shocked. The rooms are also VERY noisy. We will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Further west on West Broad there is an exceptionally yummy barbeque restaurant, the Blind Pig Tavern. The best fried mushrooms ever and great barbeque. On the right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nashville resident
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 8, 2014

perfect Athens location

Pros: 1. Location was perfect, we walked to everything our entire time there. 2. Best free breakfast i have ever had (Omelettes, Sausage, Biscuits and gravy). 3. Had the SEC channel Cons 1. Our room had a tiny bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown from hotel. Do NOT drive. Athens parking is a nightmare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew Traveler
Business
Ft. Wayne, Indiana
Sep 2, 2014

Just blocks from downtown Athens

Located just 3 blocks from downtown Athens and Univ. of GA. just 4 blocks from the Georgia Theatre. Halls smelled a little musty,but other than that, a good deal and good location. Nice room. Comfortable king bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to downtown Athens, U. of GA,Georgia Theatre,the 40 Watt and Waffle House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Osh5
Business
kentucky
Jun 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location. Free parking, but limited spots and very small parking spaces. Room was clean, nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennesseefan
Business
Martinez,ga
Jun 16, 2014

Great for price

The hotel price was great and the location to downtown was great. I could only complain about the noise. There was a lot of young kids in the hotel and they were loud!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjmread
Business
Georgia
Mar 10, 2014

The room was clean

The staff was unimpressive at check in, forgetting to share basic information like what time and place breakfast would be available and where would be best to park for my room location. They were also talking amongst each other about another customer they were having to deal with on the phone. Definitely not totally up to date, but the room was clean and comfortable. Due to the location, parking and layout I felt a little insecure with just my daughter and I staying there, but we did not run into any actual trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohamed Laradji
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Feb 28, 2014

Convenient!

The hotel was good, but their breakfast needs improvement. They need to put food that is appropriate to those who don't eat pork (jews, muslims, hindus, etc.) Otherwise, it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UGA Explorer
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 5, 2014

Perfect for trips to UGA

If you have anything to do or see at UGA the Holiday Inn Express is perfect and definitely the best value in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top