$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

3 stars
197 EAST BROAD ST.,PO BOX 1666, ATHENS, GA 30601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Can't beat the location and price

We love the location, basic at the UGA Arch. Newly updated room, and great friendly staff. I will... See full review

  • frankiegiu
  • Apr 25, 2014
Holiday Inn Athens, Ga

Stayed here for the UGA Football game! Perfect location, very clean & would definitely recommend... See full review

  • Steph F61
  • Sep 26, 2013
Quaint College Town Entertains Athens Hotel's Guests Adjacent to the campus of UGA, the Holiday Inn® Athens - University Area hotel's location affords guests numerous opportunities. Not only is the hotel close to campus, but it also exudes the vibrant, exciting atmosphere that is so apparent in downtown Athens, GA. The hotel's business guests appreciate the convenient downtown Athens setting. In addition to being the closest hotel to the campus of UGA, we're near a number of area companies, including Weyerhaeuser, Carrier Transicold and Eaton Corp, as well as Athens Regional Medical Center and St. Mary's Hospital. Athens - Ben Epps Airport (AHN) is also within four miles of the hotel's location. Downtown Athens, GA provides the hotel's guests with all kinds of entertainment. In keeping with the college spirit of Athens, the city's downtown buzzes with activity in bars, clubs, restaurants, shops and more. When guests are not enjoying UGA Bulldogs' sporting events, they can catch a show at the Classic Center or visit historic sites throughout the city. Visitors to the State Botanical Garden of Georgia find it easy to become enamored with the beautiful foliage, while the Georgia Museum of Art intrigues visitors with its outstanding exhibits. This hotel has everything you need on site, from the full-service restaurant to the Business and Fitness Centers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.9577 -83.3752
Nearby airports
Athens Ben Epps Airport, (AHN), 5.00, MI, SE; Hartsfield - Jackson Atlanta Airport, (ATL), 75.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1 mi

Dining

Redfearn Grille
Redfearn Grille and Lounge is a great place to relax after a hard days work. Join us for nightly specials offered in the bar area. Ask your server for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bulldawg Alumni
Atlanta
Jul 14, 2014

Almost Perfect

The room was not ready when I arrived, however, the staff was apologetic and worked furiously to get me into my room. The room itself was comfortable and spacious. It's as close to downtown as you can get and a great price for the proximity. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hookmaster
Warner Robins, Georgia
Jul 11, 2014

Perfect location for our trip

Very pleased with every aspect of hotel. Location was perfect for our events scheduled at UGA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myaries
Hampton, Va
May 28, 2014

Great time

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. Had a great time and enjoyed hotel. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast buffet wasn't that great but overall stay was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frankiegiu
Katonah, NY
Apr 25, 2014

Can't beat the location and price

We love the location, basic at the UGA Arch. Newly updated room, and great friendly staff. I will stay there again in September. The price cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Long Horn restaurant is about 3 miles west of town. The food was terrible. It was cold, and our steaks were raw. The staff however, was great. They need a real cook.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ewill07
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 20, 2014

Good location

Walking distance to UGA campus and downtown Athens. Clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldawg Alum
Alpharetta, GA
Jan 2, 2014

Can't beat the price and location

The hotel itself is really run of the mill. There was construction going on outside my window, but it wasn't disturbing to us, and the new pool should really make this hotel a bit nicer to stay at. The reason we book this hotel again and again is because it's so reasonably priced (I guess compared to the other downtown hotels, it's the oldest/least nice) and the location. You can walk to campus and downtown so easily... we only got in our car once during our entire three day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We caught an afternoon movie at Cine downtown! An easy way to fill some time before it's time to go to dinner and start enjoying downtown Athens' bars.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph F61
Warner Robins, Ga
Sep 26, 2013

Holiday Inn Athens, Ga

Stayed here for the UGA Football game! Perfect location, very clean & would definitely recommend staying here to any of my family & friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Graceeee
Georgia
Sep 3, 2013

Needs Maintenance

The television didn't work at all at first. After the maintenance reset never was able to pick up many channels, none being local for weather, etc. The hair dryer would not turn on and the air conditioning was minimal at best. The location is good and the room clean but the negative far outweighed the positive unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgia1234
Business
Georgia
Oct 21, 2012

Amazing

Everything was perfect and the staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS-UNIVERSITY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgia1234
Business
Georgia
Oct 21, 2012

Great location

Great location and the staff was very helpful! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top