$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

BEST WESTERN Athens

3 stars
View map of 170 N Milledge Avenue, Athens, GA 30601-3802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
61 reviews
A great deal

The staff at this hotel is super friendly. The beds are very soft and the overall cleanliness of... See full review

  • Wild rumpus crowd
  • Nov 3, 2014
Perfectly practical

I really enjoyed staying here. The location just over the hill from downtown so it wasn't right in... See full review

  • LindzCollegeKid
  • Jul 13, 2014
Your search for hotels in Athens, GA ends here. The BEST WESTERN Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus. It is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as office space, specialty shops, and sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located only blocks away, you will find our Athens, GA hotel surrounded by Downtown shopping areas, thriving night life, award winning restaurants, and fabulous boutique shopping. Athens Georgia is comparable to no other city! Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Athens provides a comfortable, clean and friendly environment for all of your needs. Reasonable rates are just an added bonus to our Athens, GA hotel! Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, wired and wireless. All rooms proudly boast 32-inch flat screen televisions, Serta® Ultra-Comfort Pillowtop mattresses and a micro/fridge. Our Athens, GA hotel's staff is infamous for providing every guest with award winning hospitality and happily goes above and beyond for our guests every day. Whether you stay with us for one night or for several, we want to make your stay in our Athens GA hotel as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our renowned Athens, GA hotel is sure to please any guest. Don't hesitate; reserve your room at the BEST WESTERN Athens today! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Athens also booked these hotels.

★★★
$80
4.0 / 5 47 reviews
★★
$52
3.2 / 5 29 reviews
★★★
$80
4.1 / 5 41 reviews
★★
$84
3.8 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$103
4.3 / 5 10 reviews
★★
$79
3.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★
$69
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$91
2.9 / 5 12 reviews

BEST WESTERN Athens Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,DELUXE,WHRLPL,MICRFG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Last Resort
.75 mile(s) from The Last Resort, Full Service, American, Open for: dinner, Nouvelle southern cuisine served in a warm casual atmosphere
Chili's
1.75 mile(s) from Chili's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Tuscan Market
1.5 mile(s) from Tuscan Market, Cafe, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fabulous, authentic Italian food- The owner is from Italy and serves only the finest ingredients.
Johnny Carino's
3 mile(s) from Johnny Carino's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Crackle Barrel
2.5 mile(s) from Crackle Barrel, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Depalmas Italian Cafe
.75 mile(s) from Depalmas Italian Cafe, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Italian cuisine including daily homemade lasagna
Porterhouse Grill
.75 mile(s) from Porterhouse Grill, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, great steaks, great bar, and extravagent wine list
East-West Bistro
.75 mile(s) from East-West Bistro, Bar/Lounge, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fusion cuisine their name says it all
Applebee's
1.75 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Varsity
Across the street from The Varsity, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, hot dogs and hamburgers, french fries and onion rings. An Athens tradition for over 80 years

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Athens

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild rumpus crowd
Friends
Atlanta, ga
Nov 3, 2014

A great deal

The staff at this hotel is super friendly. The beds are very soft and the overall cleanliness of the rooms is great. Wifi works great and breakfast is served every morning. The location is good for driving to downtown Athens, but it's a good 10 minute walk if on foot. For the price, this hotel is a great deal. I will be staying here again. The only downside was the small restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cali-n-titos on lumpkin st offers great Latin food for low prices. It should not be missed when in Athens. It only accepts cash as payment, though. You can also BYOB with ID and the purchase of a 2 dollar wristband.

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindzCollegeKid
Friends
Tifton, GA
Jul 13, 2014

Perfectly practical

I really enjoyed staying here. The location just over the hill from downtown so it wasn't right in the bulk of traffic but also wasn't too far away. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as was most everyone in the town that I came in contact with! The beds were comfy and there were plenty of pillows. A nice continental breakfast in the office or a coffee maker WITH coffee in your room. Only downfall was the limited parking. We came in a little later one night and had to park in the very back away from our room. But other than that everything was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lb14
Friends
Tampa, FL
Jul 9, 2014

Great price for a great and clean hotel!

Great price for a great and super clean hotel! Staff was very friendly. Area was not the greatest, but I never felt unsafe during my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anahata
Friends
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 11, 2013

Good value for money

The staff were efficient and kind. The room was very clean. The breakfast was OK and the designated breakfast room really crowded with no real healthy options. That was the lowest point of the stay. We also would have appreciated another bedside table, one for each bed. The swimming pool was most welcome and everything else was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Broke
Friends
Athens, GA
Apr 23, 2013

Great value for great location

This hotel was in a perfect location for my friends from out of town to be able go back and forth between greek life on Milledge Ave. and downtown Athens and didn't break the bank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Somerville, NJ
Nov 5, 2012

Excellent value

Great experience. Right across from The Varsity and Shane's Rib Shack. The only "complaint" (which isn't really a complaint at all) is that it was advertised as walking distance from downtown.... technically it is, but the walk would be a rough one up a hill. That's no drawback at all though. I am DEFINATELY staying there when I return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there is plenty of affordable parking Downtown at the parking garages. $10 all day or $5.00 at night.

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average Bar hopper
Friends
Norcorss, GA
Oct 22, 2012

Good for what was needed

I was heading to Athens to stay the night for my birthday and wanted a place within walking distance to the bars. It wasn't the shortest walk ever (about 10-15 min walk) but it was worth it. Cabs can be expensive. The breakfast in the morning was decent, and the room cleanliness was good. The only complaint I had is that they seriously need to draino their showers, it was NASTY how full the tub got while taking a shower. Other than that, I recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
charlotte nc
Jan 23, 2011

Great place at a great price

Everything was great for the most part. The only drawback to our room is that we were right under the breakfast area and could hear people walking from time to time. Otherwise, it was just fine. Close to downtown. Varsity across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cbender
Friends
Atlanta, ga
Nov 7, 2010

comfortable stay

Room was ready early! It was clean, comfortable, and had a big flat screen tv. The service was friendly, and the breakfast was fresh and well-stocked. Can't beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Transmetropolitan had great pizza and wine selection. Fun atmosphere with good music!

Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Queen
Friends
Albany, GA
Jun 22, 2010

Great Customer Service, Pleasant Stay!

The hotel was very quiet and clean. Though our room was actually double-booked. The staff in the office was quick and efficient in getting us another room and even gave us complimentary bags, along with numerous and sincere apologies for the inconvenience. They were very helpful with directions to restaurants and numbers for a cab service. I would no doubt stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top