$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

BEST WESTERN Athens

3 stars
170 N Milledge Avenue, Athens, GA 30601-3802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
59 reviews
A great deal

The staff at this hotel is super friendly. The beds are very soft and the overall cleanliness of... See full review

  • Wild rumpus crowd
  • Nov 3, 2014
Perfectly practical

I really enjoyed staying here. The location just over the hill from downtown so it wasn't right in... See full review

  • LindzCollegeKid
  • Jul 13, 2014
Your search for hotels in Athens, GA ends here. The BEST WESTERN Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus. It is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as office space, specialty shops, and sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located only blocks away, you will find our Athens, GA hotel surrounded by Downtown shopping areas, thriving night life, award winning restaurants, and fabulous boutique shopping. Athens Georgia is comparable to no other city! Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Athens provides a comfortable, clean and friendly environment for all of your needs. Reasonable rates are just an added bonus to our Athens, GA hotel! Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, wired and wireless. All rooms proudly boast 32" flat screen televisions, Serta Ultra-Comfort Pillow top mattresses and a micro/fridge. Our Athens, GA hotels staff is infamous for providing every guest with award winning hospitality and happily goes above and beyond for our guests every day. Whether you stay with us for one night or for several, we want to make your stay in our Athens GA hotel as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our renowned Athens, GA hotel is sure to please any guest. Dont hesitate; reserve your room at the BEST WESTERN Athens today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Athens Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,DELUXE,WHRLPL,MICRFG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

East-West Bistro
.75 mile(s) from East-West Bistro, Bar/Lounge, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fusion cuisine their name says it all
Depalmas Italian Cafe
.75 mile(s) from Depalmas Italian Cafe, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Italian cuisine including daily homemade lasagna
Porterhouse Grill
.75 mile(s) from Porterhouse Grill, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, great steaks, great bar, and extravagent wine list
The Grit
.75 mile(s) from The Grit, Cafe, Vegetarian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, By far, the BEST Vegetarian restaurant in town.
Red Lobster
.75 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Varsity
Across the street from The Varsity, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, hot dogs and hamburgers, french fries and onion rings. An Athens tradition for over 80 years
Applebee's
1.75 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Crackle Barrel
2.5 mile(s) from Crackle Barrel, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Shanes Rib Shack
Adjacent to Shanes Rib Shack, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, pull up a seat its gonna get messy-Best ribs in town!
Tuscan Market
1.5 mile(s) from Tuscan Market, Cafe, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fabulous, authentic Italian food- The owner is from Italy and serves only the finest ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Athens

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 59
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Never stop going
Business
Athens, GA
Aug 26, 2014

Nothing stupendous but decent

Good value to just spend a night and then head out but I would not recommend it as a getaway hotel. It did have a fridge and microwave. Bring your own body wash because they do not provide any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Calientitos Cuban Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ecu1
Business
NC
Aug 9, 2014

Good but no internet access on this stay

Good location. Friendly staff member. Internet access was out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawgfan33
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jun 9, 2014

Good hotel for the money

Very friendly staff and clean rooms. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area again. Beds are only double sized, but they are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowboy Don
Business
Alachua FL
Sep 4, 2013

good place to stay in Athens GA

Was surprised at the cleanliness, updated room décor and furnishings and overall appearance: free breakfast needs tweaking-- for instance,, greek yogurt, more selections of fruit, etc. No newspapers on site; cable tv was not easy to use,: doors to bathroom and vanity wouldn't shut. My overall rating, however, is a three-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgey01
Business
Roswell, GA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Hotel!

The value is great! The room was clean and good for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnanne Dawgs mom
Business
citra, fl
Jun 29, 2013

School getaway

Did not get in tell late that night, and left out early the next morning. Romm was clean and fresh smelling. Had a good night sleep. The beds needed to be a littler biger, not actual size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Merrill UGA Mom
Business
Savannah,GA
Apr 23, 2013

Great place to stay

The staff was very friendly when checking in and out. The room was very clean and smelled good when you entered (non-smoking). We did not have time to eat the continental breakfast this time but certainluy would next time. We will definetly stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bondy56
Business
Sarasota
Nov 20, 2012

Disappointed

The hotel was more expensive than the Four Points and Radisson we had stayed in the 2 nights before The rooms were very small compared to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip The rooms smelt stale and unclean The pillows were unclean We had to kill 5 flies in one room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamacita Morris
Business
Lexington, NC
Nov 8, 2012

Great experience!

This was a great place to stay for our visit. I plan on returning and using this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. The only thing I could ask for would be a better continental breakfast layout, but the room itself was very pleasant. Thought it was fairly quiet considering it's busy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grit for breakfast, or any meal. Great fresh food and reasonable prices. Great wait staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJohn10
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Visiting son at UGA

The Hotel far exceeded my expectations! For this price and this hotel brand, I was expecting the minimum: clean comfortable and quiet. When I arrived at the Best Western, it was an attractive hotel. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable, the room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated - more along the lines of a Radisson or Country Inn. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top