$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

BEST WESTERN Athens

3 stars
170 N Milledge Avenue, Athens, GA 30601-3802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
FFA trip

Checking in and out was quick and easy. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy not hard.... See full review

  • Tina D.
  • Jan 5, 2015
FFA trip

The Best Western was really nice and clean, and not far from the UGA livestock instructional arena. See full review

  • Tina D.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Your search for hotels in Athens, GA ends here. The BEST WESTERN Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus. It is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as office space, specialty shops, and sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located only blocks away, you will find our Athens, GA hotel surrounded by Downtown shopping areas, thriving night life, award winning restaurants, and fabulous boutique shopping. Athens Georgia is comparable to no other city! Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Athens provides a comfortable, clean and friendly environment for all of your needs. Reasonable rates are just an added bonus to our Athens, GA hotel! Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, wired and wireless. All rooms proudly boast 32" flat screen televisions, Serta Ultra-Comfort Pillow top mattresses and a micro/fridge. Our Athens, GA hotels staff is infamous for providing every guest with award winning hospitality and happily goes above and beyond for our guests every day. Whether you stay with us for one night or for several, we want to make your stay in our Athens GA hotel as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our renowned Athens, GA hotel is sure to please any guest. Dont hesitate; reserve your room at the BEST WESTERN Athens today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Athens Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,DELUXE,WHRLPL,MICRFG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

East-West Bistro
.75 mile(s) from East-West Bistro, Bar/Lounge, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fusion cuisine their name says it all
Depalmas Italian Cafe
.75 mile(s) from Depalmas Italian Cafe, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Italian cuisine including daily homemade lasagna
Porterhouse Grill
.75 mile(s) from Porterhouse Grill, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, great steaks, great bar, and extravagent wine list
The Grit
.75 mile(s) from The Grit, Cafe, Vegetarian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, By far, the BEST Vegetarian restaurant in town.
Red Lobster
.75 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Varsity
Across the street from The Varsity, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, hot dogs and hamburgers, french fries and onion rings. An Athens tradition for over 80 years
Applebee's
1.75 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Crackle Barrel
2.5 mile(s) from Crackle Barrel, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Shanes Rib Shack
Adjacent to Shanes Rib Shack, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, pull up a seat its gonna get messy-Best ribs in town!
Tuscan Market
1.5 mile(s) from Tuscan Market, Cafe, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fabulous, authentic Italian food- The owner is from Italy and serves only the finest ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Athens

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suerwoman
Business
Florida
Jun 4, 2012

Getaway for myself...

I had the nicest person i ever met answer all my questions and never complained once..The room was very clean and i had everything i need..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeevesCt
Business
Norwalk, Connecticut
May 25, 2012

Best Western Athens

Nice hotel...clean rooms, good TV set, etc. About what you'd expect for the price. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Towels were a little 'old and worn" and, while clean, they're about ready for an 'update' on furnishings. Staff was very friendly. It's further away from downtown Athens than anticipated (about a 1 mile walk). I enjoyed the walk, but - if you're going to experience UGA/downtown - you might want someplace closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

NONA restaurant - great New Orleans style food and super friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DawgGirl
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 2, 2012

Good stay, convenient location

Our stay was great -- we were comfortable and enjoyed the ease of the stay. Only complaint was there were gnats in the sink (odd) but other than that, the room was clean. Great location, esp for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VivianRudi
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great value for the money

This motel will be my first choice when I visit Athens in the future. Located just a couple of miles from campus and downtown, this motel is an incredible value. The room was clean, the staff was courteous, and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat brunch at The Grit on Prince Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJohn10
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Visiting son at UGA

The Hotel far exceeded my expectations! For this price and this hotel brand, I was expecting the minimum: clean comfortable and quiet. When I arrived at the Best Western, it was an attractive hotel. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable, the room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated - more along the lines of a Radisson or Country Inn. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rhoo
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great hotel near UGA

Only stayed one night but we will be back. Hotel near UGA campus so it was a great location for us. Staff at check in was very friendly and made sure we got to our room ok since it was late. Morning staff friendly and breakfast was good. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Pool was nice. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near UGA stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roper
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Only two flaws

Flaw #1. Air conditioner blew directly over the extremely comfortable bed. Flaw #2. Someone on the second level had a smoke party and flipped cigarettes all over my car and the parking lot below. Minimal damange. It's eazier and quicker to list the two faults than all of the many great things about the hotel and wonderful staff. I would stay there again if I have a need to return to Athens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UGA parent
Business
Rome, Ga
Aug 17, 2011

Good hotel for price

Decent location to UGA. Good value for the money. Bathroom floors could have been cleaner but over all for the money a good value. Need fresh fruit at breakfast, not an apple in a basket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saluda, N.C.
Jun 15, 2011

Business and Pleasure

We always stay at this Best Western. We like it very much. I was bothered by the air fresheners but my fault since I forgot to ask for a room without since I am highly allergic. Otherwise everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grit! Wonderful vegetarian restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. B on a trip
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 9, 2011

Good enough

Room was good enough. AC with wall mount thermostat worked well. Bathroom fairly clean. Bed was comfortable. Didn't try the pool since it was a bit dirty (leaves mostly). Breakfast was great. Avoid using the in-room coffee machine. Gross inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within 1 mile walk in downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top