$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

BEST WESTERN Athens

3 stars
170 N Milledge Avenue, Athens, GA 30601-3802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
59 reviews
A great deal

The staff at this hotel is super friendly. The beds are very soft and the overall cleanliness of... See full review

  • Wild rumpus crowd
  • Nov 3, 2014
Perfectly practical

I really enjoyed staying here. The location just over the hill from downtown so it wasn't right in... See full review

  • LindzCollegeKid
  • Jul 13, 2014
The BEST WESTERN Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus. It is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as office space, specialty shops, and sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located only blocks away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area, thriving night life, award winning restaurants, and fabulous boutique shopping. Athens Georgia is comparable to no other city! Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Athens provides a comfortable, clean and friendly environment for all of your needs. Reasonable rates are just an added bonus! Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, wired and wireless. All rooms proudly boast 32" flat screen televisions, Serta Ultra-Comfort Pillow top mattresses and a micro/fridge. Our staff is infamous for providing every guest with award winning hospitality and happily goes above and beyond every day. Whether you stay with us for one night or for several, we want to make your stay in Athens as comfortable and as memorable as possible. Dont hesitate; reserve your room at the BEST WESTERN Athens today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Athens Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,DELUXE,WHRLPL,MICRFG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

Harry Bissett's
.75 mile(s) from Harry Bissett's, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner, New Orleans style cajun and oysters on the half shell
Red Lobster
.75 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Grit
.75 mile(s) from The Grit, Cafe, Vegetarian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, By far, the BEST Vegetarian restaurant in town.
Uncle Otto's
.75 mile(s) from Uncle Otto's, Fast Food, Bavarian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Gyro sandwiches and the best fries in Athens
Porterhouse Grill
.75 mile(s) from Porterhouse Grill, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, great steaks, great bar, and extravagent wine list
Chili's
1.75 mile(s) from Chili's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Olive Garden
4.5 mile(s) from The Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Shanes Rib Shack
Adjacent to Shanes Rib Shack, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, pull up a seat its gonna get messy-Best ribs in town!
Outback Steakhouse
4 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Johnny Carino's
3 mile(s) from Johnny Carino's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Athens

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DawgGirl
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 2, 2012

Good stay, convenient location

Our stay was great -- we were comfortable and enjoyed the ease of the stay. Only complaint was there were gnats in the sink (odd) but other than that, the room was clean. Great location, esp for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VivianRudi
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great value for the money

This motel will be my first choice when I visit Athens in the future. Located just a couple of miles from campus and downtown, this motel is an incredible value. The room was clean, the staff was courteous, and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat brunch at The Grit on Prince Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJohn10
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Visiting son at UGA

The Hotel far exceeded my expectations! For this price and this hotel brand, I was expecting the minimum: clean comfortable and quiet. When I arrived at the Best Western, it was an attractive hotel. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable, the room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated - more along the lines of a Radisson or Country Inn. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rhoo
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great hotel near UGA

Only stayed one night but we will be back. Hotel near UGA campus so it was a great location for us. Staff at check in was very friendly and made sure we got to our room ok since it was late. Morning staff friendly and breakfast was good. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Pool was nice. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near UGA stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roper
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Only two flaws

Flaw #1. Air conditioner blew directly over the extremely comfortable bed. Flaw #2. Someone on the second level had a smoke party and flipped cigarettes all over my car and the parking lot below. Minimal damange. It's eazier and quicker to list the two faults than all of the many great things about the hotel and wonderful staff. I would stay there again if I have a need to return to Athens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UGA parent
Business
Rome, Ga
Aug 17, 2011

Good hotel for price

Decent location to UGA. Good value for the money. Bathroom floors could have been cleaner but over all for the money a good value. Need fresh fruit at breakfast, not an apple in a basket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saluda, N.C.
Jun 15, 2011

Business and Pleasure

We always stay at this Best Western. We like it very much. I was bothered by the air fresheners but my fault since I forgot to ask for a room without since I am highly allergic. Otherwise everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grit! Wonderful vegetarian restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. B on a trip
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 9, 2011

Good enough

Room was good enough. AC with wall mount thermostat worked well. Bathroom fairly clean. Bed was comfortable. Didn't try the pool since it was a bit dirty (leaves mostly). Breakfast was great. Avoid using the in-room coffee machine. Gross inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within 1 mile walk in downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Jun 5, 2011

Cleanliness is slipping

We have been frequent visitors to this hotel over the past 5 years and were disappointed in quality slippage during our recent visit. Although the bedding linens were nicely upgraded, the bath was a major disappointment. The shower curtain had enough pink and black mold on it that it could have walked out of the tub if it chose to do so. This kind of obvious dirt leads you to believe the whole room is poorly cleaned- it was disgusting. Another disappointment was the breakfast buffet- not as many choices- fruit wasn't ready to eat, no donuts/ However desk staff was as efficient and polite as usual and the location is very convenient. With more attention to cleaning, this facility is a great value in Athens, but the mold..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derby Widow
Business
Savannah, GA
May 2, 2011

Worth Every Penny

Hotel was clean and nice. It was an easy walt to downtown. More than what I expected for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top