$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN Athens

3 stars
View map of 170 N Milledge Avenue, Athens, GA 30601-3802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
63 reviews
Affordable

I enjoyed my stay. The room was what I needed while staying for a conference. The breakfast was a... See full review

  • Patrick H.
  • Feb 19, 2015
FFA trip

Checking in and out was quick and easy. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy not hard.... See full review

  • Tina D.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Your search for hotels in Athens, GA ends here. The BEST WESTERN Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus. It is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as office space, specialty shops, and sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located only blocks away, you will find our Athens, GA hotel surrounded by Downtown shopping areas, thriving night life, award winning restaurants, and fabulous boutique shopping. Athens Georgia is comparable to no other city! Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, the BEST WESTERN Athens provides a comfortable, clean and friendly environment for all of your needs. Reasonable rates are just an added bonus to our Athens, GA hotel! Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, wired and wireless. All rooms proudly boast 32" flat screen televisions, Serta Ultra-Comfort Pillow top mattresses and a micro/fridge. Our Athens, GA hotels staff is infamous for providing every guest with award winning hospitality and happily goes above and beyond for our guests every day. Whether you stay with us for one night or for several, we want to make your stay in our Athens GA hotel as comfortable and memorable as possible. Our renowned Athens, GA hotel is sure to please any guest. Dont hesitate; reserve your room at the BEST WESTERN Athens today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Athens Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DOWNSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,DELUXE,WHRLPL,MICRFG,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,UPSTAIRS,MICRFG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sanford Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stegeman Coliseum: 1.1 mi

Dining

Outback Steakhouse
4 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Red Lobster
.75 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chili's
1.75 mile(s) from Chili's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Varsity
Across the street from The Varsity, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, hot dogs and hamburgers, french fries and onion rings. An Athens tradition for over 80 years
Johnny Carino's
3 mile(s) from Johnny Carino's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uncle Otto's
.75 mile(s) from Uncle Otto's, Fast Food, Bavarian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Gyro sandwiches and the best fries in Athens
East-West Bistro
.75 mile(s) from East-West Bistro, Bar/Lounge, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fusion cuisine their name says it all
Tuscan Market
1.5 mile(s) from Tuscan Market, Cafe, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Fabulous, authentic Italian food- The owner is from Italy and serves only the finest ingredients.
Shanes Rib Shack
Adjacent to Shanes Rib Shack, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, pull up a seat its gonna get messy-Best ribs in town!
Depalmas Italian Cafe
.75 mile(s) from Depalmas Italian Cafe, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, authentic Italian cuisine including daily homemade lasagna

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Athens

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawgfan33
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jun 9, 2014

Good hotel for the money

Very friendly staff and clean rooms. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area again. Beds are only double sized, but they are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roseatl
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 24, 2014

It's fine if you don't expect luxury

Our room was very clean, the sheets and bed were comfortable and so were the pillows. The AC cranked out very cool air. It was quiet and we were on the second floor facing the pkg lot. If you just need a comfortable place to stay and you don't need pampering this is fine. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was a choice of coffee, cereal, boiled egg, yogurt, and some pastries (pastries were basic). Very centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The National....fine dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go2014
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 15, 2013

Worth the Money

The location is safe and convenient if you have events at the UGA. The staffs were very nice and courteous. The room was clean and cozy and had everything I needed for my stay: sofa, desk, hair dryer, microwave, mini fridge, coffee machine, and they even had a make-up removing towelette. The only downside was that when I turned on hot water in bath tub, dark yellow water flowed out for awhile...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowboy Don
Business
Alachua FL
Sep 4, 2013

good place to stay in Athens GA

Was surprised at the cleanliness, updated room décor and furnishings and overall appearance: free breakfast needs tweaking-- for instance,, greek yogurt, more selections of fruit, etc. No newspapers on site; cable tv was not easy to use,: doors to bathroom and vanity wouldn't shut. My overall rating, however, is a three-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Studio53
Business
Near Savannah, Ga
Aug 29, 2013

Okay for what we needed

Modest property on the low end of the scale; we are used to nicer Best Westerns. But close to our business; clean and quick check in. Coffee was brown bitter water; grim food offerings; no fruit. But quiet and a good place for one night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Athens' restaurants are a short drive or long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solarman
Business
Bluffton, SC
Aug 26, 2013

Great Value

We were passing through (one night stay) and thought this was a great value for the price. It is a little out of "downtown" ( a very short drive) but right across the street from the famous Varsity mega hot dog stand (as seen on Food Network). Again a great, clean, friendly place. We wil stay there next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amici Restaurant. A college student hangout with great food for anyone. Their motto "Pizza,Drink, and friends",

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anahata
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 11, 2013

Good value for money

The staff were efficient and kind. The room was very clean. The breakfast was OK and the designated breakfast room really crowded with no real healthy options. That was the lowest point of the stay. We also would have appreciated another bedside table, one for each bed. The swimming pool was most welcome and everything else was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgey01
Business
Roswell, GA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Hotel!

The value is great! The room was clean and good for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnanne Dawgs mom
Business
citra, fl
Jun 29, 2013

School getaway

Did not get in tell late that night, and left out early the next morning. Romm was clean and fresh smelling. Had a good night sleep. The beds needed to be a littler biger, not actual size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Merrill UGA Mom
Business
Savannah,GA
Apr 23, 2013

Great place to stay

The staff was very friendly when checking in and out. The room was very clean and smelled good when you entered (non-smoking). We did not have time to eat the continental breakfast this time but certainluy would next time. We will definetly stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top