The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

4 stars
View map of 725 South Harbour Island Blvd, 725 South Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
67 reviews
Relaxing waterfront getaway!

The hotel has a slight vintage feel, but well maintained. It is situated bayfront and allows for... See full review

  • sherry c.
  • Jun 27, 2015
awesome 2 day vacation

This hotel was great. Read the reviews before i decided to book, they werent so good. Glad i booked... See full review

  • Joni R.
  • May 26, 2015

The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is situated on a unique landscaped island in downtown Tampa. Adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center, the location is convenient for both business and leisure travelers. Just two blocks from St. Pete Times Forum, the property offers access to all of Tampa's attractions. The resort-like atmosphere features an outdoor pool and full-service business center.  Oversized guest rooms and suites at The Westin Tampa Harbour Island are designed to enhance relaxation. Guests enjoy a signature Heavenly Bed and spacious bathrooms.

Rooms

All non-smoking rooms at the new Westin Tampa Bay offer luxurious accommodations, world-class amenities and magnificent views. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply) and rooms include premium cable, in-room movies, separate bath and shower stalls, the Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower, hairdryer, signature bath amenities, refreshment center with coffee maker and refrigerator. City view rooms, bay view rooms and suites are available, as well as connecting rooms.  Pets are welcome and guests can ask for the Westin Heavenly dog bed.

Property features

Guests at the Westin enjoy use of a gym and outdoor pool. Dining options include the elegant restaurant 725 South, featuring all-day continental fare. Market Place is a casual option open from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. serving Starbuck's coffee and pastries. Light fare and cocktails are offered in The Bar. Westin also features an evening ritual called Unwind, an event in The Bar where guests meet for food, cocktails and ambiance. Covered parking facilities and valet are also offered. 

Highlights
  • Westin Heavenly Bed with 240 thread-count sheets, down pillows and comforters
  • Market Place, featuring Starbuck's coffee and pastries
  • Drink mixing lessons, cooking demonstrations and card games Monday - Friday
Nearby attractions
  • Harbour Island Athletic Club
  • St. Pete Times Forum
  • International Plaza Shopping
  • Westshore Plaza shopping mall
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (less than 90 minutes)
Business
  • 13 flexible meeting rooms, some offering stunning harbor views
Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (35 minutes)
Policies
  • Pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Tampa Harbour Island Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

27.9384 -82.454
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 14.48, KM; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 138.40, KM; St. Petersburg International Airport, (PIE), 40.23, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.3 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.7 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 1 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.3 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.7 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 1 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.9 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 4 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 4.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 4.5 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 7 mi
  • Adventure Island: 7.6 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 8.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 8.5 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.8 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 9 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 10.4 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 10.6 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 14.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pay the man
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 31, 2013

good location

Was in town for a meeting and a hockey game location was perfect for both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most closed early the weekday we were there. Only place open was the hotel bar and it is nothing special.

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love A Nurse
Business
Clearwater, FL
Dec 10, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

I was hesitant to book at this hotel after reading many poor reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. The location is great. We had a birthday party to go to at Jackson's that evening so we walkied right back with no difficulty. The staff at the desk were friendly and courteous. We had a beautiful view of the city from our room. The room was clean and comfortable. Only downside which I have this problem almost every place I stay is the hallways echo terribly and the walls are thin so whenever inconsiderate people leave thier rooms slamming doors and talking loudly it is impossible to sleep in if you would like to do so. All in all, I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in downtown Tampa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danteipp
Business
Byram, Connecticut
Dec 9, 2012

A great weekend, solid hotel

I haven't been to this hotel in years, and while they are still in the process of updating things like the carpet, lobby, rooms and other cosmetic appearances; it is still a good place to stay - especially if you get a good promotion or deal. There are definitely some dated elements, especially the fitness center, which was disappointing, but the personal service was outstanding. Room service was terrific, they brought extra water, OJ and sides, and the valets were very knowledgeable and helpful. Once they get the rest of the hotel updated it will be even better since you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to try Jackson's if you like good, reasonably-priced food and sushi. Jackson's is also usually hopping on Saturday night if you like a club atmosphere.

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cessna401
Business
Denver
Nov 3, 2012

Ok but not a A+

Place was a bit dated. Staff on the otherhand was nice. Lobby is on a upper floor and found that to be weired. Lots of noise threw the walls and from the hallway. You can hear room doors slamming shut all night. Veiw from room was wonderful. Location was short walking distance to convention center. They charge for there internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FutureDentist
Business
Lutz, Florida
Sep 20, 2012

725 South (SUPERB restraunt inside)

Absolutely AMAZING! I've been to Bern's, I've been to Charley's, to Outback, to Ivaroni's, to making my own filets. The taste of the filet at 725 South WAS SO UNBELIEVABLY DELISH! What a great experience. I was very sketchy at first of ordering due to the restaurant being totally dead. There was only one person there eating soup.. My boyfriend insisted we proceed due to the reviews he read. The reviews were right. Steven was like our personal waiter. He is the best waiter I have ever had. Steven has a great personality, he is just awesome. Steven reminds me of a waiter in a movie that is how good he is. He went above and beyond for us. My boyfriend hates vegetables but will eat corn. There was no corn on the menu and Steven found some corn for him. I asked if I could get cheese or something in the mashed potatoes and Steven put bacon and cheese, WOW they were SO YUMMY. Steven made the experience 100x better, and the filet to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Never judge something before you experience it first.

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PT Student Mom
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 11, 2012

Physical Therapy Conference

My daughter and I had a very comfortable 4-day stay. I found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful. The room was more than what I had expected. It was very comfortable except that there wasn't any way to remove the steam from the bathroom after showers/baths. The view was wonderful. I was able to watch some sort of creature loaf around in the northside channel. It may have been a manatee but I was never able to get a close enough look to identify it. It was there more than one day though. That would have been the icing on the cake if it had been a manatee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson's Bistro has the best seafood for reasonable prices. My daughter and I ate there at least 4 times. And you can walk there from the hotel without going outside.

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tampa Lovers
Business
Massachusetts
May 29, 2012

Friendly Staff-great location

We had a great experience. Every time we were at the elevators the front desk staff smiled and said hi. The pool area is nice and overlooks the water and complete with a tiki bar with fabulous frozen drinks. Try the frozen mojito!! Easy walk to the tram which can bring you to channel side (which is walking distance too) or to Ybor. The beds were soo comfortable!! We will be staying here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The laughing Cat in Ybor. Take a short tram ride! Amazing Italian Food!!!

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur,ga
Jul 22, 2011

Short trip...

Very good...wish for free internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
May 31, 2011

A great value

Traveling with inlaws so I was hoping to make a good impression with my choice of hotels. Rooms were very comfortable and we had a great meal outside overlooking the river. We found our way to the nearby Casino, the primary purpose of our trip. Could be better directions to the pool area which was a challenge to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do close by!! Shopping, Busch Gardens, Casino, and Ybor City. Sheppard's right on property was a great little resturant and even better night club after hours.

Review of The Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toledo, oh
May 13, 2011

IF there is a cheeper hotel stay there

I was here for a convention and was disappointed. The lay out was unfriendly for multiple vendors trying to display. The elevators didn't work well the entire stay and conference assistance was not helpful unless they were charging unreasonabely high prices. Overall I would stay accross the river at the Mariot. I am normally very satisfied with Westin hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top