$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

4 stars
700 South Florida Avenue, 700 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Great value

Big hotel, great value for the money, next to the water, plenty to do nearby. See full review

  • Steven of Garrison
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott this past weekend. Great staff and amenities all the... See full review

  • Kelly Mack
  • Oct 14, 2014
Downtown luxury overlooking Tampa Bay

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel is a landmark on the water, featuring 27 stories of rooms and suites overlooking Tampa Bay. The hotel incorporates cutting-edge technology with a lively and elegant atmosphere through a recently completed renovation of key public areas which includes upgrades to the onsite restaurants, lobby and outside patio. The hotel is a striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk in the heart of downtown near Ybor City. Located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center, the hotel boasts 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space with complete business services including Wi-Fi connected work stations and communal tables, plus a full-service spa and several restaurants. Boaters have access to a 32-slip, full-service marina at the hotel and all guests enjoy a spa, hot tub and rooftop pool.

Highlights
  • Scenic waterfront hotel in downtown Tampa with picturesque rooftop pool
  • Champion's Sports Bar and Starbucks Coffee bar
  • On-site fitness center and spa with full-service treatments and massages
Rooms

The property's 683 newly renovated guest rooms and 36 suites offer private bay or city view balconies. The rooms include coffee maker, individual climate control, Internet browser, Web TV, iron with ironing board, luxurious bedding with down comforter, custom duvet and rich cotton linens. Larger suites feature a living room, sleeper sofa, entertaining space and luxury amenities. The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet (fees apply). All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel has several dining options. Cafe Waterside serves American fare and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests looking for hearty meals and a lively atmosphere head to Champions Sports Bar for lunch and dinner. The Pool Bar & Grill serves sandwiches poolside.  Starbucks Coffee is also on-site, as well as the Lobby Bar for quick snacks and appetizers. Nearby activities include jogging and fitness trails, bike trails, fishing and tennis. The Spa Waterside is on-site for hair and nail treatments, as well as facials and massages by appointment.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (35 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal
  • Channelside Bay Plaza  
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 33 meeting rooms
  • 50,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Grand Ballroom offers 17,169 square feet of meeting space, seating up to 2,500 guests
  • 14 breakout rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 4.3 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Adventure Island: 7.4 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 8.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 8.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.7 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.8 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.4 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 10.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 10.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 14 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.5 mi

Dining

Waterside Grill
Casual and relaxed, Waterside Grill is one of the best restaurants in Tampa - whether you're here for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy delicious cuisine accented by produce fresh from our rooftop garden, as well as seafood, steaks and cocktails.
Champions Sports Bar
Watch your favorite sporting event at Champion’s Sports Bar, our signature onsite restaurant. We offer the most authentic sports bar experience in downtown Tampa, complete with tennis court flooring!
Pool Bar & Grill
This bright and cheery poolside restaurant offers casual dining in the form of sandwiches and snacks. Fuel yourself up for a day of relaxing by the pool.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite Starbucks® beverages, pastries and sandwiches at our on-site Starbucks®. Open daily. Monday - Friday: 6:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.; Saturday - Sunday: 6:00a.m. - 3:00p.m.
Lobby Bar
Stop in the Lobby Bar at our Tampa hotel for snacks, sandwiches and appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
donnamas2
Business
Quincy, fl
Jul 29, 2013

hidden charges not advertised

The experience with this hotel was a nightmare. When we got there and pulled up to unload our luggage..we were told we could not do it ourselves and that they had to and a gratuity was expected. The luggage was left in the lobby for 20 mins as we waited in our room for them to find time to bring them to us. The parking was atrocious!! When I booked this hotel it said parking available and free wifi. Well....the parking was $22.00 for overnight and $13.00 for daily...for paying guests. I am not made of moey and had planned the financials for this trip to the penny....unfortunately..I had to spend $50.00 to park across the street. Money that I was going to give my daughter for her convention to buy something she wanted and / or to eat. The free wifi??? What a joke...if you wanted to stay in your room to get on internet , it was $14.95 for 24 hours. When I asked about the free wifi...they said it was available outside on the terrace for 3..THREE.. hours per day or in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay someplace else if you don't want a $50.00 per day incidental charge added to your credit card.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jul 13, 2009

Marriot Waterside

The hotel tried to double bill me, they said it was because I made the orbitz reservation the same day .They resolved the problem quickly once I pointed it out to them, the previous stay's double bill is still pending, I didn't notice until I got my statement. The room was so noisy because of a neighboring bar, and the noise didn't stop until 230am. On the up side the staff are excellent and very helpful and the food at the hotel is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 1, 2010

very bad experience

What a horrible experience. I traveled from PA to tampa for a wedding. When we arrived on friday the entire block was out of power for 8 hours. this was out of the hotels hands and i understand this. During this however the hotels generator also failed which is where the hotel should begin to take responsibility. Only one elevator for 8 hours servicing hundreds of people on 26 floors. needless to say there was line. I am only 29 so decided to take stairs. Since generator broke the stairwell was pitch black. thank god there was not an emergency. No flashlights available. their answer was one glowstick on each floor of steps...which were eventually taken by guests because everything not near a window was extrememely dark. then power is fixed around 5 or 6pm friday. The hotel in Tampa Fl does not have AC until 1pm on saturday. They once again only apologize, they do not take credit. My room the entire weekend had hot water only. It was extremely hot. Showers consisted of jumping in and out the entire time. If you used the bathroom right after someone, the toilet water was steaming. This hot water mixed with feces and urine does not create a pleasant smell. Hotel said 4 different times and engineer would come fix this. I don't have time on vacation to keep track so I took them for their word and every night checking this it was not fixed! Hotels solution was for us to use Spa's showers on floor 3. I am on floor 11, and to start I am paying you for a shower in MY ROOM! Asked the manager if anything was giong to be done with this, and they said no money will be returned. All i got were apologies. I would like to see them shower in that shower all weekend. I left Monday morning, and on Sunday as I am leaving for the wedding they now say we can change rooms....well i am going to a wedding and I am not changing when I come in at midnight!!! The staff were not willing to work with us at all. This is after we spent an additional $283 on food and bar with our friends. I guess they don't appreciate good customers. They were prompt to deliver this bill however, probably the fastest thing done for us the entire weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Couple From FL
Business
Panama City Beach, FL
Jul 30, 2012

Not that great for a Marriott

You can't park your own car and empty your own items. They won't let you use the rolling carts without their supervision. There's limited parking to check in and they won't let you leave your car there. Parking for your vehicle is $20 a day! For a four day vacation that's another $80. The attendants were rude. The elevators are noisy in the rooms all night long. The amenities are only available at an extra cost. The room was small. The list goes on and on. This was a very disappointing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trudel
Business
NY
Jan 27, 2012

Location perfect for convention center

Not a great hotel. Staff was nice and helpful, but otherwise very basic. Room was not totally clean, bathrooms need work. Location great if you need to be a the convention center. Walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennylo21
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 7, 2012

Nice Hotel

Room was nice but not much around the area. I walked about four blocks to find something to eat. There was no shuttle service from the airport and no complimentary breakfast. But overall was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob McConnell
Business
McLean, VA
Aug 23, 2012

Petty

Like most airlines Marriott has reduced itself to charging for things that should be free: (a) demanding payment for internet; and (b) provides bottle water on tray with glasses and ice container but, without notice, puts a $2 charge on your bill if you drink. Petty, petty. Marriott should be aboce such pettiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NachoyTITO
Business
Connecticut
Jul 2, 2013

your customer is a second class guest

front desc treatment was of second clasas, sorry but in the future I will not book to this hotel over you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JakN
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 10, 2013

Poor Valet Service

Good business hotel but not great. Well located but not a lot of restaurants, bars to walk to near by. Valet was a complete mess. It took me 1/2 hour to get car. Also, I guess in a CYA move, the valet ticket had damage marked on all four doors of my rental car which had only 1000 miles on it. I wouldn't have taken it nor would have Enterprise taken it back if it had ANY damage. This practice is Dishonest at best, maybe criminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayPhil
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Oct 21, 2013

Great location, great lobby, average room

Added bonus, if you are in town for or during a sporting event, the Champions sports bar that is connected to the lobby has some SERIOUS TVs in it, although the beer is pricey compared to a typical sports bar. Again, location! Also, the $5 round trip fare on the Street Car/Trolly to Ybor City is fun and frees you to drink all you'd like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Coupons for B1G1F are in the Trolly Car magizine. The Trolly stops right across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top