$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

4 stars
700 South Florida Avenue, 700 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Great value

Big hotel, great value for the money, next to the water, plenty to do nearby. See full review

  • Steven of Garrison
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott this past weekend. Great staff and amenities all the... See full review

  • Kelly Mack
  • Oct 14, 2014
Downtown luxury overlooking Tampa Bay

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel is a landmark on the water, featuring 27 stories of rooms and suites overlooking Tampa Bay. The hotel incorporates cutting-edge technology with a lively and elegant atmosphere through a recently completed renovation of key public areas which includes upgrades to the onsite restaurants, lobby and outside patio. The hotel is a striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk in the heart of downtown near Ybor City. Located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center, the hotel boasts 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space with complete business services including Wi-Fi connected work stations and communal tables, plus a full-service spa and several restaurants. Boaters have access to a 32-slip, full-service marina at the hotel and all guests enjoy a spa, hot tub and rooftop pool.

Highlights
  • Scenic waterfront hotel in downtown Tampa with picturesque rooftop pool
  • Champion's Sports Bar and Starbucks Coffee bar
  • On-site fitness center and spa with full-service treatments and massages
Rooms

The property's 683 newly renovated guest rooms and 36 suites offer private bay or city view balconies. The rooms include coffee maker, individual climate control, Internet browser, Web TV, iron with ironing board, luxurious bedding with down comforter, custom duvet and rich cotton linens. Larger suites feature a living room, sleeper sofa, entertaining space and luxury amenities. The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet (fees apply). All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel has several dining options. Cafe Waterside serves American fare and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests looking for hearty meals and a lively atmosphere head to Champions Sports Bar for lunch and dinner. The Pool Bar & Grill serves sandwiches poolside.  Starbucks Coffee is also on-site, as well as the Lobby Bar for quick snacks and appetizers. Nearby activities include jogging and fitness trails, bike trails, fishing and tennis. The Spa Waterside is on-site for hair and nail treatments, as well as facials and massages by appointment.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (35 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal
  • Channelside Bay Plaza  
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 33 meeting rooms
  • 50,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Grand Ballroom offers 17,169 square feet of meeting space, seating up to 2,500 guests
  • 14 breakout rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 4.3 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Adventure Island: 7.4 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 8.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 8.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.7 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.8 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.4 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 10.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 10.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 14 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.5 mi

Dining

Waterside Grill
Casual and relaxed, Waterside Grill is one of the best restaurants in Tampa - whether you're here for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy delicious cuisine accented by produce fresh from our rooftop garden, as well as seafood, steaks and cocktails.
Champions Sports Bar
Watch your favorite sporting event at Champion’s Sports Bar, our signature onsite restaurant. We offer the most authentic sports bar experience in downtown Tampa, complete with tennis court flooring!
Pool Bar & Grill
This bright and cheery poolside restaurant offers casual dining in the form of sandwiches and snacks. Fuel yourself up for a day of relaxing by the pool.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite Starbucks® beverages, pastries and sandwiches at our on-site Starbucks®. Open daily. Monday - Friday: 6:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.; Saturday - Sunday: 6:00a.m. - 3:00p.m.
Lobby Bar
Stop in the Lobby Bar at our Tampa hotel for snacks, sandwiches and appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nedetria
Business
Alabama
Apr 19, 2010

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room had a balcony room on the 10th floor that looked out over the pool and the marina. I enjoyed my coffee there in the mornings. I will stay there again when I am in Tampa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson's is within walking distance of the hotel. It is on the water and we enjoyed a great lunch there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 17, 2010

Conference

Enjoyed the hotel, did not have great food choices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lightning Fan
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Apr 11, 2010

Worth it for hockey

We stayed at this hotel strictly because it is literally steps from the St. Pete Times Forum. It was a beautiful place overlooking the water with lots of awesome stuff surrounding it. The only problem was, as a hockey fan, I wasn't used to valet parking and INCESSANT TIPPING of people who perform menial tasks without you asking. So if you're prepared for that, I recommend this hotel 100%. (PS - don't get excited about the rooms, they're as standard as they come.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Pete Times Forum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jan 7, 2010

Amazing

The hotel and location is absolutely amazing. Right across from the arena so if you are into hockey, find out when the game is and order your tickets before hand because they supposidly jumped from 9 dollars to 100 dollars--I think they ran out of cheap seats. Be careful with the TV. It said you could preview for free but we were charged over 17 dollars. When I brought it to the front desk attendant's attention, she argued the point. I then contacted the supervisor and explained the situation--she credited the amount. Most of the staff were very friendly with the exception of a front desk member and a server. The valet directors were great always happy and eager to help out. The area is amazing unless you are looking for things to do in the area. We travelled on the street cars and parts of the area were dirty. Our room faced the water so the view was beautiful. If we wanted to shop we had to take a cab that cost about 15 dollars each way. If you are looking a going somewhere just to get away and relax...this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of eating in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jan 7, 2010

Terrific Stay

Excellent Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Outstanding service, first class!

It was AMAZING and exceeded any expectations I had. The staff was friendly, helpful, accommodating...they even upgraded my room to a bay view that was beautiful. On site food was great and yet their were some excellent restaurants nearby, public transportation and even a Starbuck's across the street. The waterfront was beautiful, with wonderful reflections and so many nice walk ways to run or exercise. I was impressed with the cleanliness and hospitality of everyone I dealt with. This was truly a first class, professional yet warm and friendly place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 29, 2009

Business stay

There were several quite places to meet for business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamconsults
Business
oronto canada
Oct 26, 2009

waterside marriott

the beds were lovely soft..pillow mattresses...i actually slept...felt like home bathroomns clean lovely pool area and reasonable poolside drinks great margueritas bar food average....fine dining pricey but excellent food..see bass to live for!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chainsawman
Business
Auburn Hills, MI
Oct 15, 2009

Good value with the [...] package

I was attending the SAE Brake Colloquium. The hotel was very nice; the employees were very pleasant & helpful; the rooms were clean; and the convention facilities were quite good. My only complaint was that the cold tap water in the bath room was HOT and never did get very cold - I've never experienced this in any hotel/motel room before. Usually you can't get hot water out of the hot tap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The on-site Italian restaurant there was quite - both the food and the service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna the hot momma
Business
Long Island, New York
Oct 7, 2009

Staying in Tampa On The Water View

Myself and my fiancé found our stay to be at a magnificent location right on the water. The moment you walk into the lobby we knew we came to a classy spot. As an older couple with many vacation stays at hotels in the Tampa region, we felt we were on our way to enjoy our special time in Tampa. We have stayed at 4 hotels in Tampa prior to this one and would recomend it to anyone planning a stay in that region of Tampa. Beautiful views, close to Busch Gardens, great resturant foods, and a lively bar. Just look at some photos of the hotel online and, you will gladly like what you see and your experence to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not sure of the name of it but is was a fancy magarita bar they know of it at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top