$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

4 stars
700 South Florida Avenue, 700 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
108 reviews
Great location

This hotel is walking distance to everything! The tampa Bay times forum is literally across the... See full review

  • cn2010
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great wedding accommodations

We had a wonderful time. The hotel was very accommodating for large groups to be able to meet in... See full review

  • Good but not Great Uncle
  • Jun 3, 2013
Downtown luxury overlooking Tampa Bay

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel is a landmark on the water, featuring 27 stories of rooms and suites overlooking Tampa Bay. The hotel incorporates cutting-edge technology with a lively and elegant atmosphere through a recently completed renovation of key public areas which includes upgrades to the onsite restaurants, lobby and outside patio. The hotel is a striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk in the heart of downtown near Ybor City. Located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center, the hotel boasts 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space with complete business services including Wi-Fi connected work stations and communal tables, plus a full-service spa and several restaurants. Boaters have access to a 32-slip, full-service marina at the hotel and all guests enjoy a spa, hot tub and rooftop pool.

Highlights
  • Scenic waterfront hotel in downtown Tampa with picturesque rooftop pool
  • Champion's Sports Bar and Starbucks Coffee bar
  • On-site fitness center and spa with full-service treatments and massages
Rooms

The property's 683 newly renovated guest rooms and 36 suites offer private bay or city view balconies. The rooms include coffee maker, individual climate control, Internet browser, Web TV, iron with ironing board, luxurious bedding with down comforter, custom duvet and rich cotton linens. Larger suites feature a living room, sleeper sofa, entertaining space and luxury amenities. The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet (fees apply). All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel has several dining options. Cafe Waterside serves American fare and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests looking for hearty meals and a lively atmosphere head to Champions Sports Bar for lunch and dinner. The Pool Bar & Grill serves sandwiches poolside.  Starbucks Coffee is also on-site, as well as the Lobby Bar for quick snacks and appetizers. Nearby activities include jogging and fitness trails, bike trails, fishing and tennis. The Spa Waterside is on-site for hair and nail treatments, as well as facials and massages by appointment.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (35 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal
  • Channelside Bay Plaza  
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 33 meeting rooms
  • 50,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Grand Ballroom offers 17,169 square feet of meeting space, seating up to 2,500 guests
  • 14 breakout rooms

Hotel Map

27.9409 -82.4539
Area served
Downtown Tampa
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 9.00, MI, SE; St Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport, (PIE), 22.00, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 87.00, MI, SW;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 4.3 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Adventure Island: 7.4 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 8.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 8.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.7 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.8 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.4 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 10.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 10.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 14 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.5 mi

Dining

Waterside Grill
Casual and relaxed, Waterside Grill is one of the best restaurants in Tampa - whether you're here for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy delicious cuisine accented by produce fresh from our rooftop garden, as well as seafood, steaks and cocktails.
Champions Sports Bar
Watch your favorite sporting event at Champion’s Sports Bar, our signature onsite restaurant. We offer the most authentic sports bar experience in downtown Tampa, complete with tennis court flooring!
Pool Bar & Grill
This bright and cheery poolside restaurant offers casual dining in the form of sandwiches and snacks. Fuel yourself up for a day of relaxing by the pool.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite Starbucks® beverages, pastries and sandwiches at our on-site Starbucks®. Open daily. Monday - Friday: 6:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.; Saturday - Sunday: 6:00a.m. - 3:00p.m.
Lobby Bar
Stop in the Lobby Bar at our Tampa hotel for snacks, sandwiches and appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Munoz
Spotswood, New Jersey
Dec 28, 2010

A Great Experirnce at the Marriot

The hotel and location was excellent. The valet parking was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining at the hotel was a very nice experirnce. Tha waitrees very polite.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plant City, FL
Oct 25, 2010

Great Experience!!!!

This hotel has a very helpful and friendly staff. Anything I needed was taken care of with quick and responsive staff members. It is very convenient to Channelside, Harbor Island and downtown Tampa. Also this hotel has a great sports bar on the first floor. I would recommend this hotel and will be using it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson's

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Oct 19, 2010

short stay business trip

only overnight.....non-stop easy flight....shuttle service excellent.....beautiful room and intelligent accomodating staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 5, 2010

Great location, comfortable room.

Used the free wi-fi in the hotel lobby, enjoyed the Starbuck's coffee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma.
Sep 14, 2010

Close to Cruise Ship Terminal, Aquarium

We booked this hotel based on recommendations from others who are going on a cruise from Tampa. The location is very walkable to Tampa Carnival Cruise Line Terminal, The Aquarium, Tampa Bay Lighting Arena, and shops and restaurants next to cruise terminal, and a huge convention center. Plus there is a trolly line across the street. The shops and restaurants next to the Cruise Terminal was just ok. The Aquarium was ok. This hotel has nice bar in the lobby and a couple of restaurants and coffee shop. We ate at the sports bar a couple of times for its decent price and location in the hotel. Hotel is right on the water (canal)and we could see the cruise ship coming in from our window. Pool was great, tho not deep for diving. Front desk was very helpful, bell hop was very accomodating on keeping an eye on our luggage while we had lunch at the sport restaurant before we headed to our cruise ship. The fitness center, on the same level as the pool, was decent. Walking along the canal was nice, but view across the canal of hospital, power plant, etc wasn't that great. Surrounding area of hotel is in somewhat of a flux. Area between hotel and Aquarium are under construction, parking lots, flat bare land, shut down restaurants. Other areas are office bldgs. Even though area is in the upswing, it is still very quite, unless there is a convention going on. All in all, a great hotel with a great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to cruise terminal, TampaBay Lighting, convention center.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Interlachen, FL
Aug 30, 2010

My review

We were there for the Badcock Dealer Convention. Plesant stay, great resturant right inside the hotel. We stayed on the street side where it was noisy with traffic and people screaming from their balcony apparently partying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 26, 2010

Wonderful weekend in a great location

Our room was very comfortable especially the bed and overlooked the water which we were not expecting. The desk provided detailed driving directions to each location we were interested in. We drove to the Gulf coast beaches of St Pete and Clearwater with no difficulty in a relatively short time. Were very pleased with the central location as we drove to all our destinations even in the evening. Valet parking attendants were very friendly and helpful. We were looking for a place to have breakfast in the hotel, but Starbucks was our only option. We ended up eating in the airport. Our floor was very noisy during the late evening hours. Between 3:00am and 5:00am people were talking loudly in the hallways and it sounded like doors were being slammed! However, we can't wait to return to Tampa and the Marriott Waterside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Double check location of the restaurant of your choice. We went to Shulas, but had difficulty finding it as the restaurant was listed as being in one hotel, but was actually in another.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dfbxtra
Business
Boston
Jul 18, 2010

Wish I could have stayed longer..

Palm trees welcome you as you enter the beautiful lobby. Fast, efficient, friendly service from desk to bellhop to restaurant. Beautiful location with water views from all rooms. Quite perfect, wish my trip were longer to enjoy the hotel and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda the interpreter
Long Island, New York
Jun 20, 2010

Wonderful stay at the Marriott

My husband and I were in Tampa to look for housing as we are relocating there. I had never stayed at the Tampa Marriott Waterside before and saw a few reviews that made me think I'd be greeted by cranky individuals...but we were so please with all the attention we received and with how accommodating the staff was. The rooms were also spotless. The view was amazing. And the conceirge area was relaxing..especially the views on the balcony. We loved the quiet walks on the pathways around the marina, and the proximity to various unique bistros and restaurants. We also were highly impressed with the Champion restaurant on location and we soaked up the HUGE big screen tv's as we watched the World Cup on and off during the day while we ate and drank at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were nice restaurants across the water near the Post Apartments where you could eat outside and soak up the city views.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 1, 2010

very bad experience

What a horrible experience. I traveled from PA to tampa for a wedding. When we arrived on friday the entire block was out of power for 8 hours. this was out of the hotels hands and i understand this. During this however the hotels generator also failed which is where the hotel should begin to take responsibility. Only one elevator for 8 hours servicing hundreds of people on 26 floors. needless to say there was line. I am only 29 so decided to take stairs. Since generator broke the stairwell was pitch black. thank god there was not an emergency. No flashlights available. their answer was one glowstick on each floor of steps...which were eventually taken by guests because everything not near a window was extrememely dark. then power is fixed around 5 or 6pm friday. The hotel in Tampa Fl does not have AC until 1pm on saturday. They once again only apologize, they do not take credit. My room the entire weekend had hot water only. It was extremely hot. Showers consisted of jumping in and out the entire time. If you used the bathroom right after someone, the toilet water was steaming. This hot water mixed with feces and urine does not create a pleasant smell. Hotel said 4 different times and engineer would come fix this. I don't have time on vacation to keep track so I took them for their word and every night checking this it was not fixed! Hotels solution was for us to use Spa's showers on floor 3. I am on floor 11, and to start I am paying you for a shower in MY ROOM! Asked the manager if anything was giong to be done with this, and they said no money will be returned. All i got were apologies. I would like to see them shower in that shower all weekend. I left Monday morning, and on Sunday as I am leaving for the wedding they now say we can change rooms....well i am going to a wedding and I am not changing when I come in at midnight!!! The staff were not willing to work with us at all. This is after we spent an additional $283 on food and bar with our friends. I guess they don't appreciate good customers. They were prompt to deliver this bill however, probably the fastest thing done for us the entire weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search