$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

4 stars
700 South Florida Avenue, 700 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
Great location

This hotel is walking distance to everything! The tampa Bay times forum is literally across the... See full review

  • cn2010
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great wedding accommodations

We had a wonderful time. The hotel was very accommodating for large groups to be able to meet in... See full review

  • Good but not Great Uncle
  • Jun 3, 2013
Downtown luxury overlooking Tampa Bay

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel is a landmark on the water, featuring 27 stories of rooms and suites overlooking Tampa Bay. The hotel incorporates cutting-edge technology with a lively and elegant atmosphere through a recently completed renovation of key public areas which includes upgrades to the onsite restaurants, lobby and outside patio. The hotel is a striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk in the heart of downtown near Ybor City. Located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center, the hotel boasts 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space with complete business services including Wi-Fi connected work stations and communal tables, plus a full-service spa and several restaurants. Boaters have access to a 32-slip, full-service marina at the hotel and all guests enjoy a spa, hot tub and rooftop pool.

Highlights
  • Scenic waterfront hotel in downtown Tampa with picturesque rooftop pool
  • Champion's Sports Bar and Starbucks Coffee bar
  • On-site fitness center and spa with full-service treatments and massages
Rooms

The property's 683 newly renovated guest rooms and 36 suites offer private bay or city view balconies. The rooms include coffee maker, individual climate control, Internet browser, Web TV, iron with ironing board, luxurious bedding with down comforter, custom duvet and rich cotton linens. Larger suites feature a living room, sleeper sofa, entertaining space and luxury amenities. The hotel offers high-speed wireless Internet (fees apply). All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel has several dining options. Cafe Waterside serves American fare and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests looking for hearty meals and a lively atmosphere head to Champions Sports Bar for lunch and dinner. The Pool Bar & Grill serves sandwiches poolside.  Starbucks Coffee is also on-site, as well as the Lobby Bar for quick snacks and appetizers. Nearby activities include jogging and fitness trails, bike trails, fishing and tennis. The Spa Waterside is on-site for hair and nail treatments, as well as facials and massages by appointment.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (35 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal
  • Channelside Bay Plaza  
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 33 meeting rooms
  • 50,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Grand Ballroom offers 17,169 square feet of meeting space, seating up to 2,500 guests
  • 14 breakout rooms

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.9409 -82.4539
Area served
Downtown Tampa
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 9.00, MI, SE; St Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport, (PIE), 22.00, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 87.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 0.5 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 0.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 4.3 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Adventure Island: 7.4 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 8.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 8.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.7 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.8 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.4 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 10.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 10.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 14 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.5 mi

Dining

Waterside Grill
Enjoy American favorites from our Downtown Tampa restaurant's relaxed setting, perfect for a casual breakfast, lunch, or dinner. This restaurant serves delicious dishes with produce fresh from our rooftop garden, seafood, steaks and cocktails.
Champions Sports Bar
Enjoy hearty American cuisine at Champion’s Sports Bar, our signature on-site restaurant. For lunch and dinner enjoy a unique, authentic sports pub ambience complete with tennis court flooring!
Pool Bar & Grill
Discover a relaxing and convenient restaurant serving cooling beverages and an array of sandwiches poolside.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite Starbucks® beverages, pastries and sandwiches at our on-site Starbucks. Open daily. Monday - Friday: 6:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.; Saturday - Sunday: 6:00a.m. - 3:00p.m.
Lobby Bar
Stop in the Lobby Bar for snacks, sandwiches and appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.2 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
cn2010
Fort Worth, Texas
Apr 7, 2014

Great location

This hotel is walking distance to everything! The tampa Bay times forum is literally across the street if you are attending an event there isnt a better place to stay. The onsite sports bar was very yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
TRtravels
Business
Florida
Feb 7, 2014

Restaurants Horrible

Beautiful lobby and outdoor patio. Upgraded to a water view room, spacious and nice view but 3.5 star quality in terms of decor and amenities. There are only 2 restaurants, both with sports bar type food definitely not up to 4 star hotel standards. I only ate once at the Waterside bar, both food and service were horrible. I had to go out to eat every day in the cold and rain since the food was so bad. There were only 2 Local Eats top 100 restaurants within walking distance. As I was in town on business and needed to be within walking distance to a number of good restaurants the location proved to be quite inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
john. and ann
Eliso Viejo, CA
Jan 27, 2014

Gafparilla day tooooo crowded!!

Do to the annual Gafparilla pirates celebration, the street to the hotel was closed. We did not check in until. 9:00 P.M. that night...........That said the staff made up for our inconvenience by upgrading our room to a 2 room suite..lam sure that many patrons were unhappy but the staff more than made up for any inconvenience. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
JordanAdam
Tampa, FL
Dec 8, 2013

Tampa

Perfect. Location was great, and the pool/deck area was relaxing. Walking distance to a variety of good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
JayPhil
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Oct 21, 2013

Great location, great lobby, average room

Added bonus, if you are in town for or during a sporting event, the Champions sports bar that is connected to the lobby has some SERIOUS TVs in it, although the beer is pricey compared to a typical sports bar. Again, location! Also, the $5 round trip fare on the Street Car/Trolly to Ybor City is fun and frees you to drink all you'd like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Coupons for B1G1F are in the Trolly Car magizine. The Trolly stops right across the street from the hotel.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
donnamas2
Quincy, fl
Jul 29, 2013

hidden charges not advertised

The experience with this hotel was a nightmare. When we got there and pulled up to unload our luggage..we were told we could not do it ourselves and that they had to and a gratuity was expected. The luggage was left in the lobby for 20 mins as we waited in our room for them to find time to bring them to us. The parking was atrocious!! When I booked this hotel it said parking available and free wifi. Well....the parking was $22.00 for overnight and $13.00 for daily...for paying guests. I am not made of moey and had planned the financials for this trip to the penny....unfortunately..I had to spend $50.00 to park across the street. Money that I was going to give my daughter for her convention to buy something she wanted and / or to eat. The free wifi??? What a joke...if you wanted to stay in your room to get on internet , it was $14.95 for 24 hours. When I asked about the free wifi...they said it was available outside on the terrace for 3..THREE.. hours per day or in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay someplace else if you don't want a $50.00 per day incidental charge added to your credit card.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
NachoyTITO
Connecticut
Jul 2, 2013

your customer is a second class guest

front desc treatment was of second clasas, sorry but in the future I will not book to this hotel over you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
JakN
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 10, 2013

Poor Valet Service

Good business hotel but not great. Well located but not a lot of restaurants, bars to walk to near by. Valet was a complete mess. It took me 1/2 hour to get car. Also, I guess in a CYA move, the valet ticket had damage marked on all four doors of my rental car which had only 1000 miles on it. I wouldn't have taken it nor would have Enterprise taken it back if it had ANY damage. This practice is Dishonest at best, maybe criminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Good but not Great Uncle
Virginia
Jun 3, 2013

Great wedding accommodations

We had a wonderful time. The hotel was very accommodating for large groups to be able to meet in the lobby and not be intruded on or be intrusive to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast brunch is well stocked sand reasonable. Other menu items are also good.

Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
Ram C.
Queens, NY
May 28, 2013

Great weekend getaway

This marriott hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly, the hotel sits in A prime area close to the airport, shopping and night life, I will definetly go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top