$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

3 stars
601 S. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
122 reviews
Good weekend getaway.

The room was very, very nice. Looks like the pictures. Has Chick-Fil-A basically in the parking lot... See full review

  • Steph the Awesome Cousin
  • Jul 21, 2014
Will be back!

This was one of the best experiences EVERRR while travelling and trying out new places. Amber was... See full review

  • Crvgirl
  • Mar 7, 2014
Serene Tampa hotel with spa, Koi pond and pool

The Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa in Tampa, Florida offers guests spacious rooms, extensive spa facilities and a fully-equipped fitness center. The hotel also has a fine restaurant that covers breakfast and lunch, while Kon Tiki restaurant and poolside bar are ideal for evening meals and cocktails. The meeting rooms provide premier executive services and there is an attractive Koi pond to promote calm and serenity, complementing the spa and steam room facilities at the Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Premier boutique hotel for over 50 years

  • Fitness center with steam rooms

  • Pets are welcome (fees apply)

Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa Rooms

Guests at this well-appointed, smaller spa hotel in Tampa are assured of a relaxed stay, thanks to a range of room facilities designed to promote a good night's sleep. Room types range from cabana room to one-bedroom suites. Cabana rooms are equipped with one king size bed or two double beds and sport a pleasant atmosphere that harmonizes with the natural surroundings. With plantation shutters and a porcelain tile floor, the décor theme is island ambience. Select suites have four-poster beds, separate living areas and full wet bars. All the rooms and suites in the Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa are equipped with microwave, mini-fridge and coffee-maker. Enjoy satellite and cable channels on TVs and free Wi-Fi Internet access, available with all room types. Spacious bathrooms are en suite and include standard facilities.

Things To Do:
  • Hyde Park Village (2 mi/3.2 km)

  • Glazer Children's Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

  • American Victory Ship (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

  • Lowry Park Zoo (7.1 mi/11.4 km)

  • The Florida Aquarium (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

  • Busch Gardens (11.4 mi/18.3 km)

Policies and fees
  • Pets welcome! Pet policy: US $35 USD one time, non-refundable pet fee for up to 7 days. Pets welcome at all our outdoor areas on property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9388 -82.5061
Area served
Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International, St Pete/Clearwater
Area description
The Tahitian Inn is a Boutique hotel located in the West shore district of Tampa, near restaurants,Stadiums,businesses, shopping,and the Port of Tampa. Favored by business and leisure travelers, this hotel is convenient to St. Pete Times Forum, Ice Place, Tropicana Field, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens, and beautiful beaches.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa Rooms

King or Double
The Cabana Rooms feature spacious rooms with 2 queen beds or 1 king sized bed with porcelain tile flooring and plantation shutters, island themed decor, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, workdesk, and free WIFI. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.
Executive Queen
The Queen Executive features a four poster queen size bed, marble floors, full wet bar, nightly turn-down service, island themed decor, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, over-sized bathroom, work desk, and free WIFI. Request a jetted tub or balcony with these room types, granted upon availability. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.
One Bedroom Suite
Beautifully renovated to capture a taste of Tahiti, our spacious suites include a California King or four poster Queen bed and separate living area with couch, chair, additional entertainment center with television, desk and chair, island themed decor, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, over-sized bathroom, work desk, and free WIFI. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Park: 2 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 2.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 2 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 2.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3.7 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 3.8 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 4.6 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.5 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 8.4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Adventure Island: 9.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 10.1 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 10.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 10.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 11.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 12 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 12.4 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 15.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.5 mi

Dining

Tahitian Cafe
Tahitian Cafe is located on property with covered outdoor seating near beautifully landscaped Koi pond and is open from 6am to 3pm daily for breakfast and lunch. (Room service available.)
Tiki Joes
Tiki Joes is our evening venu restaurant with fresh seafood and tender,juicy steaks along with our historically known favorites and full bar is open from 3pm to 10pm, Mon-Sat. (Room service available.)
The Torch Tiki Bar
The Torch poolside tiki bar offers a limited poolside menu and full bar during open summer hours 12noon to 9pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bokchoybritt
Fort Myers, FL
Aug 16, 2010

Not Clean, Smelled of Mold

We checked in at 3PM, left to go to a Gig at Channelside, then checked out at 10PM, when we got back. The room was old, dirty, and reeked of mold. When I got back home (I spent 2.5 hours driving home instead of spending the night) I placed all my suitcases and clothing that had been in the room in my garage, so that I would not have to smell the mold. Awful! If you are anything byt a teenager or in your early 20's, don't bother with this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tampa Aquarium and Channelside Drive, Tampa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, FL
Jun 13, 2011

Not what it's cracked up to be!

I was at a conference and chose the Tahitian Inn as a "relaxing" comparably priced alternative to the conference chain hotel. Bad idea. It is a converted old motel from the 1950s with not the right items renovated. Cosmetically now boutique and chic, but underneath not comfortable. Thin walls. The "cabana" rooms are the exterior door type (picture is of the lobby area) on the parking lot and loud (has a bar) small pool. The "executive" rooms (I was upgraded after complaining) are more like standard hotel rooms, interior, over the lobby on the 2nd floor. Turned out mine had the hotel dumpster inches away from my window, it was like the garbage truck was in the room, at 5 am. Air conditioners in both rooms very loud. All rooms have tile foors, mine was gritty with dirt. The mattress in the cabana room was terrible, the executive room was supposed to have a bed upgrade but the only thing that seemed different were nicer linens, mattress still terrible. The hotel description lists jacuzzi as an amenity, but they in fact do not have one. The executive rooms only have bathtubs with jets, mine was apparantly broken, the dial for the jets did not turn them on and the hotel receptionist did not know anything about them (no after hours maintenance.) Only executive rooms are accesable by elevator, cabana rooms are only by stairs (and no assistance with luggage is offered.) Location is on a busy street that is congested, and most places to go are a left turn out of the parking lot, tricky at best. Added time on what looked on the map to be a short trip to the conference. Staying north of SR 60 would put one in a better vicinity for getting around to hotels, restaurants, stores in the area. Lots of restaurant choices of all types close by, and the food in the hotel itself is supposed to be good (although I didn't eat there myself.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant options of all types close by, recognizable chains plus pricier treats like Roy's and Seasons 52. Also a Whole Foods, a plus for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobertFischer
Business
Michigan
Mar 3, 2013

Disappointing

We were very disappointed in the Cabana room that we booked. It was very old and in need of repair. The staff did upgrade us to an Executive room (for a fee). I was cordial while trying to get an upgrade, but the staff seemed to get upset and irritated with me. The rest of our stay the staff was quite nice. The front parking spaces are extremely small and overgrown foliage makes them even smaller. The pool area is nice however some local residents (not guests) were using it. Overall, the hotel is much older than it appears in the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kiste1kl
Michigan
Apr 14, 2014

Unimpressed

My family and I stayed in Tampa the night before our cruise departure and were supposed to stay there the night after but I quickly cancelled that return stay after spending our first night. Despite advertising a hotel shuttle, we found out that is stops operating entirely at 9pm and had to take a taxi. This area of Tampa is not the greatest and I didn't love having my kids there. I wasn't aware that there were outside rooms like a motel and inside ones and naturally we were outside. Very noisy from the other guests and people frequently walking past our room on the balcony. The bathroom and shower were gross and very outdated. I paid $50 more for the night and stayed at a Westin elsewhere after our cruise and it was ABSOLUTELY money well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
remaloel
Fort Myers, Florida
Apr 2, 2011

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

I got to the hotel at 11pm, very tired after a long day of work, the front desk gentlemen without any id or uniform, was very kind changing my room, specially because I had booked a non-smoking room and they placed me in a smoking one. Arriving at my room (232), the last one on the last building, it had an awful mold smell. I found a blanket full of green and nasty mold by the AC unit. In the bathroom where we place the soap, there was a broken piece, very sharp. I would say, if you have no other option for the price that I had to pay for 1 night in this hotel, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandpa Traveler
Denver
Jun 13, 2012

Visiting family living near this hotel

If it weren't for the loud air conditioner fan, we would have had no sleep due to the excessive noise. Our room was not really clean, which may explain the cockroaches that were in the bathroom. The pimpmobile and the "ladies" smoking out on the walkway along the rooms were an unwelcome distraction. The room cleaning staff did not provide coffee cup replacements, although the hotel staff, when called, brought replacements immediately. The exercise room was, despite the other problems quite well equipped and had both male and female lockers. roo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy to Vacation
Melbourne, FL
Jun 3, 2009

Girl's Getaway

I feel we got what we paid for. The hotel was nice enough. We had a nice time at the pool. But I was really scared to use the shower. There were cracks in the shower tile, that made it look dirty and old. Housekeeping started cleaning rooms at like 9am. The pillows covers didn't fully cover the pillows. With that all said, we loved the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terahtoo
Lehigh Acres, FL
Feb 8, 2014

Misleading, Not Worth the Money

The website pictures were quite misleading. I felt tricked. This is a MOTEL with doors that open to the outside, as opposed to a HOTEL. The room was extremely dated including an older bed, room furnishings, a well used box-style TV, and a blue toilet, tub, and tiled 1950's bathroom. The shower barely had any warm water and that only lasted 5 minutes. (Motel 6 has better bathrooms.) The tile bedroom floor, squeaky bed, thin walls, and old, rickety air conditioner made for the most uncomfortable motel stay I have had in years. If my money had been refundable I would have left! With a discount I paid approximately $100 per night which was ENTIRELY too much! I was highly upset when I saw the room. Please do not waste your money, look elsewhere!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinChicagoIL
Chicago, IL
Jan 14, 2013

A lot for a little

The hotel seems more than it really is. Though they offer a spa and cafe/bar, all costs extra (I expected the spa would, but even breakfast? for how much I was paying!) Pool is a decent size, but no hot tub. Rooms are bare in furnishings. In a decent neighborhood. There are a lot of places to go (LA Fitness, Starbucks, IHOP, restaurants, some "shopping"). They offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport and to the port (driver was nice and a good driver). I would not stay again, especially due to the value of what I got for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you HAVE to stay in Tampa more than one night, your best bet is to stay in or very close to Ybor City. That is more entertaining, has more to do, and less obnoxious traffic. I've never seen so much bad traffic and I live in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nsmontague
Cincinnati OH
Mar 14, 2013

Not Good

We booked this hotel because it had a restaurant. But the restaurant was closed on Sunday - the day we were there. There was no hotel transportation to get us to a restaurant. The room was nothing special. The hotel computer did not work. The pictures online are much better than what the hotel actual is. I give it a thumbs down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top