$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

3 stars
View map of 601 S. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Restless Native14
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great pool and location

We have stayed here throughout the years and have always found it to be clean, courteous, and convenient to a lot of things in Tampa. Yes, you may drive through a less than desirable looking Dale Mabry Area to get there, but once you reach the Tahitian, it won't feel that way. The pool area is lovely and always full of people, and the rooms are always clean and nicely refurbished (again, I have been staying here for more than 20 years and remember pre-renovation). All in all, good place for a good price and super convenient to Bern's, Tampa Performing Arts, Buccaneers/USF football, and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Permanentrookie
Business
Florida
Oct 14, 2011

Nice place, great way to start a cruise

Frre parking and shuttle to the pier Easy transfer. Orbitz was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking would have been $75, got a nice room for the night with transfer to and from the pier and Free Parking for about the same price..no stress!!!!

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Non-Stop Business Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Interesting Place with a Unique Feel

Was in town for business and chose to stay at a local place instead of one of the bigger chains. Most of the rooms had access from the outside via an outdoor walkway. Rooms themselves were spacious and had tiled floors instead of carpet. Furniture was painted light and there was a wicker type chair. It had the feel of a place that would open up to the ocean though it didn't. My only critique was the air conditioner was very loud but that could have just been the unit. It was a nice change of pace from the major chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice breakfast and lounge area.

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellenton, FL
Jun 20, 2011

Husbands birthday

The Hotel and staff were awesome! You did not even have to leave the hotel if you did not want to. Especially the pool area [...] and [...] the bartenders were great!Front desk great!Dining in hotel Great![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When booking make sure taxi service understands in advance importance of time. Front desk finally had to call another cab as they said we did not show. Hmmm setting out front way before pick up time, but again Staff got us a cab right away.

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, FL
Jun 13, 2011

Not what it's cracked up to be!

I was at a conference and chose the Tahitian Inn as a "relaxing" comparably priced alternative to the conference chain hotel. Bad idea. It is a converted old motel from the 1950s with not the right items renovated. Cosmetically now boutique and chic, but underneath not comfortable. Thin walls. The "cabana" rooms are the exterior door type (picture is of the lobby area) on the parking lot and loud (has a bar) small pool. The "executive" rooms (I was upgraded after complaining) are more like standard hotel rooms, interior, over the lobby on the 2nd floor. Turned out mine had the hotel dumpster inches away from my window, it was like the garbage truck was in the room, at 5 am. Air conditioners in both rooms very loud. All rooms have tile foors, mine was gritty with dirt. The mattress in the cabana room was terrible, the executive room was supposed to have a bed upgrade but the only thing that seemed different were nicer linens, mattress still terrible. The hotel description lists jacuzzi as an amenity, but they in fact do not have one. The executive rooms only have bathtubs with jets, mine was apparantly broken, the dial for the jets did not turn them on and the hotel receptionist did not know anything about them (no after hours maintenance.) Only executive rooms are accesable by elevator, cabana rooms are only by stairs (and no assistance with luggage is offered.) Location is on a busy street that is congested, and most places to go are a left turn out of the parking lot, tricky at best. Added time on what looked on the map to be a short trip to the conference. Staying north of SR 60 would put one in a better vicinity for getting around to hotels, restaurants, stores in the area. Lots of restaurant choices of all types close by, and the food in the hotel itself is supposed to be good (although I didn't eat there myself.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant options of all types close by, recognizable chains plus pricier treats like Roy's and Seasons 52. Also a Whole Foods, a plus for me.

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Jun 4, 2011

nice hotel

Hotel is very nice, staff are very nice and helpful, spacious room, reasonable prices. The only downside is there is not much to do in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emj
Business
Grafton, Wisconsin
Apr 20, 2011

Great location for price!

Beautifully decorated outside and inside. Definitely didn't fit into the landscape of the rest of Dale Mabry Rd. A few minor things when we arrived...one light didnt work, remote didn't have new batteries, after a few days the coffee wasn't replenished. The woman at front desk didn't know there was a "GO GREEN" policy, where you may choose to save your linens during your stay, as the housekeeping kept replenishing those, when we wanted to keep them! The rooms are adorable with tile floor. Beds were hard. The pool area is beautiful, and tiki bar is nice. We also stayed when Iron Maiden was in town, so the first night was a bit loud for my daughter and I:( otherwise, it worked for us! I would go back, despite little things. Starbucks was down the road too, which was nice- since no coffee;) We did Busch Gardens, Clearwater Beach, and Adventure Island. Very easy on/off of 275. Great malls too. Whole foods, and Target right down the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emj
Business
Grafton, Wisconsin
Apr 20, 2011

Great location for price!

Beautifully decorated outside and inside. Definitely didn't fit into the landscape of the rest of Dale Mabry Rd. A few minor things when we arrived...one light didnt work, remote didn't have new batteries, after a few days the coffee wasn't replenished. The woman at front desk didn't know there was a "GO GREEN" policy, where you may choose to save your linens during your stay, as the housekeeping kept replenishing those, when we wanted to keep them! The rooms are adorable with tile floor. Beds were hard. The pool area is beautiful, and tiki bar is nice. We also stayed when Iron Maiden was in town, so the first night was a bit loud for my daughter and I:( otherwise, it worked for us! I would go back, despite little things. Starbucks was down the road too, which was nice- since no coffee;) We did Busch Gardens, Clearwater Beach, and Adventure Island. Very easy on/off of 275. Great malls too. Whole foods, and Target right down the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
remaloel
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Apr 2, 2011

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

I got to the hotel at 11pm, very tired after a long day of work, the front desk gentlemen without any id or uniform, was very kind changing my room, specially because I had booked a non-smoking room and they placed me in a smoking one. Arriving at my room (232), the last one on the last building, it had an awful mold smell. I found a blanket full of green and nasty mold by the AC unit. In the bathroom where we place the soap, there was a broken piece, very sharp. I would say, if you have no other option for the price that I had to pay for 1 night in this hotel, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
remaloel
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Apr 2, 2011

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

I got to the hotel at 11pm, very tired after a long day of work, the front desk gentlemen without any id or uniform, was very kind changing my room, specially because I had booked a non-smoking room and they placed me in a smoking one. Arriving at my room (232), the last one on the last building, it had an awful mold smell. I found a blanket full of green and nasty mold by the AC unit. In the bathroom where we place the soap, there was a broken piece, very sharp. I would say, if you have no other option for the price that I had to pay for 1 night in this hotel, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top