$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

3 stars
601 S. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
121 reviews
Good weekend getaway.

The room was very, very nice. Looks like the pictures. Has Chick-Fil-A basically in the parking lot... See full review

  • Steph the Awesome Cousin
  • Jul 21, 2014
Will be back!

This was one of the best experiences EVERRR while travelling and trying out new places. Amber was... See full review

  • Crvgirl
  • Mar 7, 2014
Serene Tampa hotel with spa, Koi pond and pool

The Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa in Tampa, Florida offers guests spacious rooms, extensive spa facilities and a fully-equipped fitness center. The hotel also has a fine restaurant that covers breakfast and lunch, while Kon Tiki restaurant and poolside bar are ideal for evening meals and cocktails. The meeting rooms provide premier executive services and there is an attractive Koi pond to promote calm and serenity, complementing the spa and steam room facilities at the Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Premier boutique hotel for over 50 years

  • Fitness center with steam rooms

  • Pets are welcome (fees apply)

Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa Rooms

Guests at this well-appointed, smaller spa hotel in Tampa are assured of a relaxed stay, thanks to a range of room facilities designed to promote a good night's sleep. Room types range from cabana room to one-bedroom suites. Cabana rooms are equipped with one king size bed or two double beds and sport a pleasant atmosphere that harmonizes with the natural surroundings. With plantation shutters and a porcelain tile floor, the décor theme is island ambience. Select suites have four-poster beds, separate living areas and full wet bars. All the rooms and suites in the Tahitian Inn Hotel Café & Spa are equipped with microwave, mini-fridge and coffee-maker. Enjoy satellite and cable channels on TVs and free Wi-Fi Internet access, available with all room types. Spacious bathrooms are en suite and include standard facilities.

Things To Do:
  • Hyde Park Village (2 mi/3.2 km)

  • Glazer Children's Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

  • American Victory Ship (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

  • Lowry Park Zoo (7.1 mi/11.4 km)

  • The Florida Aquarium (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

  • Busch Gardens (11.4 mi/18.3 km)

Policies and fees
  • Pets welcome! Pet policy: US $35 USD one time, non-refundable pet fee for up to 7 days. Pets welcome at all our outdoor areas on property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9388 -82.5061
Area served
Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International, St Pete/Clearwater
Area description
The Tahitian Inn is a Boutique hotel located in the West shore district of Tampa, near restaurants,Stadiums,businesses, shopping,and the Port of Tampa. Favored by business and leisure travelers, this hotel is convenient to St. Pete Times Forum, Ice Place, Tropicana Field, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens, and beautiful beaches.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa Rooms

King or Double
The Cabana Rooms feature spacious rooms with 2 queen beds or 1 king sized bed with porcelain tile flooring and plantation shutters, island themed decor, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, workdesk, and free WIFI. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.
Executive Queen
The Queen Executive features a four poster queen size bed, marble floors, full wet bar, nightly turn-down service, island themed decor, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, over-sized bathroom, work desk, and free WIFI. Request a jetted tub or balcony with these room types, granted upon availability. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.
One Bedroom Suite
Beautifully renovated to capture a taste of Tahiti, our spacious suites include a California King or four poster Queen bed and separate living area with couch, chair, additional entertainment center with television, desk and chair, island themed decor, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, over-sized bathroom, work desk, and free WIFI. Free shuttle from TPA included in room rate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Park: 2 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 2.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 2 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 2.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.2 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3.7 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 3.8 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 4.6 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.5 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 8.4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Adventure Island: 9.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 10.1 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 10.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 10.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 11.6 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 12 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 12.4 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 15.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.5 mi

Dining

Tahitian Cafe
Tahitian Cafe is located on property with covered outdoor seating near beautifully landscaped Koi pond and is open from 6am to 3pm daily for breakfast and lunch. (Room service available.)
Tiki Joes
Tiki Joes is our evening venu restaurant with fresh seafood and tender,juicy steaks along with our historically known favorites and full bar is open from 3pm to 10pm, Mon-Sat. (Room service available.)
The Torch Tiki Bar
The Torch poolside tiki bar offers a limited poolside menu and full bar during open summer hours 12noon to 9pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DE3girlsmom
Wilmington DE
Feb 13, 2013

Quirky little retro hotel and a great value

We flew into Tampa the night before we left on a cruise. We needed a basic, cleam, comfortable hotel close to the airport and pier. I thought the location and room were a great value. I loved the retro tiki decor. Too cold to enjoy the pool but that area was inviting. Room was large and bed comfortable. The free shuttle from the airport and then to the pier the next morning was a plus. I would defintely stay there again. The restaurant on site was convenient with basic comfy food but met our needs for late dinner and quick and early breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Von
Lakeland, FL
Jan 14, 2013

Mini vacation

Just an overnight trip to Tampa. Wonderful hotel, very cute, great location. Good price and excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Howard Ave for nice dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KevinChicagoIL
Chicago, IL
Jan 14, 2013

A lot for a little

The hotel seems more than it really is. Though they offer a spa and cafe/bar, all costs extra (I expected the spa would, but even breakfast? for how much I was paying!) Pool is a decent size, but no hot tub. Rooms are bare in furnishings. In a decent neighborhood. There are a lot of places to go (LA Fitness, Starbucks, IHOP, restaurants, some "shopping"). They offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport and to the port (driver was nice and a good driver). I would not stay again, especially due to the value of what I got for the amount I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you HAVE to stay in Tampa more than one night, your best bet is to stay in or very close to Ybor City. That is more entertaining, has more to do, and less obnoxious traffic. I've never seen so much bad traffic and I live in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt DK
NY
Jan 14, 2013

Great hotel!

I was a little skeptical about staying at this hotel due to some of the reviews I read, but since we were going with a large group of friends that reserved rooms there, we also booked there. This is a great hotel! The pictures on these sites seem to make the hotel seem a little larger than it is, but I was very happy with my time there. Like most of the reviews stated, the beds were a little on the harder side, but nothing that was too much cause for concern. The staff was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, especially the bartenders and shuttle staff. We had a large and loud group (being from NY), but the staff was great in keeping the pool area (which is absolutely beautiful) open a little longer (with the agreement of course that we keep the noise level to an appropriate level). Very nice, small hotel. We stayed in the executive queen room, and the room was very nice (though a little dak)... the small kitchen and larger bathroom being a really nice touch. There is some key places near the hotel (cvs, resturants, fast food) near the hotel, and clubs and other bars just a short taxi ride away. On site resturant is good, though slightly overpriced (like most are), but the food we got was really really good! Overall, for the money you spend, this is an excellent hotel. The pool is beautiful, the rooms are nice, and the staff is amazing. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
haskelljm
South Lyon, MI
Jan 6, 2013

Outback Bowl 2013

Staff was the best - were very helpful and pleasant. Would have liked to have a breakfast where you didn't have to pay for it. Have great relationships with local cab drivers to basically have personal chauffeur. Would def recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ybor City has lots of places to dine and be entertained.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rafadafa2352
Austin, TX
Nov 7, 2012

great Stay!!!

I stayed there only for one night while I was passing through Tampa, and you couldn't beat the price for this pretty little hotel! It was amazing, the pool was great and the staff was nice and friendly. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brookethereviewer
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Glorified Motel

Nothing at this hotel was that great but still not that horrible. It is a motel type set up...don't let the pictures of the front of the hotel trick you. You can tell the rooms have been redone not too long ago, but they are all tile. Not very cozy. Bed was so-so. Old, old TV. And there is not central AC. You have a box on the wall with a dial that runs loudly. There was a stand holding the microwave and coffee pot set infront of a door that used to connect to the next room. there is a big gap under the door and if someone was in the next room, you could hear every word of their conversation almost. To top it off, i was there on business and returned from the trade show the first night wanting nothing more thaan a good dinner and stiff drink. HOWEVER, even though it was only 7pm, they had decided to just close the restaurant early that night because there weren't enough customers.....?!. That kind of irked me. However I did eat lunch there earlier that day and it was great food so i do highly recommend the restaurant..assuming that they keep it open untl 10pm like advertised. Staff was hit or miss. Felix was there at night, very friendly and gave a great restaurant recommendation but the rest of the staff was nothing special and needed customer service training classes. They weren't rude, but not what i expect from hotel staff. Oh and by the way...here's a fun fact. The restaurant i ended up eating at told me that the Tahitian Inn is where Lindsay Lohan's dad jumped from the second story a year or so ago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lexman
Tampa FL
Sep 18, 2012

it was ok, bed is hard

The bed is made entirely of Wood, it was hard, but the room was nice, clean and all, best part was the pool, it was great,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

waffle house, great breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandpa Traveler
Denver
Jun 13, 2012

Visiting family living near this hotel

If it weren't for the loud air conditioner fan, we would have had no sleep due to the excessive noise. Our room was not really clean, which may explain the cockroaches that were in the bathroom. The pimpmobile and the "ladies" smoking out on the walkway along the rooms were an unwelcome distraction. The room cleaning staff did not provide coffee cup replacements, although the hotel staff, when called, brought replacements immediately. The exercise room was, despite the other problems quite well equipped and had both male and female lockers. roo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tahitian Inn Cafe and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mtte
Canada
May 28, 2012

Not great, but still nice and comfortable place in a good location.

I spend a whole week in this hotel (which is more like an upscale motel), and found it to be well located, not too far from airport and other areas of interest in the city. The rooms are spacious and clean, but a little bit too dark. However, the biggest drawback is the air-conditioned which is old and very, very noisy. The windows open to the outdoor corridors, so you if you open them you will hear all the noise and anyone passing by can see inside your room. Security can be a concern because the rooms are can be accessed directly from the street (no need to go through reception) and there are no safe boxes in the rooms. In any case, it is good value for money, and it is a good option for staying at when in Tampa for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The International mall is a good place to go shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search