$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

3 stars
111 W Fortune St, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
99 reviews
Confy stay

Easy to arrive from airport . Check inn/ out : easy and fast . Girls from front desk, nice and... See full review

  • cinnamon hot
  • Aug 2, 2014
Convenient location with free shuttle

Good that they provide shuttle bus to convention centre where I attended conference, which saved a... See full review

  • C. Kwong
  • Apr 21, 2014
Hotel offers free Wi-Fi and Lifestyle Fitness in Tampa’s cultural mecca

The Howard Johnson Plaza is an ideal place to stay for travelers making a cultural visit to the Tampa Bay area. The property sits adjacent to the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Museum of Art. The Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, St. Pete Times Forum and Port of Tampa are located a mile from the hotel. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

HIGHLIGHTS
  • Free shuttle service from the hotel to Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals with advance notice
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in rooms and public areas
  • Complimentary use of Lifestyle Fitness Center
ROOMS

All rooms feature single-cup coffee maker, iron with ironing board, programmable alarm clock, hairdryer, individual climate control and satellite TV featuring HBO. Microwaves and refrigerators are available in some rooms.

FEATURES

The Howard Johnson Plaza is two miles from Channelside Bay Plaza, a premier dining and entertainment complex, plus Florida Aquarium and Ybor City. The property is home to Tampa's famous Waterworks Bar & Grill. Try the meatloaf and mash specialty. The property is within walking distance to many other national restaurant chains. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

TRANSPORTATION
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • Tampa airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle service for The Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals and Tampa General Hospital with advance notice
LOCAL ATTRACTIONS
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science & Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Tampa Bay Performing Art Center
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Channelside Bay Plaza
  • Historic Ybor City
BUSINESS
  • 6,800 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Main ballroom has a capacity to hold 350 people
  • Breakout rooms can hold meetings for 20-60 people
POLICES & FEES
  • Pets Welcome, $75.00 US one time charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9533 -82.4638
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.8 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.2 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 99
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bmurph
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2014

Average hotel stay

The value was great but the hotel could use some room renovations. The sink had a huge crack, carpet was unattached from the walls leaving big gap between floor and wall, and carpet was dirty beneath air conditioner unit. Otherwise location is convenient, there is free parking, and access to river walk/view is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Datz restaurant near Howard street has fantastic food and drinks and even has a bakery next door!

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OttoF
Pa
Apr 7, 2014

Average

No handicapped accessaible room available. no offer to provide simple things to accommodate a handicapped need. HUGE waste of water from the shower and the john. Needed to change rooms as the tub did not empty, standing in 6 inches of water. Breakfast included in on the net site, but there was a charge and the offerigs were mediocore at best. no hot water option (tea), no hot chocolate as an option. But the staff were accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catfishhunter
Boston, MA
May 2, 2013

Excellent stay

Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Room was comfortable with great view. Excellent location. Rather expensive, but excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TSTBJacobs
New York New York
Apr 13, 2012

My birthday lodging............

After booking my reservation weeks in advance I arrived at the hotel to find that I had to pay parking...this is while I observe an individual getting off of his bicycle and chaining it to a palm tree I ask my self....self does this man live here or something this is not the corner store where you have to secure your bike outside so no one will steal it.............I would never book thru u again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlleyGaytorMan
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 15, 2011

Friendly staff, decent accommodations.

I used the hotel as my headquarters to look at properties to purchase. They need to update the guest directories in the rooms, they were outdated. I told them and they knew it and were already working on that project. That was my only complaint and it was very minor. I've only had one really bad experience with hotels. This place was about as good as they get for the price in a downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is right in downtown Tampa. I wasn't there to check out the night life, but there were many more "upscale" hotels in the immediate area that I'm sure were much more expensive. It was a perfect deal for my needs.

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PoiseNivy
Holiday, FL
Jun 6, 2011

Good price for the location

It is a nice hotel, staff was very friendly and accomidating. I saw a play at the Straz across the street and walked along the river after. I had a wonderful evening and felt safe. I wish the room had a fridge, but overall it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to enjoy a play at the Straz Performing Arts Center. The hotel has a restaurant inside for added convience.

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
buffalo, ny
Apr 13, 2011

nice staff, sporadic van service

The location was convenient, the price good, the staff nice, but the van service was sporadic. The pool access was difficult for handicap people. The room was clean, view was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 30, 2010

Bad service no internet

I was overcharged. Also my room had no internet connectivity and no refrigerator. I was charged for extra night even though I left early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
west lafayette, indiana
May 8, 2010

nice hotel

was there to see my brother thru an operation. the free shuttle to Tampa hospital was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doorcountydi
Door County, WI
Nov 10, 2009

It was fine

I stayed only one night to board my cruise ship. Bar was extremely LOUD (it was Halloween) and not closed off well enough from dining room. Food was good, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search