$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

3 stars
111 W Fortune St, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Confy stay

Easy to arrive from airport . Check inn/ out : easy and fast . Girls from front desk, nice and... See full review

  • cinnamon hot
  • Aug 2, 2014
Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing... See full review

  • Shawn Hampton
  • Nov 15, 2013
Hotel offers free Wi-Fi and Lifestyle Fitness in Tampa’s cultural mecca

The Howard Johnson Plaza is an ideal place to stay for travelers making a cultural visit to the Tampa Bay area. The property sits adjacent to the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Museum of Art. The Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, St. Pete Times Forum and Port of Tampa are located a mile from the hotel. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

HIGHLIGHTS
  • Free shuttle service from the hotel to Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals with advance notice
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in rooms and public areas
  • Complimentary use of Lifestyle Fitness Center
ROOMS

All rooms feature single-cup coffee maker, iron with ironing board, programmable alarm clock, hairdryer, individual climate control and satellite TV featuring HBO. Microwaves and refrigerators are available in some rooms.

FEATURES

The Howard Johnson Plaza is two miles from Channelside Bay Plaza, a premier dining and entertainment complex, plus Florida Aquarium and Ybor City. The property is home to Tampa's famous Waterworks Bar & Grill. Try the meatloaf and mash specialty. The property is within walking distance to many other national restaurant chains. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

TRANSPORTATION
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • Tampa airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle service for The Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals and Tampa General Hospital with advance notice
LOCAL ATTRACTIONS
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science & Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Tampa Bay Performing Art Center
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Channelside Bay Plaza
  • Historic Ybor City
BUSINESS
  • 6,800 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Main ballroom has a capacity to hold 350 people
  • Breakout rooms can hold meetings for 20-60 people
POLICES & FEES
  • Pets Welcome, $75.00 US one time charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9533 -82.4638
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.8 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.2 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 97
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerSolo
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 14, 2014

Solid and satisfactory

It turned out to be a bit far from the convention center, but the free shuttle was very accommodating. They eve took me one morning 15 minutes before the shuttle service was scheduled to start. TV was "snowy", but to be fair, I never called and asked them to fix it. Basic, functional rooms, which is all I need when traveling on business. I didn't try any of the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tech guy
Business
UK
Jun 9, 2014

Acceptable for the money

Mostly OK, but looks tired and run down in bar and breakfast room. Needs a facelift. On two days there was no hot water in the morning on at least two floors. Breakfast buffet was basic and chairs looked dirty and stained. No orange juice one morning! In Florida! The lobby area has been updated and is comfortable so hopefully the other areas will follow. Although it is 2 km from convention center the hotel has two free shuttle buses which will take you anywhere within 2 miles. Given limitations, the price was fair compared with hotels closer to convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
diva travel queen
Business
new orleans, la
May 18, 2014

easy place to stay

The staff at this hotel are extremely nice and personable. The check in process was quick and easy. The food in the restaurant is very good, but also pretty expensive. However, the bar has a really good happy hour everyday where certain drinks are reduced price and, as a result, very reasonable. The hallways of my floor smelled musty and just a bit moldy when I got off the elevator. In the rooms, the smell wasn't that noticeable. The sleeping part of the room seemed pretty clean the first day. However, I accidentally spilled something on the comforter and the next day, instead of cleaning the comforter, they flipped it over and put the dirty spot towards the sheets. This inspired me to check the cleanliness of other areas of the room. In the shower, there is a no slip mat. Towards the faucet, it was no longer adhering to the bathtub. When I lifted it, I was appalled! There were about 40 short black curly hairs stuck to the mat. Needless to say, I was pretty much done! The fact that the staff was friendly in most of the hotel does not make up for the fact that I felt like I was staying in filth. Who wants that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Tampa Bay Brew House in Ygor City. Great food and great beer! They also have valet parking for a steal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meg the Student Traveler
Business
Minnesota
Apr 14, 2014

Decent Hotel for a Short Stay

This hotel is nothing special, but it was the cheapest option I found within a reasonable distance of the convention center. It met my basic needs and the staff was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn Hampton
Business
Morehead City, North Carolina
Nov 15, 2013

Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing and able to accommodate the smallest of smallest desire to every one that enter into the front door was truly amazing. We were attending the Clean Gulf Conference that was held at the Tampa Convention Center. The shuttle was there every time we called. Dinner at the restuanut was a home run! We had the salmon!! We found out that the GM ate the salmon everyday for lunch!! ( Great sign!) It was just the well informed lady that gave the response that was needed to say yes to the salmon! We would join this "family of great staff" all over again. Great job Mr. Salmon and to your A plus staff!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Salmon!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ssdove
Business
Alexandria, VA
Apr 16, 2013

It's a Howard Johnsons, not the Ritz

Property is neat and clean, I noticed the staff every morning sweeping and cleaning the parking lot up. The hotel is a older building and the rooms are average in size. It appears they are updating the hotel and my room had not been updated. Housekeeping could do a better job, one day cleaned up room and did not refresh coffee service, next day only change towels out and at 10:30 pm the towels were still in the hallway. They do provide a shuttle within 2 miles of hotel, so Convention Center, Port and riverwalk are all within the radius and it runs until 11 pm. The hotel is a dorm for a local college, I did not have much interaction with the kids so it was not a issue to me. Overall, need a room it was not bad and about what I expected from a HoJo's. I only had breakfast at the on site restaurant, so cannot really comment there. Once they finish the update, it may go up in rating but I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howich
Business
Binghamton, NY
Apr 12, 2013

Parking Fee

I was disappointed to find out when I got there, that they have a separate, extra parking fee not included in your on-line payment. SURPRISE! What's that, an extra 10% they pick up that way?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kim barry
Business
delaware
Mar 26, 2013

comfortable, nice amenities (razor etc)

experience was good. Staff was very helpfull. Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BettyC
Business
Ft Myers, FL
Feb 28, 2013

Not Recommended

Our room smelled like mildew. We found long dark hairs in our bed and in the bathroom and blood spots on the sheets. It was gross and way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpiderGhost
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 30, 2013

Just good enough for an overnight business stay

For the money and geographic convenience of my business trip, this hotel was serviceable. I would classify the rooms and overall appearance as run down. However, the front desk was very helpful and the shuttle service they have was basically like a free cab to go wherever you want downtown. Quick note: floors 2 through 9 are being used as dorms for U of Tampa students. They seemed well behaved, just makes for crowded lobby/elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search