$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

3 stars
111 W Fortune St, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
147 reviews
Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing... See full review

  • Shawn Hampton
  • Nov 15, 2013
Great place to visit with UT grandson

Hotel and location were great. I give you a High 5!. One suggestion - I was aware of the Hotel... See full review

  • Dom's GG
  • Oct 18, 2013
Hotel offers free Wi-Fi and Lifestyle Fitness in Tampa’s cultural mecca

The Howard Johnson Plaza is an ideal place to stay for travelers making a cultural visit to the Tampa Bay area. The property sits adjacent to the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Museum of Art. The Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, St. Pete Times Forum and Port of Tampa are located a mile from the hotel. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

HIGHLIGHTS
  • Free shuttle service from the hotel to Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals with advance notice
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in rooms and public areas
  • Complimentary use of Lifestyle Fitness Center
ROOMS

All rooms feature single-cup coffee maker, iron with ironing board, programmable alarm clock, hairdryer, individual climate control and satellite TV featuring HBO. Microwaves and refrigerators are available in some rooms.

FEATURES

The Howard Johnson Plaza is two miles from Channelside Bay Plaza, a premier dining and entertainment complex, plus Florida Aquarium and Ybor City. The property is home to Tampa's famous Waterworks Bar & Grill. Try the meatloaf and mash specialty. The property is within walking distance to many other national restaurant chains. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

TRANSPORTATION
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • Tampa airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle service for The Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals and Tampa General Hospital with advance notice
LOCAL ATTRACTIONS
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science & Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Tampa Bay Performing Art Center
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Channelside Bay Plaza
  • Historic Ybor City
BUSINESS
  • 6,800 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Main ballroom has a capacity to hold 350 people
  • Breakout rooms can hold meetings for 20-60 people
POLICES & FEES
  • Pets Welcome, $75.00 US one time charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9533 -82.4638
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.8 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.2 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sandy132432
new york
Mar 17, 2014

good location bad service

below average no service cleaning at all for 2 days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 30, 2010

Bad service no internet

I was overcharged. Also my room had no internet connectivity and no refrigerator. I was charged for extra night even though I left early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TSTBJacobs
New York New York
Apr 13, 2012

My birthday lodging............

After booking my reservation weeks in advance I arrived at the hotel to find that I had to pay parking...this is while I observe an individual getting off of his bicycle and chaining it to a palm tree I ask my self....self does this man live here or something this is not the corner store where you have to secure your bike outside so no one will steal it.............I would never book thru u again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit, mi
May 28, 2009

not the worst hotel...

The location was perfect for my needs. However, the room was small and crowded. The most disappointing was being notified of the $8 per night parking fee which was not on Orbitz web site and not on the hotel's website. There are no other parking options in the vicinity, and it was an unguarded, unsecure lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Titusville, FL
Feb 27, 2010

Horrible

I had some property stolen from my room while I was away from the hotel all day. I reported the problem to the manager on duty who told me that he would look into it. The next day he reported that the housekeeper said that she didn't take anything so he decided to look in the lost and found, amazingly my property was in the lost in found after the manager spoke to the housekeeper. Completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BettyC
Business
Ft Myers, FL
Feb 28, 2013

Not Recommended

Our room smelled like mildew. We found long dark hairs in our bed and in the bathroom and blood spots on the sheets. It was gross and way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 30, 2010

Bad service no internet

I was overcharged. Also my room had no internet connectivity and no refrigerator. I was charged for extra night even though I left early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Vermont
Mar 13, 2010

The bad

There was no hot water for a shower in the morning. Had to fix the toiler myself because the water kept running. The morning breakfast was not good. The good part about the stay was the location and the shuttle to the cruse ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Vermont
Mar 13, 2010

The bad

There was no hot water for a shower in the morning. Had to fix the toiler myself because the water kept running. The morning breakfast was not good. The good part about the stay was the location and the shuttle to the cruse ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit, mi
May 28, 2009

not the worst hotel...

The location was perfect for my needs. However, the room was small and crowded. The most disappointing was being notified of the $8 per night parking fee which was not on Orbitz web site and not on the hotel's website. There are no other parking options in the vicinity, and it was an unguarded, unsecure lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top