$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

3 stars
111 W Fortune St, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Confy stay

Easy to arrive from airport . Check inn/ out : easy and fast . Girls from front desk, nice and... See full review

  • cinnamon hot
  • Aug 2, 2014
Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing... See full review

  • Shawn Hampton
  • Nov 15, 2013
Hotel offers free Wi-Fi and Lifestyle Fitness in Tampa’s cultural mecca

The Howard Johnson Plaza is an ideal place to stay for travelers making a cultural visit to the Tampa Bay area. The property sits adjacent to the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Museum of Art. The Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, St. Pete Times Forum and Port of Tampa are located a mile from the hotel. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

HIGHLIGHTS
  • Free shuttle service from the hotel to Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals with advance notice
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in rooms and public areas
  • Complimentary use of Lifestyle Fitness Center
ROOMS

All rooms feature single-cup coffee maker, iron with ironing board, programmable alarm clock, hairdryer, individual climate control and satellite TV featuring HBO. Microwaves and refrigerators are available in some rooms.

FEATURES

The Howard Johnson Plaza is two miles from Channelside Bay Plaza, a premier dining and entertainment complex, plus Florida Aquarium and Ybor City. The property is home to Tampa's famous Waterworks Bar & Grill. Try the meatloaf and mash specialty. The property is within walking distance to many other national restaurant chains. Guests enjoy free shuttle service from the hotel to cruise terminals, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and use of the Lifestyle Fitness Center at no extra fee.

TRANSPORTATION
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (20 minutes)
  • Tampa airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle service for The Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals and Tampa General Hospital with advance notice
LOCAL ATTRACTIONS
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science & Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Tampa Bay Performing Art Center
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Channelside Bay Plaza
  • Historic Ybor City
BUSINESS
  • 6,800 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Main ballroom has a capacity to hold 350 people
  • Breakout rooms can hold meetings for 20-60 people
POLICES & FEES
  • Pets Welcome, $75.00 US one time charge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

27.9533 -82.4638
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.8 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.2 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Hockey Fan
Boston, MA
Apr 9, 2012

Very Good Value

There are more luxurious properties available in the area, but this hotel is definitely a very good value. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The location to downtown and several local attractions is great, and if you need to get somewhere a little outside of the immediate area, the shuttle system that they have in place is terrific. Next time I am in Tampa, i will stay at this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining, shopping and entertainment in the Ocean Park area, which is a short walk fron the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRAVELLER TO GO
DOWNTOWN TAMPA, FL
Jan 13, 2011

TRAVELLER TO GO

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. IM USUALLY NOT EXTREMELY PICKY BECAUSE I UNDERSTAND THE "NOT HAVES" OF YOUR OWN BED. BUT THIS HOTEL COULD STAND SOME RENOVATION. NOT ONLY THAT, I'M NOT A SMOKE AND WAS PLACED IN A "SMOKING" ROOM AND WAS APOLOGIZED TO FOR THE INCONVIENCE. LIKE I SAID, IM NOT PICKY BUT HOW DOES AN APOLOGY SOOTH MY SINUSES? I WAS EXTREMELY OFFENDED BY THE PLACEMENT. I WOULDN'T PLACE THIS AS THE LAST PLACE I WOULD STAY, BUT IT WOULDN'T BE ON MY TOP 5.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Oct 10, 2010

Reasonable location at reasonable Price

Good hotel, friendly nice staff. Has a schuttle which will take you two miles of the hotel which reaches most places in down town. Way better than paying 199 dollars a night for Marriot. I paid 70 dollars a night here and got a free schuttle to the convention center every morning and then pick up every afternood and saved about 400 dollars for the trip. Again, this is a key point-PICK UP. So I call the hotel and they send the schuttle to me and take me back to the hotel- nice. Also- be aware that Yarbor city which Tampa is trying to attract people to go to is in the middle of a getto. I found it interesting that no Tampa bay resident I spoke with said to be there past 10 at night. Two floors are used to house Florida college students. I experienced no noise- just some college kids in the lobby. All in all not much different than a lobby of a regular hotel. I don't blame the hotel for doing this in this economy. If I go to Tampa again I will stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock, TX
Oct 4, 2010

More of a Motel than a Hotel

It's just a hotel but more of a motel type environment; not much in the way of gratis amenities. Included Wi-Fi of sorts but very poor coverage and no network jack in room; 3 floors were being used as dormitory housing for local college so lots of kids running around using business services. Restaurant was supposed to be hot and cold buffet but only cold was available on 2 of my 3 days there. Room was neat but toilet ran continuously and feet were black from carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adstraveler
Business
Boulder, CO
Sep 25, 2010

Pleasant, but not over the top

The only problem was the fact that the restaurant closed from 10 - 11 am. I was on Mountain Time looking for breakfast and had to have a little hike to go to an off location restaurant. This was not convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is right by the Straz Performing Arts Center as well as the Arts Museum and the Library.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 24, 2010

Low price

This Hotel provided very reasonable service for the lowest price I could find for the downtown location. No complains at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Baltimore, MD
Aug 29, 2010

Welcome Home

The reason for our visit was to get our daughter settled in as a freshman at Univ of Tampa. The hotel was very busy with the influx of so many new students; the service was exceptional. Without exception, all staff members were accommodating and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
July 2010 Exam Bar Taker
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 7, 2010

Pretty good for the Price

I stayed at this hotel for the Florida Bar Exam. The Hotel was in a great location (within walking distance of the exam location) and they did their best to accommodate everyone there. There was a special in-room menu discounted for those taking the exam. They also had free shuttles for those that did not want to walk to the exam. There were some problems, however. The decor of the halls is scary at best. My own hotel room smelled like mold, because it seems the air conditioner was leaking and it made the carpet smell. Other than that, I appreciated that the hotel was quiet and that everyone was very accomodating. Some surprises. They charge about $8 a night to park! Also, the shuttle that picks you up from the airport was not free. They charged me $13 one way (and they offered me $20 roundtrip). Mind you, the hotels is only about 10 minutes away from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 30, 2010

Bad service no internet

I was overcharged. Also my room had no internet connectivity and no refrigerator. I was charged for extra night even though I left early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Musicale
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 26, 2010

My experience

Not so clean.. people around was very noisy and I was afraid of getting out of the room at night. The only good thing is location but is not all that. Could be cleaner..... Didn't like it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dorado, PR
Jul 19, 2010

Two different worlds

I stayed for two different days, so I get two different rooms. The first day was excellent, nice and clean room, good air conditioned, clean bathroom, etc. But the second day was another thing. The room smell badly, the air conditioned do not work properly, the bed was inconfortable and the bath was almost clogged. It was kind of like to be in a different hotel. So if you asked me of my first day I will strongly recommend it. If you ask me of my second stay I will tell you, check your room first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search