$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

3 stars
111 W Fortune St, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
147 reviews
Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing... See full review

  • Shawn Hampton
  • Nov 15, 2013
Great place to visit with UT grandson

Hotel and location were great. I give you a High 5!. One suggestion - I was aware of the Hotel... See full review

  • Dom's GG
  • Oct 18, 2013
The Tampa Downtown Howard Johnson Plaza hotel features totally guest renovated rooms and public areas. The Tampa Downtown Howard Johnson Plaza is located adjacent to the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Museum of Art. WaterWorks Bar and Grille is our on-site Restaurant and Bar. The hotel is 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, and the St Pete Times Forum. Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals are 2 mile with free shuttle service available from the hotel with advance notice. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa Downtown is 2 miles from Channel Side district - dining and entertainment complex. Florida Aquarium, and Ybor City. Tampa International Airport is only six miles away with shuttle service available at a charge. On Site Parking - 8.00 Dollars per night. Pets Welcome, 2 maximum,under 5lbs.,75.00 Dollars per pet,per stay.Tamp Airport Shuttle 13.00 Dollars Per Person Each Way and Free Shuttle Service for The Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals and Tampa General Hospital and points of interest with a 2 mi. radius.

Hotel Map

27.9533 -82.4638
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 1.1 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1.2 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.8 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.3 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.8 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.1 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.2 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.1 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.8 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.1 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CapricornB
Quincy
Aug 14, 2012

Perfect Location

It was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful although I was not able to enjoy any good movies because of all the stupid shows unless I paid of course. They have a few hidden fees that I was not aware of until I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tech guy
Business
UK
Jun 9, 2014

Acceptable for the money

Mostly OK, but looks tired and run down in bar and breakfast room. Needs a facelift. On two days there was no hot water in the morning on at least two floors. Breakfast buffet was basic and chairs looked dirty and stained. No orange juice one morning! In Florida! The lobby area has been updated and is comfortable so hopefully the other areas will follow. Although it is 2 km from convention center the hotel has two free shuttle buses which will take you anywhere within 2 miles. Given limitations, the price was fair compared with hotels closer to convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
diva travel queen
Business
new orleans, la
May 18, 2014

easy place to stay

The staff at this hotel are extremely nice and personable. The check in process was quick and easy. The food in the restaurant is very good, but also pretty expensive. However, the bar has a really good happy hour everyday where certain drinks are reduced price and, as a result, very reasonable. The hallways of my floor smelled musty and just a bit moldy when I got off the elevator. In the rooms, the smell wasn't that noticeable. The sleeping part of the room seemed pretty clean the first day. However, I accidentally spilled something on the comforter and the next day, instead of cleaning the comforter, they flipped it over and put the dirty spot towards the sheets. This inspired me to check the cleanliness of other areas of the room. In the shower, there is a no slip mat. Towards the faucet, it was no longer adhering to the bathtub. When I lifted it, I was appalled! There were about 40 short black curly hairs stuck to the mat. Needless to say, I was pretty much done! The fact that the staff was friendly in most of the hotel does not make up for the fact that I felt like I was staying in filth. Who wants that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Tampa Bay Brew House in Ygor City. Great food and great beer! They also have valet parking for a steal!

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bmurph
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2014

Average hotel stay

The value was great but the hotel could use some room renovations. The sink had a huge crack, carpet was unattached from the walls leaving big gap between floor and wall, and carpet was dirty beneath air conditioner unit. Otherwise location is convenient, there is free parking, and access to river walk/view is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Datz restaurant near Howard street has fantastic food and drinks and even has a bakery next door!

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meg the Student Traveler
Business
Minnesota
Apr 14, 2014

Decent Hotel for a Short Stay

This hotel is nothing special, but it was the cheapest option I found within a reasonable distance of the convention center. It met my basic needs and the staff was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OttoF
Pa
Apr 7, 2014

Average

No handicapped accessaible room available. no offer to provide simple things to accommodate a handicapped need. HUGE waste of water from the shower and the john. Needed to change rooms as the tub did not empty, standing in 6 inches of water. Breakfast included in on the net site, but there was a charge and the offerigs were mediocore at best. no hot water option (tea), no hot chocolate as an option. But the staff were accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ManC
Boston, MA
Apr 3, 2014

Nothing Special

The bathroom had a few hairs on the counter top and in the sink that my wife noticed and we didn't get towels after room service came after our second night. Still not a bad value and the location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sandy132432
new york
Mar 17, 2014

good location bad service

below average no service cleaning at all for 2 days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
odfamily
Maine
Feb 24, 2014

poor

Overall poor. Location was nice, just at the end of the Riverwalk. Staff was just fine. Shuttle was on time and friendly. The hotel needs some serious renovations. From missing floor tiles in the lobby area to rust on the fixtures in the bathroom, mold in the bathroom, mattress that was very uncomfortable, keys that did not work to our room, bathroom light did not work (they sent a workman up to no avail so they put a broken floor lamp in for light) and a toilet that ran all night. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn Hampton
Business
Morehead City, North Carolina
Nov 15, 2013

Willingness to please!!

The spirit of every employee at this hotel was that of welcoming and gracious. They were willing and able to accommodate the smallest of smallest desire to every one that enter into the front door was truly amazing. We were attending the Clean Gulf Conference that was held at the Tampa Convention Center. The shuttle was there every time we called. Dinner at the restuanut was a home run! We had the salmon!! We found out that the GM ate the salmon everyday for lunch!! ( Great sign!) It was just the well informed lady that gave the response that was needed to say yes to the salmon! We would join this "family of great staff" all over again. Great job Mr. Salmon and to your A plus staff!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Salmon!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dom's GG
New Jersey
Oct 18, 2013

Great place to visit with UT grandson

Hotel and location were great. I give you a High 5!. One suggestion - I was aware of the Hotel housing IT students and was fine with it. I overheard another guest say that they were not aware of it and think they should have been told in advance.that there may be some more activity in the elevators, lobby and outside the front entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top