$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 21, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

4 stars
View map of 2900 Bayport Dr, TAMPA, FL 33607

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
105 reviews
Perfect Airport Location

The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was amazing. The lobby was amazing. And the reserve... See full review

  • Robert G.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Romantic Airport Hotel? Why yes

Spent an anniversary night there with all meals in the hotel restaurants. Spectacular service,... See full review

  • historichotelperson
  • Jan 27, 2015
Tampa Bay luxury hotel on the border of a nature preserve

A premier Tampa Bay hotel, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is a haven for wildlife that features luxury accommodations for guests. Egrets and herons roam the hotel's lush 35-acre grounds. Set along a wildlife preserve on the upper shores of the Bay, Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers luxury amenities and stunning water views for leisure or business travelers. Savor cuisine with a regional influence in the award-winning restaurants. Perfectly located, the Grand Hyatt is just minutes from the airport, downtown and beaches.

Highlights
  • Nature trail  and wildlife estuary
  • Complimentary transportation to world-class shopping at International Plaza and Bay Street
  • Award-winning Armani's Restaurant on 14th floor with floor-to-ceiling views of Tampa Bay
Rooms

Scan the incredible city skyline and bay views from the west Tampa accommodations. Luxurious rooms feature one king or two double signature Hyatt Grand Beds with soft sheets, ultra-plush pillows and thick down blankets. The spacious 350 square foot guest rooms feature 37-inch flat screen TV, granite bath with deluxe Portico spa products, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and video checkout. A spacious work area offers a comfortable place to work with generous lighting and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay features an outdoor lap pool, free-form pool and whirlpool, 24-hour gym, 24-hour business center, gift shop and florist.  Massage services can also be arranged. The property features two tennis courts, ping pong and lawn games. Award-winning Armani's Italian restaurant has a famous antipasto bar and stunning views from the 14th floor overlooking Tampa Bay with floor-to-ceiling windows. Oystercatchers prepares fresh wild and line-caught fish with a variety of sauces and relishes designed to enhance natural flavors.  Lobster macaroni and cheese or seafood paella are house specialties.  

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (1.2 mi/2 km )
  • Complimentary shuttle to airport, International Plaza and Bayside for shopping
Local Attractions
  • International Plaza (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Westshore Plaza Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Raymond James Stadium (2.9 mi/4.6 km )
  • Busch Gardens  (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Business

The property has more than 22,000 square feet of function space and an outdoor deck and pool area for receptions.  Expert meeting planners and an audiovisual team are available onsite, as well as a creative catering team.
    Policies and fees
    • Petey Brown’s Restaurant will be closed for renovations from 8 July until 2 October 2013.  During this time Breakfast will be served daily in Armani’s on the 14th floor overlooking Old Tampa Bay and lunch daily in the free-standing Restaurant, Oystercatchers.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Rooms

    Concierge
    Either City or Bay Views with Grand Club access
    Deluxe
    Bay View
    Standard
    1 King or 2 Double beds, 350 square feet, city views, located on all floors throughout the hotel,

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Heated pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Executive level
    FEMA approved
    Activities
    Heated pool
    Fitness Center
    Exercise gym
    Jacuzzi
    Sauna
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Game room
    Jogging track
    Tennis
    Play ground
    Scuba diving
    Fishing
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Continental breakfast
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Coffee shop
    Room service
    Family plan
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Express check in
    Express checkout
    Childcare Service
    Concierge desk
    Laundry/Valet services
    ATM/Cash machine
    Nursery for children
    Security
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Porters
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Copy service
    Currency exchange
    News stand
    Overhead projector
    Audio visual equipment
    Projector
    Conference suite
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Transportation
    Free airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible rooms
    Accessible parking
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Safe
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Heated guest rooms
    Hairdryer in room
    Fire alarm with light
    Turndown service
    Bathroom telephone
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    International direct dial
    Smoke detectors
    Sprinklers in rooms
    Bath tub

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    27.9649 -82.5487
    Nearby airports
    Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 2.00, MI, SW; St. Pete/Clearwater Intl Airport, (PIE), 16.00, MI, SW;
    Area description
    Airport

    Nearby points of interest

    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 6.2 mi
    • Tampa Port Authority: 6.4 mi
    • Florida Aquarium: 6.5 mi
    • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 6.5 mi
    • Ybor City State Museum: 6.7 mi
    • Ybor City: 6.9 mi
    • Tampa Bay Downs: 8.4 mi
    • Busch Gardens: 9.2 mi
    • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.7 mi
    • Adventure Island: 9.8 mi
    • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.9 mi
    • Tampa Theatre: 10.7 mi
    • Museum of Science and Industry: 10.7 mi
    • Sun Dome: 10.9 mi
    • Lettuce Lake Park: 13 mi
    • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 15 mi
    • Morris Bridge Park: 16.2 mi
    • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.8 mi

    Dining

    Oystercatchers
    The view is enchanting; the menu inspiring Oystercatchers offers the freshest variety of irresistible seafood and specialties. Open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch.
    Armani*s
    Armani*s, the most delectable Northern Italian cuisine high atop the 14th floor with breathtaking views. Exquisite antipasto and pasta, superb veal, lamb and quail. Major awards include AAA 4-Diamond, Mobil 4-Star, Wine Spectator, Dirona Award and Golden
    1823 Kitchen and Bar
    Innovative American cuisine the selection at 1823 Kitchen and Bar is as inviting as the bayside view. Casual dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. Weekday Lunch Buffet.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (105)

    Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    20 out of 105
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.9

    85% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    veglijp23458
    Business
    Mobile, AL
    Oct 1, 2014

    One night stay

    Excellent service, property has everything you need.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    the pier to the water is very nice.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ddelilah
    Business
    Arlington, VA
    Jul 26, 2014

    Overall very nice

    The hotel is quite nice and within a short drive to most anything you need. The staff was very friendly and room very nice. The only downfall to my room in particular was that being on the 3rd floor looking towards the bay a portion of your view is looking at a roof below. I would recommend spending the extra $30 when booking for the bay view, which puts you on a higher floor.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Definitely catch a lunch or dinner at the nearby Oystercatchers restaurant. Great food and atmosphere. The crab bisque was absolutely delicious!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Timmothy
    Business
    Minnesota
    Jul 25, 2014

    vVery Nice and Clean Hotel

    Staff very nice, helpful and price reasonable. Place was very clean.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    Food and amenities.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    The Carters
    Business
    Burlington, NC, USA
    Jun 25, 2014

    Nice Hotel

    The hotel is nice, the staff is very polite and professional. The pool is smaller that it shows in the pictures. Overall, good hotel, we will be back!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    bruck
    Business
    alaska
    Jun 9, 2014

    great place

    I am a lactating mother and was away from my baby for 5 days. I asked for a freezer to store my milk in when I arrived. They didn't have a way to do this in the room. I was upset for a couple hours, worrying about having to go to their locked freezer and ask somebody to let me in every 3-5 hours. Then, they called me and told me they went out and bought me a freezer. They brought it up and plugged it in and I was good to go a couple hours later. I was very pleased that they made the effort to accomodate me. future mothers will appreciate it, too.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    they have three restaraunts in hotel.. all excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Pharma Traveler
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Aug 9, 2012

    It is a fantastic hotel!

    The staff is very well trained, polite, & exceedingly helpful. They will do whatever it takes to meet your needs. The hotel sits on a 40 acre property & every inch of it is exceptionaly clean & perfectly maintained. Both pools, the fitness room, and conference rooms were all more than I expected. First rate hotel and staff!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    The hotel has a free shuttle that will runs to/from the airport & makes frequent visits to Tampa. With a little planning, you could do without a rental car if you aren't planning to do a lot of sight seeing.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    fairbanks57
    Business
    Orlando FL
    Jun 23, 2012

    Enjoyable experience

    Had an enjoyable stay. Staff were polite, helpful and courteous. Room was clean, spacious, quiet. Took a while to get hot water in the shower. I was disappointed that the room had no refrigerator. I expected one at the room rate I paid.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Garrettp
    Business
    Austin, TX, USA
    Jun 4, 2012

    Hyatt Brand Didn't Live Up To The Hype

    I'm a business traveler with several hotel memberships. This was the first time I decided to give the Hyatt my business and it was disappointing. All the basics were there, but I've had better experiences at other brand hotels for far less money. The pros: Room was fine, bathroom was fine, Free parking was nice and the restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The cons: Internet is $10 per day and the connection on our floor was very poor. Most less expensive brand hotels offer free Internet and a solid reliable connection in my experience. I even walked around the hotel with my laptop and various floors...only great connection was in the lobby area. The coffee in the Lobby restaurant was terrible. My wife and I both couldn't drink our coffee it was so strong and bitter. When I complained, the waitress responded: "Well that's a fresh pot and that's how we make our coffee. People either love it or hate it". We hated it and had it taken off our bill. We would have rather had good coffee...ya know like the stuff you can get at IHOP and McDonalds any day of the week. We wound up ordering what turned out to be a very small glass of orange juice for $6.00 each. There was water dripping from the ceiling in the lobby restaurant. The waitress said the hotel was under renovation and water was dripping in several locations. Does it take a rocket scientist to ensure guests don't get dripped on? My wife and I both got water drips on business attire. We just scooted our chairs over since the waitress didn't offer to re-seat us. The maid did not restock our soap our shampoo and conditioner once during our 4 day stay. We had brought some backups...but c'mon Hyatt management...really? Basics not even covered. Apparently the Hyatt folks believe in throwing up a beautiful hotel, but then wholly miss the mark on very rudimentary basics and "higher standard" services you'd expect to find at this class of hotel. I likely won't choose Hyatt in the future.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    BullisB
    Business
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Jan 12, 2012

    Great overnight business stop

    Treated well, comfortable clean, good tv, good food

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Edison, NJ
    Jul 27, 2011

    Some disappointments

    This was a one day business trip. The shuttle had me (and another hotel guest) sitting at the airport for about 45 minutes until I called the hotel. They authorized a cab, but it was a poor introduction to their services. I had a little time before my business appt and wanted to take a dip in the pool. The pool was out of service. They had arrangements with a nearby pool, but this did not work with my schedule. VERY disappointing. I had tconfirmed the pool when I booked and would have gone to another hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top