$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

4 stars
2900 Bayport Dr, TAMPA, FL 33607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
101 reviews
GATEWAY

NICE! very happy with everything - will go back again See full review

  • trophyjoe
  • Jul 14, 2014
Nice weekend rendezvous

We were very happy with our Stay at the grand Hyatt Hotel. The staff was friendly courteous and... See full review

  • Jojoamooky
  • May 28, 2014
Tampa Bay luxury hotel on the border of a nature preserve

A premier Tampa Bay hotel, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is a haven for wildlife that features luxury accommodations for guests. Egrets and herons roam the hotel's lush 35-acre grounds. Set along a wildlife preserve on the upper shores of the Bay, Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers luxury amenities and stunning water views for leisure or business travelers. Savor cuisine with a regional influence in the award-winning restaurants. Perfectly located, the Grand Hyatt is just minutes from the airport, downtown and beaches.

Highlights
  • Nature trail  and wildlife estuary
  • Complimentary transportation to world-class shopping at International Plaza and Bay Street
  • Award-winning Armani's Restaurant on 14th floor with floor-to-ceiling views of Tampa Bay
Rooms

Scan the incredible city skyline and bay views from the west Tampa accommodations. Luxurious rooms feature one king or two double signature Hyatt Grand Beds with soft sheets, ultra-plush pillows and thick down blankets. The spacious 350 square foot guest rooms feature 37-inch flat screen TV, granite bath with deluxe Portico spa products, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and video checkout. A spacious work area offers a comfortable place to work with generous lighting and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay features an outdoor lap pool, free-form pool and whirlpool, 24-hour gym, 24-hour business center, gift shop and florist.  Massage services can also be arranged. The property features two tennis courts, ping pong and lawn games. Award-winning Armani's Italian restaurant has a famous antipasto bar and stunning views from the 14th floor overlooking Tampa Bay with floor-to-ceiling windows. Oystercatchers prepares fresh wild and line-caught fish with a variety of sauces and relishes designed to enhance natural flavors.  Lobster macaroni and cheese or seafood paella are house specialties.  

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (1.2 mi/2 km )
  • Complimentary shuttle to airport, International Plaza and Bayside for shopping
Local Attractions
  • International Plaza (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Westshore Plaza Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Raymond James Stadium (2.9 mi/4.6 km )
  • Busch Gardens  (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Business

The property has more than 22,000 square feet of function space and an outdoor deck and pool area for receptions.  Expert meeting planners and an audiovisual team are available onsite, as well as a creative catering team.
    Policies and fees
    • Petey Brown’s Restaurant will be closed for renovations from 8 July until 2 October 2013.  During this time Breakfast will be served daily in Armani’s on the 14th floor overlooking Old Tampa Bay and lunch daily in the free-standing Restaurant, Oystercatchers.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    27.9649 -82.5487
    Nearby airports
    Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 2.00, MI, SW; St. Pete/Clearwater Intl Airport, (PIE), 16.00, MI, SW;
    Area description
    Airport

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

    Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Rooms

    Concierge
    Either City or Bay Views with Grand Club access
    Deluxe
    Bay View
    Standard
    1 King or 2 Double beds, 350 square feet, city views, located on all floors throughout the hotel,

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Heated pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Executive level
    FEMA approved
    Activities
    Heated pool
    Fitness Center
    Exercise gym
    Jacuzzi
    Sauna
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Game room
    Jogging track
    Tennis
    Play ground
    Scuba diving
    Fishing
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Continental breakfast
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Coffee shop
    Room service
    Family plan
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Express check in
    Express checkout
    Childcare Service
    Concierge desk
    Laundry/Valet services
    ATM/Cash machine
    Nursery for children
    Security
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Porters
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Copy service
    Currency exchange
    News stand
    Overhead projector
    Audio visual equipment
    Projector
    Conference suite
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Transportation
    Free airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible rooms
    Accessible parking
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Safe
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Heated guest rooms
    Hairdryer in room
    Fire alarm with light
    Turndown service
    Bathroom telephone
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    International direct dial
    Smoke detectors
    Sprinklers in rooms
    Bath tub

    Nearby points of interest

    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 6.2 mi
    • Tampa Port Authority: 6.4 mi
    • Florida Aquarium: 6.5 mi
    • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 6.5 mi
    • Ybor City State Museum: 6.7 mi
    • Ybor City: 6.9 mi
    • Tampa Bay Downs: 8.4 mi
    • Busch Gardens: 9.2 mi
    • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.7 mi
    • Adventure Island: 9.8 mi
    • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.9 mi
    • Tampa Theatre: 10.7 mi
    • Museum of Science and Industry: 10.7 mi
    • Sun Dome: 10.9 mi
    • Lettuce Lake Park: 13 mi
    • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 15 mi
    • Morris Bridge Park: 16.2 mi
    • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.8 mi

    Dining

    Oystercatchers
    The view is enchanting; the menu inspiring Oystercatchers offers the freshest variety of irresistible seafood and specialties. Open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch.
    Armani*s
    Armani*s, the most delectable Northern Italian cuisine high atop the 14th floor with breathtaking views. Exquisite antipasto and pasta, superb veal, lamb and quail. Major awards include AAA 4-Diamond, Mobil 4-Star, Wine Spectator, Dirona Award and Golden
    1823 Kitchen and Bar
    Innovative American cuisine the selection at 1823 Kitchen and Bar is as inviting as the bayside view. Casual dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. Weekday Lunch Buffet.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (101)

    Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    101 out of 101
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    3.9

    87% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Avon, CT
    Feb 23, 2011

    Always Great

    I have made repeated visits to this hotel. It is always terrific:very clean, great bay views from the room, uncrowded pool, comfortable pool chairs, Petey Brown's breakfast has perfect assortment at the buffet. Staff is friendly and accommodating: shuttles to the airport and to the mall are prompt (and free). All in all, a wonderful place to stay-for a day or for a week!! one note of caution: drinks at the bar are expensive.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Raedy Bunch
    Manassas, VA
    May 6, 2013

    Vacation

    My stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay was phenomenal. And the staff was absolutely the best. Everything was beautiful!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Rockville, MD
    Apr 19, 2010

    Best hotel ever

    I have never had a better experience at a hotel. All the staff was extremely friendly and always knew my name. Every place we wanted to go, the front desk had printed directions to that were extremely easy to understand. Everything we needed they had and were happy to give it to us. Every night we were there, we went out to bars, and there were always cabs waiting for us outside the hotel. The pool (there are 2 but we only went to 1) was so beautiful. It has plush chairs, towels provided, and an awesome hot tub. One night, the hotel put a big screen tv by the pool and played movies. There is also a bar right next to the pool. Best trip ever.. :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The restaurant that is right next to the hotel, Oystercatcher's, is AMAZING. Must eat there.

    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    the double rang gang
    arkansas
    Oct 9, 2009

    great hotel experience

    This was a great hotel top to bottom. me and my wife planed a beach wedding and book a room here it was a smart decision. the HOT TUB!!! AWWW man! very relaxing great location close to the air port but not noisy at all. I would love to go back to florida soon, and if i go to tampa this hotel would be at the top of the list.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jenjen09
    Orlando, Florida
    Jul 15, 2013

    Great Experience!

    Staff was so accommodating and made our trip enjoyable. We stayed in the Casitas, which are bungalows with their own private pool and man made beach. Beautiful place to stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    The night life in Ybor City is not recommended on a Saturday night.

    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Runaway mom
    Baltimore, MD
    Jun 11, 2010

    Simply wonderful solo getaway

    This was my first solo trip. I love this hotel! Close to airport but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. From the moment I flew in, the shuttle service was timely and friendly. A good plus..the shuttle takes you to area shopping and restaurants. I especially enjoyed the pool and the Lounge Bar...the bar staff was GREAT!..had poolside service! The room was neat, clean, and nicely decorated. The concierge service was good. I had a great getaway. Next time I will stay in a casita room! Only suggestion would be breakfast should included with the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Oystercatchers...right on the bay

    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Dudley NC
    Sep 28, 2010

    Grand Hyatt was great

    [...] We had an empty fridge. A coffee maker with free coffee and tea. Bottled water was available in the room but very high in price. Seems as though I can't mention the price of water. I thought the GRAND Hyatt could offer a little more in the way of amenities including shower gel instead of one tiny cake of soap that wouldn't remove my wedding party makeup. Glad I had read about the shower gel in another review and brought my own. Newspapers were available in the lobby but we didn't find them until we were ready to leave. Our view was fantastic as our room overlooked the pool and the bay. There was an amazing lightening storm while we were there - something we don't see back home.The staff was wonderful right down to the doormen (very courteous and ready to give immediate assistance and information) and the van driver. We were able to book our return flight at the concierge's desk in the main lobby. She was especially helpful. This was important as we were not equipped with a laptop to make our own booking.The young girl in the gift shop was very pesonable. It was a great experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Petey Browns breakfast buffet was right there in the hotel lobby (something I couldn't find out from my internet search). The staff was ultra friendly, helpful and gave excellent service. And the buffet was 'on sale' during our stay. The bar keep at the Lobby Bar was very friendly and professional. The Lobby Bar was a great hang out for the football games on Sunday. Although the prices at Oystercathers were high for a retired couple of medium income, the dining experience was worth it - fantastic food, wonderful wait staff, great view, lovely location. We really didn't have to worry about the prices on the menu as our nephew was treating his wedding party. The lobster macaroni and cheese was not as fantastic as the waiter said it would be. Skip that one. The crab cakes were an all round favorite - full of crab.

    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jojoamooky
    Vero beach florida
    May 28, 2014

    Nice weekend rendezvous

    We were very happy with our Stay at the grand Hyatt Hotel. The staff was friendly courteous and helpful, and the restaurant and pool were fun places to hang out.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Elvis323
    boca raton, FL
    May 19, 2014

    engagement

    What can I say but elegant n modern hotel. Took my now fiance on a weekend getaway for which we got engaged. Hotel has a beautiful restaurant at the top floor over looking the bay n city. In addition, has a great nature walk with a gazebo in the bay for which I ask my fiance to marry me. The overall experience n the courtesy of the staff will categorize this as a return stay. Great bar staff too!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make sure to call ahead for reservation as it get packed.

    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Ms Bozo
    Memphis, Tn
    Oct 4, 2010

    Tampa House Hunting trip

    It was wonderful and very clean!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Oystercatchers is a "must visit".

    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search