$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 21, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

4 stars
View map of 2900 Bayport Dr, TAMPA, FL 33607

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
105 reviews
Perfect Airport Location

The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was amazing. The lobby was amazing. And the reserve... See full review

  • Robert G.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Romantic Airport Hotel? Why yes

Spent an anniversary night there with all meals in the hotel restaurants. Spectacular service,... See full review

  • historichotelperson
  • Jan 27, 2015
Tampa Bay luxury hotel on the border of a nature preserve

A premier Tampa Bay hotel, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is a haven for wildlife that features luxury accommodations for guests. Egrets and herons roam the hotel's lush 35-acre grounds. Set along a wildlife preserve on the upper shores of the Bay, Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers luxury amenities and stunning water views for leisure or business travelers. Savor cuisine with a regional influence in the award-winning restaurants. Perfectly located, the Grand Hyatt is just minutes from the airport, downtown and beaches.

Highlights
  • Nature trail  and wildlife estuary
  • Complimentary transportation to world-class shopping at International Plaza and Bay Street
  • Award-winning Armani's Restaurant on 14th floor with floor-to-ceiling views of Tampa Bay
Rooms

Scan the incredible city skyline and bay views from the west Tampa accommodations. Luxurious rooms feature one king or two double signature Hyatt Grand Beds with soft sheets, ultra-plush pillows and thick down blankets. The spacious 350 square foot guest rooms feature 37-inch flat screen TV, granite bath with deluxe Portico spa products, iHome stereo with iPod docking station and video checkout. A spacious work area offers a comfortable place to work with generous lighting and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay features an outdoor lap pool, free-form pool and whirlpool, 24-hour gym, 24-hour business center, gift shop and florist.  Massage services can also be arranged. The property features two tennis courts, ping pong and lawn games. Award-winning Armani's Italian restaurant has a famous antipasto bar and stunning views from the 14th floor overlooking Tampa Bay with floor-to-ceiling windows. Oystercatchers prepares fresh wild and line-caught fish with a variety of sauces and relishes designed to enhance natural flavors.  Lobster macaroni and cheese or seafood paella are house specialties.  

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (1.2 mi/2 km )
  • Complimentary shuttle to airport, International Plaza and Bayside for shopping
Local Attractions
  • International Plaza (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Westshore Plaza Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Raymond James Stadium (2.9 mi/4.6 km )
  • Busch Gardens  (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Business

The property has more than 22,000 square feet of function space and an outdoor deck and pool area for receptions.  Expert meeting planners and an audiovisual team are available onsite, as well as a creative catering team.
    Policies and fees
    • Petey Brown’s Restaurant will be closed for renovations from 8 July until 2 October 2013.  During this time Breakfast will be served daily in Armani’s on the 14th floor overlooking Old Tampa Bay and lunch daily in the free-standing Restaurant, Oystercatchers.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

    Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Rooms

    Concierge
    Either City or Bay Views with Grand Club access
    Deluxe
    Bay View
    Standard
    1 King or 2 Double beds, 350 square feet, city views, located on all floors throughout the hotel,

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Heated pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    Air conditioned
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Executive level
    FEMA approved
    Activities
    Heated pool
    Fitness Center
    Exercise gym
    Jacuzzi
    Sauna
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Game room
    Jogging track
    Tennis
    Play ground
    Scuba diving
    Fishing
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Continental breakfast
    Coffee maker in room
    Lounge
    Coffee shop
    Room service
    Family plan
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Express check in
    Express checkout
    Childcare Service
    Concierge desk
    Laundry/Valet services
    ATM/Cash machine
    Nursery for children
    Security
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Porters
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Copy service
    Currency exchange
    News stand
    Overhead projector
    Audio visual equipment
    Projector
    Conference suite
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Transportation
    Free airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible rooms
    Accessible parking
    Room
    Television with cable
    Radio
    Safe
    Telephone
    AM/FM alarm clock
    Desk with lamp
    Free newspaper
    Heated guest rooms
    Hairdryer in room
    Fire alarm with light
    Turndown service
    Bathroom telephone
    Cribs available
    In room movies
    Temperature control
    Electronic door locks
    Iron
    Ironing board
    International direct dial
    Smoke detectors
    Sprinklers in rooms
    Bath tub

    Nearby points of interest

    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Steinbrenner Field: 2.8 mi
    • Raymond James Stadium: 2.9 mi
    • Al Lopez Park: 3.1 mi
    • Hyde Park: 5 mi
    • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 5.3 mi
    • Henry B. Plant Museum: 5.3 mi
    • Tampa Museum of Art: 5.4 mi
    • Glazer Children's Museum: 5.4 mi
    • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 5.5 mi
    • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 5.7 mi
    • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.8 mi
    • Tampa Convention Center: 5.9 mi
    • Tampa Union Station: 6 mi
    • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 6.1 mi
    • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 6.2 mi
    • Tampa Port Authority: 6.4 mi
    • Florida Aquarium: 6.5 mi
    • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 6.5 mi
    • Ybor City State Museum: 6.7 mi
    • Ybor City: 6.9 mi
    • Tampa Bay Downs: 8.4 mi
    • Busch Gardens: 9.2 mi
    • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.7 mi
    • Adventure Island: 9.8 mi
    • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.9 mi
    • Tampa Theatre: 10.7 mi
    • Museum of Science and Industry: 10.7 mi
    • Sun Dome: 10.9 mi
    • Lettuce Lake Park: 13 mi
    • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 15 mi
    • Morris Bridge Park: 16.2 mi
    • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.8 mi

    Dining

    Oystercatchers
    The view is enchanting; the menu inspiring Oystercatchers offers the freshest variety of irresistible seafood and specialties. Open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch.
    Armani*s
    Armani*s, the most delectable Northern Italian cuisine high atop the 14th floor with breathtaking views. Exquisite antipasto and pasta, superb veal, lamb and quail. Major awards include AAA 4-Diamond, Mobil 4-Star, Wine Spectator, Dirona Award and Golden
    1823 Kitchen and Bar
    Innovative American cuisine the selection at 1823 Kitchen and Bar is as inviting as the bayside view. Casual dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. Weekday Lunch Buffet.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (105)

    Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    105 out of 105
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4

    88% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    hole_in_shoe
    Business
    USA
    Jul 4, 2010

    Great location - great hotel!

    The Hyatt Grand is close to Tampa Airport and right on the bay with beautiful views. Be sure and ask for a "bay" view. There is a shuttle that leaves and picks up from the airport every half hour starting at 5 am. The breakfast buffet is the best I've had since I can remember. Starts at 6:00 am try not to miss it. The service is very friendly, helpful and not pretenious. I wish thier casual resturant was open longer. You will enjoy this hotel!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Lots of great dining at International Westfiled Mall and Spencer Blvd

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Claremont, California
    Jun 30, 2010

    A Balance of Harmony

    It is a beautiful hotel in an out of the way location. Having stayed at other Hyatt's, Hyatt Place's and Grand Hyatt's, I had many expectations. What most impressed me was the knowledge, care and friendliness of the staff. This by far stood out when comparing it to other Hyatt hotels around the world. These are commodities that can't be bought or built into the structure. Another plus was the nature walk to the gazebo, over the wetlands adjacent to the property. The food was well-prepared, presented, and priced, for such a hotel. I especially liked the breakfast buffet with its fine selection of fresh fruits and delicious pastries. Certainly, there are areas which, when compared to other Grand Hyatts, miss the mark on excellence; I guess it just depends on what you want your 'get-away' to include. For the price, it was almost perfect for my purposes. Even so, there were areas that, objectively, were slightly less than stellar. I suppose you can't 'have your cake and eat it too.' Among the things that one might see as limiting are the small grounds areas encompassing the hotel, alternative restaurants and local shopping choices within walking distance. The rooms were well kept, but shower power and sound proof doors were lacking. I was also surprised to see that there were no robe or slippers provided, and that wi-fi was not included in the tariff. Maids calling-out and children running in the hallways was also a bit of a distraction, but I guess there wasn't a quiet zone, in which they could have placed a single, very jet-lagged resident. 'You can't have your cake and eat it too' but I'd go back...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Runaway mom
    Business
    Baltimore, MD
    Jun 11, 2010

    Simply wonderful solo getaway

    This was my first solo trip. I love this hotel! Close to airport but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. From the moment I flew in, the shuttle service was timely and friendly. A good plus..the shuttle takes you to area shopping and restaurants. I especially enjoyed the pool and the Lounge Bar...the bar staff was GREAT!..had poolside service! The room was neat, clean, and nicely decorated. The concierge service was good. I had a great getaway. Next time I will stay in a casita room! Only suggestion would be breakfast should included with the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Oystercatchers...right on the bay

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    jlape loved Tampa
    Business
    Bay St. Louis Mississippi
    Jun 10, 2010

    Very convenient to all interstates

    We had a wonderful time. We stayed in the bungalow style rooms,very nice. Most patios a joke though, some very nice, worth looking into ahead of time. Everything was easily accessible, pool, restaurant, highways for travel. Very friendly helpful staff! Although our bed was made nightly w/ clean linen the floors and bath were not truly cleaned(surface cleaned). They closed the pool for 4 hours one day for a wedding and we were not happy. Concierge sent a bottle of wine w/fruits and cheeses, very nice touch!!! We would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Columbia Restaurant

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Michigan
    Jun 3, 2010

    Nice but stuffy

    Nice hotel. Not good for vacation but great for business trips.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

    Long way

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    NIKKIANGELE
    Business
    GULF BREEZE,FL
    Jun 2, 2010

    TERMITES IN BED!!! AIRPLANES FLYING OVER

    THE HOTEL IS VERY CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT..WHAT WE DIDN'T EXPECT WAS TO HAVE A ROOM SO CLOSE TO THE FREEWAY AND TO HAVE SO MANY AIRPLANES OVER OUR HEADS AT ALL HOURS. VERY NOISY! WHEN WE GOT TO OUR ROOM IT WAS ALREADY A BIT LATE (PAST 9) WE ORDERED ROOM SERVICE AND WHEN WE FINALLY DECIDED TO GO TO BED WE DISCOVERED THAT THERE WERE TERMITES FALLING FROM THE BEAM ABOVE THE BED ONTO THE BED! IT WAS SO LATE AND WE DIDN'T WANT TO MOVE SO WE JUST KILLED AS MANY AS POSSIBLE (THEY WERE ACTUALLY IN THE SHEETS!) AND TOLD THE FRONT DESK IN THE MORNING BUT ALL THEY COULD SAY WAS...SORRY!!! NOT ANYTHING ELSE. WE CHECKED OUT AS WE HAD ONLY BOOKED FOR THE FIRST NIGHT ANYWAY AND WENT TO ANOTHER HOTEL. WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    HYATT
    Business
    GAINESVILLE, FL
    May 31, 2010

    THE BEST

    ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IN USA

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Cisco Scott
    Business
    Kansas City, MO
    May 24, 2010

    ** Not Impressed **

    I was very unimpressed. I usually try to stay at a Hyatt, Westin, Hilton or Sheraton. I was overall unimpressed *mostly with the room. You would think that for the money you would get a decent room. Not so much. I will more than likely go with the Sheraton or Westin accross the street next time, but definitely not this Hyatt. If you want a nice bar, garage parking or dining area then this is the place for you. But if your looking for a nice room ornice pool off the hotel pick a different spot. With my two cents this place gets two stars. Sidebar - Generally the valets would get the door when coming and going from the hotel. When I checked out and was leaving with two bags in hand the valets were standing around chatting while I struggled getting through the doors myself. It would have been a nice goodbye to have had the doors opened for me when I left but instead it was the nail in the coffin for my overall stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Diane E
    Business
    Tampa Florida
    May 12, 2010

    Great location

    This was a great hotel. The location was great and key for my vacation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Palm Beach, Florida
    May 8, 2010

    Great Hotel with a nice view.

    Ive stayed at this hotel before and was very satisfied, so much in fact I even went alittle out of my way to go back. The bay view is nice, and the price has been great. Stayed for 89$ the first time, and 130$ this recent time. Hotel staff attempted to ask me to give up my bay view by saying there were none left, but quickly gave me a room on the 12th floor when I said it was important to me.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    Ybor or Channelside.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top