$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

3 stars
102 E Cass St, 102 E. Cass Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
30 reviews
Comfortable and handy

Hotel was clean and well maintained. Nice, comfortable rooms. The staff were very good, pleasant... See full review

  • Popsvols
  • Nov 21, 2013
Quick Trip

Only negative was the valet parking, seemed understaffed when we arrived and no one told us it was... See full review

  • Snusbickel
  • Oct 14, 2013
Welcome to the Courtyard Downtown Tampa hotel! Located in the heart of downtown, near the Straz Center for the Performing Arts. We are here to make your stay in Tampa is most enjoyable. Just a few blocks from our downtown Tampa hotel, you will find the Tampa Convention Center, Cruise Terminals, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Port of Tampa, Channelside, Ybor City, Florida Aquarium, and Tampa General Hospital. Be at ease traveling in downtown Tampa, by taking advantage of our free courtesy shuttle, which operates within 2 miles of the hotel. Travelers to the Courtyard Tampa Downtown will enjoy free high speed Internet, flat panel HDTV's, 24-hour business center, and large in-room workstations. Enjoy great breakfast and dinner options at the Bistro and be sure to visit our on-site Starbucks and lounge. We care about your health on the road so feel free to take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center. Finally, after a long day, relax in the courtyard and soak up some Florida sun in our tropical outdoor pool.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.9508 -82.4612
Area served
Hotel is located in downtown Tampa
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 7.00, MI, W; St Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport, (PIE), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 0.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 1 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ybor City: 1.7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 3.5 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 6.4 mi
  • Adventure Island: 6.9 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 7.7 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.9 mi
  • Sun Dome: 8.2 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 8.3 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9.5 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 10.2 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 11.6 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 12.5 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 21.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for breakfast, lunch during the weekdays, and dinner. The Bistro also offers a full bar in the evenings and specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis Indiana
Jun 9, 2009

Filthy Bathrooms

The hotel is located on a busy street and the room was too noisy to rest. We moved to another room (hassle) and in that room the bathroom was filthy dirty. The bed linens were rough and tattered. The pool was dirty.They do not have a designated parking lot. Had to park on a busy street with a meter. Would not advise anyone to waste their time and money at Courtyard by Marriot/Downtown Tampa,Florida Fl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis Indiana
Jun 9, 2009

Filthy Bathrooms

The hotel is located on a busy street and the room was too noisy to rest. We moved to another room (hassle) and in that room the bathroom was filthy dirty. The bed linens were rough and tattered. The pool was dirty.They do not have a designated parking lot. Had to park on a busy street with a meter. Would not advise anyone to waste their time and money at Courtyard by Marriot/Downtown Tampa,Florida Fl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pickysleeper
New York, NY
May 15, 2012

nice room design, nice staff, all else in shambles

There was major construction on the main street leading to the hotel. Hotel staff did not mention this when we called ahead to ask about check-in and proximity to our event destination, which caused us a lot of trouble when we got there. I feel like a better hotel would have warned us. Furthermore, the hotel itself was undergoing construction, so there were floor fans everywhere, the main entrance had been re-routed through the dining area, and the elevators stopped running at around midnight. Bathroom fixtures had stains, although the rest of the room was nicely decorated. Comfortable bed.... I just should have paid a lot less than I did to stay there. Paid $120 including tax for a stay that was worth maybe $80.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bernie the Bolt
Business
Floriday USA
Dec 3, 2013

Freight train!!!

Location & value for money alongside friendly staff are not in question, however beware of the midnight freight train sounding it's blasts (19 times) if you want an un disturbed sleep. I was wrecked the next morning, it's a very noisy location, tons of traffic at all hours. Staff told me the freight train's an "every night occurrence" also a few times before the midnight screams!!! Be warned!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Gainesville, FL
Aug 6, 2010

Mixed review

We stayed in Tampa to attend an event at the convention center so location was important. The shuttle was great, we called and they gave an estimated wait. Very safe.But little things like one of the phones in the room not working and having only one trash bin posed problems. When we called about them, the staff wanted to argue that there were two trash bins in the room (I'm standing right there looking at the only trash bin) and that the phone was fine. Why would I make this up?Then, one of the girls flushed the toilet for the first time and it overflowed. Not a good beginning to our stay. On the second day, I thought the drip, drip, drip in the bathroom all night long was due to someone leaving the faucet on. When I checked, the ceiling over the shower was dripping water and chunks of plaster all over the tub. I called and they walked up a key to another room on the same floor where we could shower.The front desk manager,[...], was gracious and attentive when I gave him the litany of problems we had encountered as I paid my incidentals as we checked out.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djSS
Orlando FL
May 3, 2010

Courtyard Marriot Tampa

The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. My girlfriend and I needed to stay in Tampa for one night as I was performing in nearby downtown/channelside. The locattion was convenient and a cab ride to channelside was flat rate of $3 per person. My only and biggest complaint is there was not any on-site parking and valet was $12...I almost got valet until I was informed that there would be no one to retrieve or park my car as I was plannning to return to the hotel at 4am after a night out. This resulted in my having to park 2 blocks down the street at a meter and having to walk a deserted, poor-lit dirty street, with many homeless and suspicious persons hangin out or sleeping.This made for an uncomfortable experience for my girlfriend and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is no late-night food options nearby.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DFlow
Business
South Florida
Mar 2, 2014

Close walk to everything downtown

My favorite part of this hotel was its proximity to the lovely downtown are in Tampa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Cafe.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djSS
Orlando FL
May 3, 2010

Courtyard Marriot Tampa

The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. My girlfriend and I needed to stay in Tampa for one night as I was performing in nearby downtown/channelside. The locattion was convenient and a cab ride to channelside was flat rate of $3 per person. My only and biggest complaint is there was not any on-site parking and valet was $12...I almost got valet until I was informed that there would be no one to retrieve or park my car as I was plannning to return to the hotel at 4am after a night out. This resulted in my having to park 2 blocks down the street at a meter and having to walk a deserted, poor-lit dirty street, with many homeless and suspicious persons hangin out or sleeping.This made for an uncomfortable experience for my girlfriend and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is no late-night food options nearby.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
limpinin
Business
Maine
Feb 18, 2012

Very average

Very nice staff. The facility and rooms were clean. Room size was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mount Dora, Florida
Jun 14, 2010

a word to the wise....

We chose this hotel as it was close to the channelside area of Tampa so we could attend a concert at the St Pete Times Forum. We had our prepaid receipt as we checked in. We were asked to provide a credit card to use for any incidentals like valet parking. We stayed for only one night. checked out in the morning, no worries. Once home, I checked my bank account online, only to find we had been charged once again for the room. We were told the attendant hit a wrong button upon checkin not pulling our payment from Orbitz. It took 3 days for the transactions to be reversed. Kinda added extra stress to what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

They did have a shuttle that ran only certain hours that would take you to 2 different areas in downtown.

Back to menu Return to top