$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
160 reviews
Perfect getaway

The staff and the room were perfect.. Was very convienent being close to work and close to places... See full review

  • Steph rock
  • Nov 15, 2014
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 160
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.5

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drudah
Business
Tucson
Mar 18, 2015

Nice room for the night

I was impressed with the room and the bed was comfortable. The Hotel is more of a FAMILY hotel. Fun activity pool for kiddos and heated pool for adults next to it. I was disappointed there was no hot tub. The age of the hotel shows... the information folder in the room was not updated (like current television channel list). The bed was very comfortable. Air conditioning unit was noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greatMOMe
Business
Tampa
Nov 27, 2014

great value location

I Loved the location and great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryks
Business
Windsor, Ct
Mar 23, 2014

Hotel needs to start fixing condition of Rooms; Poor Housekeeping

Condition of Room was Poor, patch of black mold on ceiling above inside of door. Desk chair was broken and hard as rock. Housekeeping didn't clean until after 4PM. Didn't leave all towels. Breakfast was Tasteless. Nice Pool. Plenty of Restaurants in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stampmachine
Business
Baltimore
Jan 22, 2014

You Can do Better for the Money

The only thing this place has going for it is the two heated outdoor pools, One for Adults and a Kiddy pool. The room they gave me was filthy. The carpets were so dirty I was afraid to take my socks off. When they have poor bookings during the week; they cater to street walkers.. There was no bedspread or comforter on the bed. They give you a continental Breakfast every morning, not bad but then all these low income people show up every morning with their children to eat; so there is some type of social program being run from the place also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Johns Pass on Treasure Island, visit the board walk and the shops..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the busy traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Mar 22, 2013

Comfortable Hotel

Good place for families and business traveler. They have a very nice pool area. I forgot my medications and the hotel staff did all they could to unite me with my medications and I really appreciated their efforts. The front staff is helpful and friendly, I arrived at 1 am and within minutes I was in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayson Lingan
Business
Seminole, Fl
Feb 25, 2013

would NOT recommend

musty carpeted floors; they initially gave me a room with GUESTS still in the room, and internet connection, despite claims of it being HI SPEED, was close to non-existent! the only good thing about it was that restaurants directly in front of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve100
Business
Chicago
Sep 10, 2012

Important to have very modest expectations

This is a large economy priced property within short distance of Univ of Florida. To be in any way satisfied, in my opinion, is to set your expectations relative to price. As trade off for low price, you can expect very low quality environment; old and broken furniture and light fixtures, broken phone, rusty old bath hardware, discolored yellow water coming from sink and shower, foul dank smell in room, dirty old carpet. Next time, I would spend more and expect more. Would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Univ of Florida

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBaby
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 22, 2012

Ehh needs work.

The room appeared to have that "I am a used room" feeling with spots on the furniture etc. the location was a decent distance from where I needed to be. It was extremely convenient to have that TGI Friday's attached. The amenities were nothing special. I felt restricted on the channels I was able to watch. Checking in I only saw one staff member and it was in the middle of the day, I guess they only staff as much as the flow of traffic requires, but it also indicates that not many people are attracted to the hotel. In the end you get what you pay for. Next time I will pay more for something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greatly Disappointed
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Extremely Over rated

We had to wait for some time before our room was ready and then there were no windows. Furthermore, the room was not clean (i.e., stains on the carpet, on the chair) it was just very low budget. Some distance away from the airport. Overall, low budget and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a good Jamaican restaurant up the street called the "Jerk Hut." They have a $7.95 buffet lunch special that is to die for! It's also all you can eat and they have everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 2, 2011

Clarion Tampa

The room was run-down and even if it was clean, it gave a feeling of being dirty. Stairwell was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke. I did not feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top